We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, friendly, inexpensive....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean, friendly, inexpensive....”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We needed 2 rooms in the area for 2 nights to attend a funeral service. It was comfortable, easy check in and out, very clean, and inexpensive. We were close to Ottawa Hills where we needed to be during our stay. It is also close to restaurants, Starbucks, drugstores, etc. Easy to find places to eat or grocery shop. Others have used the word "basic" and that is a good way of describing what a good value it is for when one just needs a decent place to stay away from home. It was COLD when we were there (15 degrees ) and the heater kept the room toasty and very comfortable. Our room was also very quiet.

Room Tip: I think I would ask for ground floor if you have trouble with stairs and I would ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDennison01, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. We look forward for your next stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    42
    27
    22
See reviews for
53
47
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my 4th or 5th stay here. Like others have said here, it's a basic, clean motel room for a really great price. I always get the "superior" room with micro/fridge and a big worktable; it's well worth the extra few dollars. The location is what keeps bringing me back here - on a quiet side street close to 475 and only minutes from lots of great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JazzerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDennison01, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a very basic hotel in a nice location (in the Westgate area). If you want amenities (like a room with an inside entrance), you'll want to go somewhere else, and pay maybe twice as much. But if you're looking for clean, simple and cheap, this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDennison01, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about my inn, We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This establishment has been my "hotel of choice" for the past 4 years when visiting my daughter who was a student at University of Toledo. It has always been a basic room but containing everything needed and most of all....clean. I have always loved the quick access to the university & being across the street from Scrambler Maries which is an excellent choice for breakfast. The staff has always been friendly & very helpful. I will miss all the good times that originated from my visits here:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioAlaska2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDennison01, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about my Inn, and staff. I will be sure to let them all read this review. Hope to see you again in your travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed at this Red Roof Inn twice. The location has easy access to 475. The rooms are clean, well-maintained and affordable. The staff is courteous and professional. I remembered some of them from my previous stay.

I forgot a pair of shoes the last stay. The desk manager set them aside so some one could pick them up. No hassles. Very friendly.

I will stay there any time I overnight in Toledo., which could be often as one of our kids is attending UT a short two miles away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersonclass77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDennison01, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, I will be sure to show this to the rest of my staff! We look forward to seeing you again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We rented two rooms. Both were very clean and tidy. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a decent sleep and have no complaints. We were on our way to Florida so we were driving for a long time and wanted a nice clean place to rest for the night. The front office area was also very tidy and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyBee155012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDennison01, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you somuch for you kin word. We look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Based on reviews, we actually had asked to see the room before we paid/decided to stay. Upon first entry, it looked ok -- nothing great (no frills), but clean -- the shower looked clean, the sink, and the bed... So, we paid for the room and got our key... Then we actually went to sit on the furniture -- I agree with the other reviews: the chairs at the little table were disgusting -- I wouldn't even sit on them, especially to eat. And when I pulled the bed cover back, I found a toenail clipping -- more disgusting. The sheets were stained -- it really made me question if the room had been cleaned since it's last guest. Personally, I wrapped myself in the sheet from our car that the dog had been traveling on, tucked my long pants into my socks and tucked my long sleeve t-shirt into my pants -- I was afraid to touch anything! Why stay you ask: we'd been driving for 12 hours already, and we were only going to sleep a few hours and had a long drive ahead of us for the next day.
On the positive, the people at the front desk were friendly, and for those who need hair dryers, they have them at the front desk - ask for it while you're checking in, and don't forget to chose if you need the safe.
One last comment: we'd just stayed at another Red Roof Inn in Erie, PA -- it was great -- again, no frills, but clean and a good stay -- it might be worth a quick trip to see what that team is doing differently!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muppet_Boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDennison01, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I am truly sorry you had to experience anything less than the room being cleaned to your satisfaction. Rest assured, that is not the normal routine here, and I will be investigating this. Thank you for making me aware of the situation. Red Roof Inns take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, and our ability to make sure our guests leave here happy. I hope that you will give us another shot the next time you are in the area, and need lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
4.5 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 17 in Toledo
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 17 in Toledo
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
5.2 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#8 of 17 in Toledo
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Toledo - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Toledo - University

Property: Red Roof Inn Toledo - University
Address: 3530 Executive Pkwy, Toledo, OH 43606-1319
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Toledo - University 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University is CURRENTLY UNDER GOING A RENOVATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Toledo - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University Hotel Toledo
Toledo Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing