We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 710 Restaurants in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is always predictably good in service and quality of food. No surprises. Again today, we had a good meal in a nice atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    51
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favorite place in this city!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been to many many restaurants in this city, including ALL of the most expensive ones and this is my favorite. The ambience is great and the staff is always very friendly and accomodating. I normally get the burger which is the best burger in town with Loaded baked potato ($12) (amazing!!!) or the Filet Mignon..($29) which is one of the best Ive ever had. I prefer the filet here over Mortons ($50 with Potato) and it is equal to Ruths Chris or Oceans Prime (cannot believe im saying that!) One of the best ive ever had for sure. I make it a point to go here every week, its that enjoyable. This is Toledo, but dont be fooled. This is a classy restaurant (hard to find in this wasteland) and if you are in town I certainly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinVanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

In celebration for a family birthday party, we decided we would go somewhere with a little ambiance. Anyway.....we were seated right away at the 6 p.m. dinner hour for a table with 8. We placed our orders and got drinks and waited for our meals. All came as expected except...my husband order a steak medium and it came out basically rare! He sent it back and 10 minutes later came back with his steak well done. My husband indicated that it still was not done to satisfaction and was offered to have a new one cooked. Unfortunately, everyone was close to being finished with their meals and the waitress said she could have it back in 5 minutes. Not!! 20 minutes later (everyone else done and plates cleared) he had to indicate to the waitress that his steak was not delivered and told her to cancel. She talked to manager about situation and he brought the steak out in a to go box! He said no charge, which was nice but explained to him that
that was not the idea, but that when you go to a restaurant of this caliber that you expect to get a steak right. Anyway, we also got 3 free desserts but spoiled a nice family dinner. Will probably think twice before going back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMWX5driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“I had forgotten about this place....”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

and hadn't eaten here in years. We had a 10 minute wait on a Friday night at around 7pm, which wasn't bad. We found seats at the bar, until our booth was ready, and I ordered a $6 Riesling. Unfortunately it wasn't very good, but the food we ordered was all excellent. I ordered the steak burger and loved the sauce on it. Way too many fries accompanied the burger! Husband and son ordered the fish tacos with rice and beans. They loved them, but I thought they were a little too spicy. Husband had heard how wonderful the mac and cheese was, so we sampled one of those, too. It was so good that I would consider making it a meal, by ordering two. I wasn't crazy about the huge room, but son and husband liked the atmosphere. Service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love the Alex Salad!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The menu is a little pricey, but the food is always good. The Alex Salad is delicious and the desserts are HUGE and very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy67117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing