We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
Ranked #1 of 5 Sugarcreek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel, the room was immaculate an spacious. It was so quiet and relaxing. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silkrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    35
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
91
108
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I have stayed here twice within the year and enjoyed each visit. It's located right off Rt. 39 in Sugarcreek - very easy to spot from the road. I can't get over how very clean it is - always! The rooms are immaculate, and even the public areas are always dusted and vacuumed.

The decor is Victorian, and there's a beautiful library right off the lobby. Very English feeling - dark wood walls, uphostered furniture, fireplace, and of course, lots of books, magazines and puzzles. At 6:00 p.m. each evening, treats are provided in the lobby - we had a selection of cookies, hot chocolate (from packets), and hot popcorn in a popcorn cart. Breakfast is included in the stay and served on the second floor - toaster waffles, thick sliced bread for toasting, three cereals, cut-up fruit, sausage patties, and little cinnamon rolls with a side of maple glaze. The glaze is on the side so you can microwave the roll to warm it up, then spread the glaze over top so it melts over it. Yummm.....

On the second floor is a nice view of the countryside and the front of the hotel. There's a piano in the corner and a table by the window with a puzzle to work on. Lots of comfortable chairs and a couch in front of the fireplace to relax. It's a nice place in the morning for breakfast. Coffee, tea, and ice water is always available here 24 hours. Off this area is the indoor pool, hot tub, and work out room. The pool is a nice size - from three feet to five feet.

Our room was decorated nicely and comforably - and the mattress, while not a pillowtop, was comfortable. On the second floor we had a walk-out porch with two outdoor chairs. (The hotel is four stories). We had two sinks - one separated from the bathroom one. The separate one had plenty of counter space to spread out cosmetics and hair products. The lighting was good and there also was provided a coffee maker and small refrigerator in that area.

On the property is a good resturant - Dutch Valley. They have a good buffet Sundays - Thursdays. The broasted chicken is really good! And so is the peanut butter pie. There's a gift/bake shop attached. On the property is also a nice gift shop, furniture shop, and a food market, all separate buildings.

The Carlile Inn is a good base for exploring Amish country. It's close to the town of Berlin with all the shops, and Rt. 39 has so many places to stop and look around.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaninthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed here Jan 27-29 2010. The hotel is great for a get away. The staff is very friendly.
We had a King Suite that included a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace. Each room has a balcony also. There is a good breakfast included as well as a nighttime snack.
There are a lot of areas set up to just relax with a good book or bring your group together to play a board game. Nice indoor pool and exercise room . There is a restaurant on site as well as a gift shop and bakery. So you don't reallly have to go out if you don't want to. Would go again for a quick get away.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeye1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

It is like coming home when we stay at this beautiful inn. The staff practically stands on their heads to make sure you are comfortable, food at the restaurant is yummy plus, rooms are all gorgeous and more than comfortable to be in, everything is spotless, we would not even consider staying in any other hotel in the area (unless of course this inn was booked up and we were forced to seek shelter elsewhere), we always feel extremely pampered. Even when the place is completely booked the noise level is never a problem. We recommend this place for leisure, retreats, conferences and any other reason you can think of. New Years Eve at this place is exceptional with top entertainment and wonderful dinner. Yes everyone needs to experience this Inn at least once in their lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohioqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a family friendly hotel and it is out in the country with beautiful scenery around it. They had an Easter Egg hunt for all the kids while we were there and in the afternoon cookies and popcorn. I would highly recomend this hotel and we will be going back. This was a little bit more than we normally pay for a room but it was worth it every once in awhile for an extra treat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Exceptional and freindly staff. Rooms are beautiful. We come back every year. In the heart of amish country.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orient, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My husband and I just spent a night at the Carlisle Inn in Sugarcreek, OH, on the spur of the moment. We hadn't planned to stay all night, but brought our things "just in case". The Carlisle didn't disappoint! We walked in to see if they had a vacant room, and as soon as I saw the lobby, I whispered to my hubby that we couldn't afford it.....Well, was I surprised! Our room was a standard room on Monday morning for $114, but if we had stayed for TWO NIGHTS....they would have lowered the price to $84/per night! I wished I had made prior arrangements to do just that!

As it was, we checked in, then came back after a full day of shopping, site seeing and eating. As we went up to our room by elevator...(we were on the 4th {top} floor) , we marveled at how beautiful everything was....how clean....how quiet. NO "hotel furniture" here.....it was all top of the line cherry and oak....with beautiful fabrics, draperies, carpet designs, wall paintings, flower arrangements and wallcoverings. Although this hotel is fairly new, the interior has an "Old world" kind of feel, with lots of chandeliers, beautiful lighting, gorgeous wood trim and baseboards everywhere and a sweeping staircase to the upper floors, from the lobby. Our room was just a "standard", but was very large with taller ceilings, beautifully furnished with two queen-size, incredibly comfortable, wooden beds with pretty bedding, an cherry wood armoir with a TV, a small round wooden table with two Queen Anne cherry chairs in the corner, a desk and chair with an ice bucket on a tray,, an upholstered club chair, a beautiful floor lamp with beaded fringe, other pretty lamps and double glass doors which led out to a small balcony with two cane chairs, to enjoy the beautiful Amish countryside. As we first walked into the room, the bathroom was on the right (pedastal sink with mirror and lighting above, toilet with a rack of many clean towels, folded, above it and a bathtub/shower with an out-sized shower curtain rod, so it was comfortable for larger people to use) and across from that room was a full size dressing room with another full-sized counter, mirror and sink, along with a large area to hang your clothes. In addition, there was a small fridge, ironing board, iron, coffeemaker with coffee and condiments and a wall-mounted hair dryer. The main room has an individually controlled heating/cooling system that is easy to set. My cell phone worked fine in the room when I got a call from my daughter in Columbus. And the entire inn was neat as a pin....no dust, no dirty floors, carpets or bathrooms....they have their jobs down to a science here.

I know this review is detailed, but I thought I would write about the practical part of the hotel. As stated, in other reviews, there are many more amenities, which make this inn deserve a top of the line grade, as far as I am concerned. I watch my money pretty carefully......but I can tell you....this was money well-spent. We just had a wonderful stay....I hated to leave!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scamp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugarcreek
6.7 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
282 reviews
11.7 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
615 reviews
10.6 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
10.3 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
279 reviews
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek

Property: Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
Address: 1357 Old Route 39 NE, Sugarcreek, OH 44681-7666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sugarcreek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sugarcreek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in 2004, our Sugarcreek Carlisle Inn features a rural feel with views of the Ragersville valley and its signature dairy farms. Families will love both the luxury as well as our indoor/outdoor heated pool, hot tub and fitness room. Jacuzzi tubs are available in many rooms, including our spacious two-bedroom suites. Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek is located next door to Dutch Valley Restaurant, and gift shops: Dutch Valley Gifts, The Coop and Dutch Valley Food Market. Come experience comfortable luxury and a slower way of life at Carlisle Inn in Sugarcreek,The Little Switzerland of Ohio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek Hotel Sugarcreek
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing