We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry”
Review of Avenue Bistro

Avenue Bistro
Ranked #133 of 703 Restaurants in Toledo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sorry”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Sorry, never got a menu, never got water, never saw our waitperson....manager seemed indifferent as we left.....never to go back

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“what a shame”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This neighborhood restaurant is so well decorated that it's a real shame the food can't keep up with the atmosphere. The service is fine, the menu is great, but the food itself leaves a LOT to be desired. Could be a wonderful neighborhood treat but seems to be a big bar spot instead.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank STB424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Horrible - amazing it is still open”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is not your average place to eat - it is BELOW average. Poor service; horrible food; awful place.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelerONE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This place is getten' attentions!"”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Avenue Bistro
Meghan Scott, Restaurant Manager
10681 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206

Dear Avenue Bistro Team,

Our dear friend Brent Vanlandingham, owner of VanBrock Jewelry, suggested we do my wife’s very important birthday celebration at the new Avenue Bistro. This was our first time at the Avenue, but won’t be the last. The food was fabulous, service was superb, and it was refreshing to see all your servers working together as a team. But if I might be so bold to suggest, your wine list lacked a few less expensive vino’s.
May I proceed with our fun details.

We were greeted and promptly seated by beautiful smiling Tamorrow. She then introduced us to our experienced, very personable server, Mr. Alex Revard. Alex told us a brief history of the Avenue, explained the menu and wine list and quickly returned with our drinks.

With plenty of time to savor your wine library, we enjoyed a fabulous bottle of 2006 ELYSE “Morisoli Vineyard” Napa Valley Zin. When Alex brought our vino I was pleased to discover your wines are gently resting wines in a temperature-controlled cellar. Consistent temperature of wine is crucially important and why so many fine dining establishments skimp here is beside me.

We both found your Creaser Salad had a delightfully different zing, tart with just the right touch of vinegar and light on the anchovies and heavy on the fresh Parmesan.

My entrée’ was a generously peppered and perfectly cooked 12 ounce KC Prime Strip, served Au Poivre with your Pomme Frites. And my birthday bride enjoyed the Pan Seared Halibut with Braised Spinach, Artichoke Hearts, Tomatoes, White Wine and Lemon Juice.

When Alex told us about all your homemade desserts, Cheri jumped on the bread pudding with a single birthday candle, she was certainly not disappointed! And the 3 favors of Gelato was a great finish for me. A fresh cup of finely brewed coffee allowed us to sit back and enjoy the Avenue’s ambiance and get to know Alex better.

Please be assured, we will do our part to tell others about the relaxing ambiance, the wonderful foods, and an overall fun/fine dining experience that awaits folks at The Avenue Bistro!

Very Pleased Customers,

Woody and Cheri Woodward

Cc. Mr. Joe Birch, Chef/Owner

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Had lunch there last week with friends and tried to use a paper gift certificate. That's when our problems began. The food was OK, but dessert was better. Management refused to honor the gift certificate -- even though I had called ahead months ago to discuss it with them, (no one returned my call) and written a letter a month ago to the manager to which no one responded. The manager in charge was not helpful at all! It was a terrible experience and we vowed never to set foot in the place again and tell all our friends and associates about the poor customer relations at this 'supposedly good' restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msmissile01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Avenue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing