We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening food is fantastic, breakfast is horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Strongsville
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Strongsville
Durango
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Evening food is fantastic, breakfast is horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I'm on my fourth night here with my flight crew. We stay I'm hotels 16 days a month and do international Medevac. The rooms are very nice, housekeepers do a great job. The bartenders and servers in the lounge are great as well. I've had dinner in the hotels all three nights and it has been exceptionally good. Prices are fair and the menu is great. But only after breakfast.
The front desk managers are both young and female, both very unfriendly and exceptionally unhelpful. Many times I've requested a shuttle and they tell me every time that the shuttle is unavailable as it is taking SW Airline crews back and forth to the airport. I have also requested that the front desk call me a taxi. They are hesitant to and tell me i would be better waiting for the shuttle. Huh? I sat and waited for an hour this morning before I finally gave up and walked to Subway across the highway overpass.
A word of warning: avoid the breakfast. The food is not good, the service is horrible. I was charged for coffee even though I had none. I pointed it out to the server who advised me that if there is a pot of coffee on the table (that my partner is drinking from) I have access to it and it is company policy to charge me. Again, huh? The morning wait staff is grumpy and slow.
The site seems clean, well taken care of and properly managed. But those front desk managers have gotta go.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Strongsville, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for offering your comments about your stay with us. We always appreciate the feedback from our guests and utilize as a source to improve our future guest's expirience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    82
    73
    46
    20
See reviews for
84
41
13
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hotel was fairly nice and was a good price. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful; didn't catch names of young ladies on 12/22/12. Huge pool / swimming area; wish there had been a whirlpool though.....which appears to have once been there. Otherwise, rooms were clean and beds comfortable, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creeker7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Strongsville, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay! We appreciate the feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your comments about the friendly staff and clean rooms are much appreciated!
Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

CUSTOMER SERVICE
Front desk (I believe his name was Ryan) was extremely friendly, hospitable, and provided helpful information on which restaurants to go to and where to hang out.

ROOMS
We stayed on the Executive Level. The room is fine. I would have given the hotel four stars but we found a beer bottle cap on the floor and a dirty bath towel in the bathroom.

LOCATION
Location is great and bad. It's great because it is right off the highway. It's bad because it's right off a busy road and it can sometimes take some time to make a left turn out of the driveway. There's several shopping centers nearby so you can buy everything you can possibly need. Cleveland is 15-minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Strongsville, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the for the fantastic comments about Ryan! We are very happy to have him on our team! My apologies for the towel and cap left in your room, that is definately not the way we want your arrival to go and I appreciate the feedback. I hope we see you again soon and wish you a happy holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is nice at it's price point. The room was clean, but had a slight stench, mold or something. The things I did NOT like:

Did not honor the rate that we booked at. We booked over the phone (someplace overseas) and was offered a rate of $64 When we got to the hotel, we where told that rate is for truck drivers and we would have to pay $79. In my business, when we propose a price to a customer, we stand by it.

No breakfast. You get to pick a bagged pasty of a wall.

Overall, this property is OK in the $70 range. Will I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Strongsville, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your observations with us. We always appreciate the feedback of our guests. My apologies for the confusion over your room rate. In regards to breakfast, we do offer a full cooked to order menu. We also offer lunch and dinner as well. Thank you again for taking the time to write and we wish you a safe, happy holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a relatively modern Holiday Inn. The staff is professional, there is a decent assortment of food in their "cafe" and the linens are is reasonable shape. The exercise room is well appointed even if the equipment is mixed and dated. My issue, and I think it's a significant one, was seeing people trapped in the exercise room after the treadmill power breaker flipped and the electronic door wouldn't open. Beware.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwithmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Strongsville, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary observations regarding our staff! Our team truly appreciates them. In regards to the door lock you mentioned, we have followed up immediately to ensure that everything is functioning properly. Thank you again for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strongsville hotels

Harrison City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had to travel to Strongsville on business and stayed on a Tuesday thru Friday. Everyone was very helpful and nice. The room was remodeled not long ago and look very true to pictures you may see. Think earth tones of beige, brown and orange. There were plenty of towels and the room was clean and adequately lit. The beds and pillows were better than I expected for a Holiday Inn. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch only and the lounge is open for dinner. The food was good and priced reasonable for a hotel. The location is near nothing, think gas station and parking lot near the highway on/off exit. There are many restaurant and stores within a 5 minute drive including a rather sizable and extremely nice mall. The hotel does have a courtesy shuttle service though. It's a good place for a convention or business trip.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on first floor since near lobby, lounge swimming pool and convention rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gino5044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Strongsville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel! I know everyone has a very busy life and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have stayed at Holiday Inn's before so I kind of knew what to expect but thIs time I recieved a wheel chair accesable room that was not that great of a room. Water pressure was not good and to compound the problem it was a very poor detachable shower head. They did have a nice fitness facility and a restaurant/bar that was open till 2am. The location to a nearby mall and the airport is the prime reason to stay at this hotel. Other restaurants and bars are within a short drive as well. Very busy hotel and I am sure the other rooms may have been better but for this stay I was not all that impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cweld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Strongsville, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am sorry that your overall expirience was just average. We do strive to be much more than that. We take your observations and comments very seriously and I hope we will see you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strongsville
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Airport / Middleburg Heights
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland...
#1 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Airport South
Courtyard Cleveland Airport Sout...
#6 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Cleveland Airport
Comfort Inn Cleveland Airport
#4 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland Airport - Middleburg Heights
Red Roof Inn Cleveland Airport -...
#5 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport
Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport
#2 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Cleveland Airport South
Days Inn Cleveland Airport South
#9 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Strongsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Strongsville

Property: Holiday Inn Strongsville
Address: 15471 Royalton Rd, Strongsville, OH 44136-5441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Strongsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Strongsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Strongsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exceptional world of comfort and style at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Strongsville, a 100% Non Smoking Hotel. Featuring 303 deluxe guest rooms, 13,000 square feet of flexible function space, 24-hour business center, extensive fitness center, spacious indoor pool, Simmering Pot Restaurant, and Vinney s Lounge. The beautifully decorated guest rooms and entire hotel feature complimentary Ruckus high speed wireless Internet access. Come experience the exceptional world of comfort and style at the Holiday Inn! The Holiday Inn Strongsville is located in the heart of Strongsville, one-half mile from Westfield SouthPark Mall (largest Mall in NE Ohio) w/ 14 Cinemas & Cleveland Metro Parks, Iceland USA (Next Door), and 8 miles from Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (CLE). The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, and has park and fly packages available. The Holiday Inn Strongsville is located only 15 minutes away from Downtown Cleveland, Quicken Loans Arena, the IX Center (10 miles), Cleveland Zoo, Rock-n-Rock Hall of Fame, Progressive Field, Cleveland Browns Stadium & the Theater District. Local companies include Ernst & Young, MTD Products, PPG Industries, Ford, National City Corporation/PNC Bank, Akzo Nobel, General Motors, American Greetings, Avery Dennison, Darice Pat Catan s, Sherwin Williams, & RPM Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Strongsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strongsville Hotel Strongsville
Holiday Inn Select Cleveland
Strongsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Strongsville Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing