We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real St. Louis style BBQ”
Review of Shorty's Bar B Que

Shorty's Bar B Que
Ranked #6 of 699 Restaurants in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Real St. Louis style BBQ”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stopped here from returning from a week long fishing trip up north. This place really hit the spot, The taste of the ribs is one of the best bar nine. I tried them in many places but this is the best yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hlyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    77
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Toledo OH!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose Shorty's based on trip advisor reviews. We went on a Saturday night around 7:30 and had about a 30 minute wait to be seated. We ordered the pulled pork BBQ nachos as a starter and loved them. Pulled pork platter was very good. Sides were ok. Service was just ok, probably because our server was very busy. I really wanted to try some dessert but was way too full after my meal. I would come back to Shorty's if ever in Toledo again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwilson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“very satisfying visit”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on Memorial Day and had a short wait as the place was full at 730pm. The front desk was on the ball and offered us a tall table in the bar to shorten our wait time. The menu was the same and we had no objection at all.

Also known as Shorty's True American Roadhouse, we tried the Memphis Egg Rolls for appetizers and they were terrific. A decent portion for 2 (1 large egg roll each); the pulled pork filling, the dipping sauce, and the extra tortilla strips were well executed and great starter.

In addition to standard mass-market beers, they also had a couple good craft brews--Great Lakes Lake Erie Monster and Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale from Lexington, KY. The 1/2 rack a ribs claimed 6, but actually delivered 8 meaty bones. Extra BBQ sauce on the side lets you skip it if you like them drier (I do) or you can mix and match sauces and tabasco to create your perfect taste. My wife's duo offered good helpings pulled pork and beef brisket--tasty and too much to finish (Nearly everyone was leaving here with a box of left-overs.) Dessert was a shared root beer and vanilla ice cream float (they also had a choc. ice cream version).

The real highlight, however, was our server--Kaylee. She was prompt, informative, solicitous, efficient and just all-around pleasant. With such top-notch service and great food, I understand why the Mancy's group has 2 of their 4 restaurants in Trip Advisor's top 5 for Toledo

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good bbq in toledo”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

i've been to this restaurant many times since it has opened. although i think the food quality has decreased since opening i still consider the food to be very good not great. I'd recommend onion rings to start and then the pulled pork sandwich as I haven't had a bad pork sandwhich here. The BBQ sauces are homemade and some of the best I've had. Give it a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank red4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and Yummy!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent variety and all levels of sauces from sweet, to mild to hot. A good variety of options for all including salads which are also tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorty's Bar B Que also viewed

 

Been to Shorty's Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing