We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Museum, Well Worth a Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toledo Museum of Art

Toledo Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art from all over the world and every time period is housed at this outstanding museum, considered one of the world's best. From paintings by Renoir to sculptures by Alexander Calder to a vast glass collection, you'll find wonderful treasures here. Founder and first president Edward Drummond Libbey wanted to build a place where art was accessible to everyone, hence the museum's free admission policy, which continues to this day. The Toledo Museum of Art is open:Tuesday & Wednesday: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.Thursday & Friday: 10 a.m. – 9 p.m.Saturday: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.Sunday: noon – 5 p.m.Closed Mondays, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Museum, Well Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Toledo Museum of Art is a wonderful collection of art, spanning many periods and countries. Admission is free, although it is $5 to park in their guarded, covered lot. There is plenty of street parking as well. The museum is spacious and well-planned, with galleries flowing into each other as you progress from period to period and country to country. The paintings are beautifully displayed with accompanying history and descriptions. The collection is eclectic and interesting. The Glass Pavilion accross the street is a wonderful display of glass works spanning the ages. A detailed timeline chronicles the history of glassmaking, as well as Toledo's rich history of glass companies and innovations. The cafe is also a delight, with a variety of affordable entrees that make for a tasty, light lunch. I would recommend coming when the museum opens and stay until closing. Less time really doesn't give you a chance to fully appreciate and absorb what this wonderful museum has to offer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank holta1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    108
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Glass Pavilion is beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I actually attended an event at the pavillon this morning and it is such a beautiful building. This building houses special events. If you have time to se both the art museum and the pavillon, do so. I will tell you that we have an amazing art museum with art, jewelry, artifacts and tons of history contained in this building. I doubt you could see it all in one day. If there is a glass blowing event going on anytime, be sure take the time to see it. Also visit the gift shop for unique gifts made by local talent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LINDA U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
259 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The art Museum in Toledo is one of the best museums I have been to. Everything is first class in the facility. There is something for everyone. We go every year at least once just to view the changes. They have a variety of activities and best of all - it's free. Love it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy_Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always free with excellent glass and works on paper...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a unique hidden gem! Don't forget to walk across Monroe Street from the main building to the Glass Pavilion to see the extensive collection of art glass. If you have more time during your visit, sign-up for a glass blowing experience in advance. I have never blown glass before, but I am so glad I did! Glass blowing demos take place daily. If you would like a personal viewing of some of the artist books and works on paper, just call ahead. It will be worth your while. The food in the cafe is quite good - unique but satisfying and savory.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkCreateToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“World Famous Art Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Toledo Art Museum is world famous. We just had a visitor from
Australia who came specifically to Toledo to see the art museum.
She proclaimed it better than Chicago's and said that it was not as large as some museums but what is there is top quality. She is an artist. The glass museum is also fabulous. Plan to stay
two days so you can see everything (almost) Really good café.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 712Jamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toledo Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Toledo Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing