We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the corner kings.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Level Contributor
190 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love the corner kings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Plaza Toledo.

My room was a corner king room with a great view of the Maumee River & downtown Toledo.

The hotel staff was friendly and courteous.

The hotel is next door to the Imagination Station and within easy walking distance of 5/3 Field & a lot of great downtown destinations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carhartkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    71
    56
    57
See reviews for
62
53
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
306 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed a few times at the Grand Plaza Hotel in Toledo - nice place to stay. Accommodating and kind staff in my experiences. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuenosNachos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

OK,

Referring to the lady from Cincinnati two reviews below me. I have stayed here over the past 3-4 weeks on business, staying several nights each time.

Yes, the security elevator is a bit of a pain, you must insert your room key to get the elevator to work, but really now, trapped? Isn't that a little harsh?

No place to eat? What about the restaurant downstairs?

There has to be 20 restaurants within 2-3 miles of the hotel. Did you not notice the baseball stadium 3 blocks away? It's surrounded by pubs, restaurants, etc. There are several restaurants right on the main street the hotel is located on, Summitt. What about Georgio's, a white linen dining experience no more than 3 blocks from the hotel, very walkable. Tony Packos Cafe, the famous restaurant from MASH, was a short trip over the bridge. Did you bother to ask anyone?

An hour to find breakfast? In an hour you would have been a good part of the way back to Cincinnati. As noted, there is a breakfast buffett in a dining room that overlooks the river and two breakfast/lunch delis right across the street from the hotel, Foccacia's and Mo Joes. Fifteen minutes by car is Perrysburg or Maumee, a ton of great restaurants and walkable, historic downtowns.

Toledo hasn't been as fortunate as some cities have been economically, they relied on industry which is just starting to come back. There are some rough edges to be sure, not every city is as pretty as Cincinnati's downtown is. That said, if everywhere I went was exactly the same, things would be pretty boring.

The hotel will be re-badged shortly, turning into a Sheraton I was told. Things should pick up some. Yes, some of the front desk people were pleasant, one was a jerk. This could happen anywhere.

If you flame people on TripAdvisor that's OK. Maybe you should use TripAdvisor to check out the places you are going to first. It could have prevented a miserable weekend for you and I'm certain, your husband also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

There are lots of goods and a few beds with this downtown hotel that overlooks the river and has fairly elegant facilities. Certainly one of the most positive things was the service attitude of everybody from the front desk to the banquet staff.
The rooms are generally well appointed, clean, and promptly made up but – – the architect must've been a very short individual because the bathroom counter would force even a petite lady to bend over in order to use it. The Rooms are nice but they are certainly small.
Two negatives that stand out. One is the security system on the elevator which requires the insertion of the key card to select any floor. That may be fine from the lobby up but it certainly is a pain when navigating floors within the hotel. Another real negative is the parking situation. It is hotel staff only parking and it takes about 20 to 30 min. to retrieve your car even on a non-busy day.

The truly need to evaluate their security system and determine whether the elevator needs to be quite so secure. They need to find a way to parked cars any convenient nearby garage and to offer alternatives.
Their food service is limited at the very best. Breakfast is a buffet and dinner struggles unfortunately there's very little in the way of food service alternatives in this downtown area the you can shuttle over to the brand-new casino.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahuna2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The visit started with the front desk telling my husband that they couldn't honor the "tax exempt" status (with the document in hand) of his business. From there, it all went down-hill.
My husband finally ended up suggesting that they cancel the original reservation and start all over with the tax-exempt status (which was requested when the original reservation was made). This seemed to work and we ended up with a room with 2 double beds instead of the king bed that we originally had. Why the change in beds happened is beyond me, since we had been told that when the original reservation was made, it was the last room in the hotel. Obviously it was not the last room, or they had given our original room to someone else.
We first were trapped in an elevator trying to get to our room. Then we found out that there was no place to eat in the hotel at all....nothing.
No booklet about the hotel policies or guides to the city. Guess the staff at this downtown hotel expects all of the guests to be from the immediate area and we all know where to get something to eat.
There are supposed to be pools. Have absolutely no idea if they exist or not.
Finding a place to eat was an adventure in Toledo. We drove miles and miles to end up finding a half decent neighborhood with an Irish Pub and Grub. That was also a huge mistake. Won't bore you with the problems there.
I'm now back in the room, hungry, no place to get anything else decent to eat that I know about.
My husband left for an hour to scout around the city to at least find someplace that would have breakfast food. He supposedly found a place within walking distance, but that remains to be seen tomorrow morning when I try to get breakfast there.
If I sound miserable, I am. Some of the hotel is nice and clean. Some is disgustingly filthy (like the elevators).
The staff is unobliging unless it is simple requests as where the stairs are instead of being trapped in an elevator. By the way, the stairs are also disgustingly filthy.
Read an earlier review about no air conditioning. I'm here to say that not only is there air conditioning, but you can't warm the rooms up after the silly staff sets all the rooms below 65 degrees.
The parking valets did the same thing in our SUV. The airconditioning in the car was cranked up to max when they brought our car around for us. They will be instructed not to waste our fuel, especially since the temp outside is in the high 60s.
Sorry, but Toledo is probably the last place I want to ever come back to thanks to this "hotel".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCmusiclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have stayed here many times for business, since it was the Crowne Plaza.

It has obviously lost that affiliation, and I can asssure you the quality of the property has continued on a steady decline.

There has not been a single trip (and business takes me here more than once a month) where there has not been some kind of problem. The Heat and Air Conditioning systems are a constant issue. It's either 85 and stuffy or 60 and freezing. There seems to be no middle ground.

Housekeeping has deteriorated, and the employees are constatntly complaining of management's refusal to adequately staff or support the employees that ARE here, all of which is very evident.

It is still not a BAD place to stay, mind you. Just don't expect the elegance or level of service that was provided here a short while ago under the Crowne Plaza brand. Although prices have not fallen along with the deteriorating quality.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGM5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We checked in for one night on a Sunday evening in early May. There seemed to be only a few people staying in the entire high rise hotel. It gave me a rather creepy feeling. It was also odd that we required to surrender our car for valet parking even though the parking lot was empty. And even though the hotel was nearly empty, the man at the front desk seemed ill-equipped. The highlight - the young valet - he drove us and picked us up from Tony Packo's restaurant made famous by Corporal Klinger of the series MASH. Seems like the entire property needs a face lift.

We are heading back through Toledo in June. I'm looking for a new hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mddem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#9 of 17 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
5.2 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Toledo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing