We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better.....Not anymore”
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
Ranked #203 of 710 Restaurants in Toledo
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Toledo
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Used to be better.....Not anymore”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We used to go to Red Lobster more often. We went there during endless shrimp and the food quality was AWFUL! The shrimp scampi used to be flavorful with a nice butter sauce, but now, it has a oily quality. The salad was disappointing. Will not be returning again. There are so many other restaurants in Toledo, don't waste your money here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sstravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Skeptical from the getgo”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I once ate at this very same Red Lobster location several years ago and left angry that I wasted $15. Some colleagues of mine wanted to get together and have some dinner - the group voted and majority ruled for Red Lobster over the Olive Garden. I was willing to forget about my past experience with this restaurant and give it another chance --- I was wrong.

Our waitress seemed to have a difficult time taking a big order of eight entrees and a couple appetizers. We made sure to tell the waitress that everything will be on separate bills - more on this later. Our drinks didn't show up until 10 minutes after she asked what what we would like to drink and our appetizers didn't show up until 20 minutes after taking the order. I expect appetizers to come out 10-15 minutes, anything longer is not acceptable, especially when the restaurant is not busy. About 30 minutes after getting our appetizers, we got our entrees. I ordered the parmesan-crusted tilapia - it tasted awful. This definitely tasted as if my dish was sitting for a while before the waitress brought it out. The tilapia had a bad taste to it and I didn't even bother to finish it. After our dinner was done, we received one large bill and we specifically asked for separate bills before we even ordered our drinks. So the waitress had to break down the bill and she goofed that up; it took her a few attempts before getting it right. Once we finally got it right, we were able to pay, but she charged the wrong card to the wrong meal for a couple of guys.

All in all, a bad experience from the staff to the food. Red Lobster sure does charge a pretty penny for below average seafood. I was skeptical of going to begin with and I should've listened to my instincts. There are better and healthier options in Toledo.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“July 4th, no fireworks there.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Understaffed, undertrained, underwhelmed. Why is it understaffed? Isn't unemployment high?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, OH
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Television Ads are Very Deceiving, Brown Lettuce, Dry Seafood, Dissappointment”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Went to Red Lobster for my Sister's Birthday. Cheddar Bay Biscuits are much smaller than they used to be and didn't taste near as good. Salad had brown tinged iceburg lettuce. Onion rings were burnt and seafood was overcooked and dry. My husband had cajun seasoned fish that was mushy. Didn't complain to the waittress as we didn't want to ruin the mood and evening for our Sister. Not worth the money. Won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsHSylvania_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“cheap food, rotten portions, bad drinks”
Reviewed December 8, 2006

Red Lobster is a poor imitation of a Lobster House. I will never eat there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank neuf150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing