We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Manor HOuse”

Wildwood Manor House
Ranked #13 of 78 things to do in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic estate built in the 1930s reflects the 18th-century Georgian architectural style and includes more than 50 rooms and 16 fireplaces.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Manor HOuse”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Go for tea on Fridays and be sure you see the Christmas
exhibition. It is a Toledo tradition and something different each year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 712Jamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    16
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous Manor!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

When you step into this mansion you step into history. Yes, it was built by R.A. Stranahan who developed Champion Spark Plug in Toledo, Ohio, but equally historic were the Toledo folks who voted themselves a tax levy to save the manor house and surrounding acres from development! Taking a tour of the house and gardens is a wonderful way to connect with our past.
I have also attended many teas, concerts and meetings in this finely appointed home. It is not to be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visiting the North Pole”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boys attended every year Christmas tour of the Wildwood Manor. They always think of it as : "visiting Santa"s house". It's a tradition now. We meet and attend with their families. The Historical Society does an outstanding job every year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Informative tour”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I've always loved the Manor House. The tour was very informative. I had toured it as a Stranahan Elementary student in the 80s but I'm glad I returned. Stranleigh Manor was not "gifted to us" as another reviewer suggested. The tour will explain how the house and grounds became Wildwood Metropark. A guided tour includes 3 levels of the house, including the lower level, at designated times. Guests are permitted to look around the main level on their own, also during designated times. The home is now available for rent for weddings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MG29851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“I am impressed with the tour guide.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The house is interesting by itself. But the tour guide is so passionate and provided the tour with so many details, which made the place even more fun. I learned a lot about the history and structure of the house. A must-see in Toledo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricecubeatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildwood Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing