We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problem with staying here again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No problem with staying here again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with no problems. It is close to the highway and we were on the highway side of the hotel but I did not notice any highway noise in the room. The room was clean and quiet.

There is a Starbucks just across the driveway where I walked to get some coffee every morning. The continental breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express fare with plenty of everything set out and refilled as soon as needed.

We have family in the area and will stay at this hotel again for future visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
19
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We needed a place to stay for the "Little Brown Jug" harness race, and decided on this hotel. It is only a 10 minute drive to the Delaware Fairgrounds. I have always been happy staying at a Holiday Inn Express. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile. Our room was clean and perfect. We had an end room on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was good, with many choices. Everything was clean and was well stocked. Right out the door are a few fast food restaurants, a gas station, and a Starbucks. We wil stay here again next year, when we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyHorseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We can't wait to see you again next year!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay near the highway. This was one of 3 hotels at the exit. It was clean and a standard room type. Nothing special, but fine for the night. Free breakfast was nice. The pool was in good shape. Phone still had messages for the previous night's guest, which was a bit odd, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for staying at our property and leaving us a review! We appreciate all of our valued guests feedback. We hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family of three stayed here after visiting the Ohio State Fair the first weekend in August. We live in Northeastern Ohio and wanted to be north of Columbus on the day after our fair visit. We booked a king suite which had a king size bed and double foldout couch. The bed was extremely comfortable. The fold out has thin mattress but our son said it was comfortable too and he slept well. I'm not sure I would have slept well on it but it would be great for kids or a young adult like our son. The room was fairly quiet, I could hear some sounds in the hallway but truthfully we were so worn our from our day at the fair we probably wouldn't have heard anything from above anyway. The temperature controls were very quiet and kept the room at the perfect temperature for us. The room and bathroom were very clean.

We used the pool. It is small but satisfactory for a refreshing dip, the air in the pool area was very warm and the water a little cool but not cold. There is a small exercise room adjacent to the pool area with a television. We did not use the exercise area.

The bathroom in our room had a standard size tub with jaccuzi jets. They only worked for one cycle, then shut off until you drained and refilled the tub so you can't use it for a long time. This was somewhat disappointing.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, one problem we encountered was with the Wi-Fi access. We were given a code at check-in, only to find out later that you needed a code for each device you wanted to hook up. First time I have ever encountered that issue. It was not a big deal to us, again we were worn out from the fair. The AM clerk said the night staff should have asked us how many devices we had. Something to keep in mind if you stay here. We were able to easily log on with the one device we used, the Wi-Fi signal was strong.

The other reason I only gave them 4 stars was the short period of time the free breakfast buffet was open on weekends. Upon check-in we noticed that breakfast was only served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am on Sat and Sundays. Really??? Only until 9:30 on weekends! With a checkout time of 12:00 pm that's way to early to end the buffet on the weekend. We were not able to take advantage of the breakfast on our stay. I really missed their cinnamon rolls, they are very good!

With the breakfast, I believe this hotel merits the price. Without, it's a little pricey. You might want to factor that into your decision to stay here, whether you are willing and able to roll out at what might be a very early time if you roll in late the night before.

This hotel is close to I-71 with many restaurants and gas stations nearby, including a Starbucks that is in walking distance. So if you too miss their breakfast, you have lots of other options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such an honest and thorough review! We are very lucky to have guests like you that care enough to tell others such a full picture of our hotel. We will definitely take your suggestions (wifi passwords, later breakfast hours) into review and see what we can put into action!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAINESVILLE
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my third time staying at this place since I do travel to this area for business once in awhile. The hotel is off I71 and convenient, however, there is not many good restaurants around. The room I had this time was standard king and I paid dearly for it. With this price, I could have stayed at a Marriott hotel, if there was one available in this area. The bed was decent. Room was clean. The front desk was okay. Generally, it is okay. It is interesting that this hotel do not award priority club points to people booking through a travel agency such as Expedia. So, next time walk in and you get a better rate and priority club points.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HOANG P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your comments and the areas we can improve on. We want to be an excellent place to stay, not just "okay". If you want to book your room in advance, we have Best Price Guarantee when booking on the brand website. This allows you to get the same great rate and IHG Reward Club points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We usually book Holiday Inn's when traveling, because overall they are clean and have a nice breakfast every morning. This Holiday Inn was just average. The breakfast bar in the morning was minimally stocked with food running out and the juice dispenser was broken. The hotel was clean but extremely HOT! We had to have our room A/C turned to 60 in order to sleep. The staff was nice and it is very conveniently located for the purpose of our trip.

Room Tip: The suites have a jacuzzi suite in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trjh_sapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at our property and taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I regret that during your stay you experienced some problems. We have corrected the juice machine and AC problems you experienced. I will also be keeping a better eye on how the breakfast bar is stocked. With guests that are willing to let us know our shortcomings, there is only room for improvement. If you are back in the area, please give us another try. I'd love to know, if you think we are more on par. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We flew into Columbus for a family reunion. This hotel is conveniently located between the airport and where we were headed right off the interstate. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was refreshing. The breakfast was sufficiently stocked and tasty for a hotel freebie. There is a convenience store next door at the BP gas station which carries almost everything one might need. There are several quality restaurants nearby; Bob Evans, Cracker Barrel, Waffle House and some fast food places.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay near the elevator or stairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cal4nadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review and let others know how great your stay was! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, as being a great hotel that guests love is what we are all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunbury
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/Delaware
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
8.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Address: 7301 East State Route 37, Sunbury, OH 43074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sunbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area features interior corridors, wireless high speed Internet, indoor heated pool, a fitness and business center. Bus & RV parking is available. We are conveniently located in a rapidly growing community 10 miles North of Columbus and I-270, 'Home of the Buckeyes' and minutes away from Polaris Fashion Mall. For all the Little Brown Jug race fans, we are only 8 miles east of Historic Delaware. Attractions in the area: Delaware County Fairground 9 miles, Alum Creek State Park 1 mile, Ohio Wesleyan University 8 mi, Eden Horse Park 4 mi, Sunbury Village Square 3.5 miles, Columbus International Airport 30 miles. Northstar Golf Club, with a 72 par is a top notch course located just 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Holiday Inn Sunbury
Sunbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing