We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woooooooooow!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
Ranked #1 of 5 Sugarcreek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I can't even express what a great winter get-away the Carlisle provided for my husband and me. We wanted to get away for a few days, and live the Sugarcreek/Walnut Creek/Berlin area. The weather was snowy and cold, and those of you who are familiar with that area, know that everything is closed on Sundays. So what in the world did we do?! The Carlisle has a beautiful library with a fireplace and comfortable chairs. My husband and I spent a lot of time in the library reading. It was perfect. Staff were the friendliest, everything was immaculately clean. Homey atmosphere. It was the perfect weekend.
And as a bonus - really bad weather blew in the day before we were due to check out and we needed to leave to be sure we could get home. Even though it was short notice, we were refunded that night's stay with no questions asked. We cannot wait to go back. We'll never stay anywhere else when we return to the Sugarcreek area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 305 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We attended our second Party With A Purpose at the Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek, and this year we stayed where the event occurred - Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek. We have already made reservations for both 'the party' and 'the Inn' for next New Years Eve. We stayed in the Deluxe Executive Room (king size bed, fireplace, lounge chairs, sofa, balcony, jacuzzi, rainfall shower) and were very, very pleased with the amenities of the room. The room was huge - the location was just down the hall from the breakfast room. There are shops and a dutch restaurant right on the property so the Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek could be a destination in itself and is located in Tuscarawas County. If you want to be a little closer to 'the action' of the Amish communities of Walnut Creek, Berlin, and Millersburg there is also a Carlisle Inn in Walnut Creek (which is in Holmes County). We have stayed there when attending Southern Gospel concerts and it's lovely, too. The breakfast served the morning of our stay was pretty typical of a continental breakfast but provided more than enough choices for us. Visiting this part of Ohio is one of our favorite things to do. If you've never been here, you owe it to yourself to spend some time in this special area.

Room Tip: It's always a good idea to book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ohio Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMillerGM, General Manager at Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Ohio Traveller and Vojkan S,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We sincerely appreciated the opportunity to serve you. We realize you have many options when you travel and we are honored you chose to stay with us. Have a nice weekend.

At Your Service,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a rare "gem" in the heart of Amish Country, Sugar Creek, Ohio.
We absolutely love this place, and have been coming for years on annual bases, at least once a year. We bring our whole family, reserving 3 rooms each time. Their motto is "Peace & Comfort", and it is. From the lobby, beautiful, clean, and comfortable rooms, to the pool, and a quality breakfast.
GM Mike Miller runs a "five star" Amish Inn that's a "joy to enjoy".
V. P. Spasic, Broadview Hts, OH

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vojkan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I went to the Carlisle Inn for a little getaway! We were so impressed with it! The rooms are beautifully furnished and so clean and cozy. The library was very inviting with the fireplaces and comfy furniture. The second floor has a really nice social area. People were having coffe and playing cards, sitting by the fire reading, and doing jigsaw puzzles. It was such a relaxing time, we truly enjoyed it. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The shops right on the property were very nice and the restaurant was very good. I am definitely going back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMillerGM, General Manager at Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Marianne B and all recent reviews,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We strive to provide our guests with a peaceful retreat to reconnect with loved ones, rejuvenate and relax and we're excited to hear such positive feedback. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again on your next visit to Amish Country.

At Your Service,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight using a certificate we bought on The Fish radio station. Beautiful hotel, very large standard king room. Close to shopping, friendly staff. Great bargain. We did not eat at their restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHK017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We are very picky in choosing hotel we stayed, and have stayed here for many years every time we visited my mother in law. Their rooms are very clean, large and nice and they have great people working here. Especially This time, we have family emergency, and called to earlier our check-in date and Lynne spent a lot of time to squeeze us in for the New Year eve in the last minute. We know this is their busiest time of the year.

We also like their restaurant, Dutch Valley, fresh food and reasonable prices.

Highly recommend

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank LydIa1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Everything everyone says is true, this is a stunning property and a gorgeous Hotel in the jumping off point to Amish Country. The cleaning staff and the cleanliness of the Hotel is far above any hotel you will stay at in Ohio. The overall property is well kept and very secure.

So you can imagine my disapointment when I reserved a Suite during the "Swiss Festival" I had the largest suite reserved, but upon my arrival was told they downgraded me because it was now unavailable.

I never got a phone call nor was it ever explained to me what happened. I ended up staying the one night, but switched to the Berlin Grande the next two nights without incident.

I don't know if I would stay again if there is not better communication from the front desk.

I cannot give them an Excellent Rating at this time.

Mr. Michael Joseph

Room Tip: southside rooms have nice view and are peacful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMillerGM, General Manager at Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Mr. Joseph,

Thank you for providing your feedback about our hotel. As we discussed in person on September 27th, I am very sorry for the confusion regarding your reservation. For some reason, we had notes on the reservation which stated that a standard room or a suite would be acceptable, so the front desk changed the reservation to a standard room. Per our discussion, I did provide compensation for the inconvenience and I do hope you will stay with us again sometime. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when you are ready to return so that I can personally handle your reservation and insure that your expectations are met.

At Your Service,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugarcreek
6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
6.7 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
332 reviews
11.7 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 5 in Berlin
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin Hotel & Conference Center
10.2 mi away
The Inn at Amish Door
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek

Address: 1357 Old Route 39 NE, Sugarcreek, OH 44681-7666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sugarcreek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sugarcreek
Price Range: $112 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in 2004, our Sugarcreek Carlisle Inn features a rural feel with views of the Ragersville valley and its signature dairy farms. Families will love both the luxury as well as our indoor/outdoor heated pool, hot tub and fitness room. Jacuzzi tubs are available in many rooms, including our spacious two-bedroom suites. Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek is located next door to Dutch Valley Restaurant, and gift shops: Dutch Valley Gifts, The Coop and Dutch Valley Food Market. Come experience comfortable luxury and a slower way of life at Carlisle Inn in Sugarcreek,The Little Switzerland of Ohio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek Hotel Sugarcreek
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing