We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choices in the buffet. Wonderful food!”

Dutch Valley Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Sugarcreek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: In this beautiful setting, amid fertile fields farmed by many generations, Dutch Valley Restaurant is a perfect place to experience the bounty of the country kitchen and the blessings of sharing a meal together. Our large Country Breakfast Buffet, served daily from 7 to 11 am, offers just-baked biscuits, buttermilk hotcakes, and fluffy scrambled eggs, to golden slices of fried cornmeal mush, cinnamon rolls, and fresh fruit. Best of all, there’s no waiting.At Lunch and Dinner, classics like slow-cooked roast beef, broasted chicken, country ham, real mashed potatoes, and savory bread stuffing flecked with carrots and celery, offer good, old-fashioned satisfaction. So do the many kinds of homemade pie baked right here in our bakery—including Peanut Butter Cream, the best-selling favorite seldom found outside of Amish Country.
Tamarac, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choices in the buffet. Wonderful food!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Friendly staff, great assortment on the salad and main course buffet - and of course quite a few choices for dessert!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    113
    62
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The decor and cleanliness of the restaurant is superb. They offer a buffet for all meals and it seems to be the choice of most. They do offer an extensive menu to order from if you are not ordering the buffet.

The breakfast buffet is open until 11am and has a variety of homemade bakery items along with the traditional items you'd expect to find on a breakfast buffet. (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, fresh fruit, etc) The bread pudding was outstanding!

The cost was very good for the amount/quality of the food provided.

Most places when you order from a buffet in general, the servers tend to be blase in their care of the clients, however this is NOT the case here. Our server was very attentive and kept our table clear of dirty plates and our drinks filled.

It is not open on Sundays. We would visit here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SJPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poor Quality”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Most people seem to really enjoy this type of food, but do yourself a favor and order from the menu. The night we were there to many people with their hands in the buffet. Now we know how germs are spread.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Be sure to try their frozen fruit slush. They have a nice salad bar that comes with the buffet. Buffet includes dessert that is also on the buffet. Chicken is wonderful too. Nice gift shop and bakery. We had strawberry pie and strawberry shortcake. Best strawberry shortcake I have ever had. We also ate lunch there and I had their new menu item, a chicken wrap, While it was good, they do not know how to do the "wrap" so everything doesn't fall out the other end but other than that, it was very good. My husband had the pork manhattan and he only ordered the half portion and it was more than enough especially since he got the shortcake and it was big enough for 2, maybe 3 people!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Busy Saturday Night”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I were actually going to eat at another restaurant farther along Rt. 39, but the line of people waiting for tables made us rethink our decision. Instead, we went to Dutch Valley and were quite pleased with our experience. Although there was a line here as well, we were seated within 5 minutes. We both decided to have the buffet because we were really hungry after a long day of walking, and were very satisfied with the quality of the food. The amazing thing about the buffet was that it was constantly being replenished and a few young women were even tending to the cleanliness of the buffet the entire time. If even a dollop of mashed potatoes missed a plate or the proper station, the young lady would clean up the spill immediately! The only thing that detracted from the experience was my wait for the check. Our waitress asked me twice if I was done, but wouldn't bring the check. I waited for about ten minutes and finally asked for my check which she kindly brought. Other than that one quibble, eating at Dutch Valley was a very good experience. For comfort food, it's an absolute recommendation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Valley Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing