We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel and was not impressed. The quality of the rooms was poor to average at best. The gym is tiny--don't let the pictures fool you. The restaurant downstairs is unimpressive. I went down for breakfast one morning, and it was obvious the breakfast buffet had been sitting for hours. The front desk staff was not helpful with taxi service either. I called and requested a taxi for 8:30 am so I could be at the airport by 9. When I went down at 8:30, the taxi had not even been called. Good thing I allowed additional time! I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camalabbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. As a Premier Brand we want to deliver the best possible experience for you. We appreciate your comments and will use them to ensure these issues never happen again. Please give me a call directly if you would like to discuss this further. 1-429-255-6185. We value your opinion and want to ensure your next stay with us is pleasant one.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    71
    56
    57
See reviews for
62
53
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Cannot even begin to explain how bad it was...everything was terrible. Never again!! The worse service my business partners and I have ever experienced. Poor excuse for a hotel, we would have rather stayed at a ref roof inn. Absolutely disgusting in every aspect of our stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryS0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Mary,

I apologize for your unpleasant stay. I am regretful that our hotel did not meet your expectations and can ensure that whatever problems you had we will fix. Please give me a call directly at 419-255-6185 to discuss this matter.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed two nights while I was checking out some apartments in the neighborhood. Room was clean, spacious, temperature was perfect, great view of the river. Downtown has some good bars with good live music in the neighborhood. Valet parking is $16 a day, kind of lame that there isn't any free self-parking, but whatever. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnhphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the fact that you will love to come back again.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a positive review regarding our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent two months making frequent business trips to Toledo with colleagues and our first choice was the Grand Plaza, which used to be a Crown Plaza, but now is a Best Western. I've stayed here when it was a crown plaza, they had a very nice executive suite on the top floor.

The first week we arrived, they lost our booking. We just weren't there, according to their system, and there was nothing they could do because of the concert in town, they were booked. So OK I should have maybe confirmed earlier, but not only that, the front desk staff was impolite about it and short of courteous or helpful considering our situation. We found another hotel.

The Next visit, the following weekend, no concert in town, the hotel is dead. No valet in sight, waited for the front desk. We checked in, the beds were old and uncomfortable and the window leaked. There were obvious signs they are having trouble keeping up with the hotel at it's age and size. The following morning was the kicker. We woke up to a broken shower; the drain was broken. If the housekeeping staff properly cleaned the tub basin, they should have noticed that and flagged the room. I called down to front desk and explained the situation and was actually rudely asked what he wanted me to do about it... I said get me a room with a working shower... and they checked me into a FILTHY tub covered in PUBIC HAIR. I went to the front desk, showed him the photos and reiterated their policy of refund if unsatisfied. At this point I was late and had to go to a meeting for a new business I had just acquired without showering because this hotel could not accommodate me and my colleague, and they denied their policy which was placed right in the bathroom on a card, and the only thing the offered was complementary valet and breakfast. The General Manager came up and asked the desk agent what the problem was and he told him "Oh, it's Nothing." We refused the breakfast and left immediately to the Holiday Inn where I have and will continue to stay when I go to Toledo for Business.

I will NEVER take my business to this hotel, Best Western should be notified of their incompetence, an also anyone else thinking to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrocka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It is an average hotel. Pretty dated. Decent location on the riverfront, in downtown. Good TV, ok access to power. The restaurant has a breakfast buffet with an omlette chef, oatmeal, bacon, fruit and cereal. Staff is friendly. Nothing really bad, nothing particularly outstanding.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PartyOfFiveVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for a concert at the Huntington Center and did not have any of the problems as mentioned in other reviews. The valets were courteous and prompt (although the front entrance was usually chaotic and jam-packed with calls all weekend) and the rooms were fine, just nothing spectacular. The front desk personnel were pleasant and our check-in/checkout were without incident. I saw the reviews before I stayed here and tried to keep a lookout for potential issues, but did not run into any. I did find all of the prices/rates from the other reviews to be accurate...so if you're worried about cost per night, coffee prices, or valet/parking rates, then you may want to stay somewhere else, otherwise, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel is in a good setting and looks great from outside. The rooms are outdated and need work. Peeling paint in some rooms, and counter tops were chipped.
Hotel services do not measure up - clerks do not know correct information and you almost always have to call twice in order to confirm details.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#8 of 17 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
5.2 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Toledo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing