We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jewel in Strasburg....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garver House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garver House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Archbold, Ohio
1 review
“A Jewel in Strasburg....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Traveling home after Christmas from Pittsburgh, our car died in E. Ohio! What a joy to find a friendly, warm greeting from Al on a snowy night. We had a most pleasant stay with Al and Natalie. The accommodations were excellent, the breakfast hearty and the stay altogether a winner. The Garver House and Al and Natalie turned a disaster trip into a happy memory. Would I recommend The Garver House to friend...you bet!

Next trip to Amish County, we will choose, again, to stay at The Garver House. Don't underestimate quiet little Strasburg, out of the tacky tourist traps of Holmes County. And the tip to eat at the Hog Heaven BBQ was a delight, too. The icing on the "trip" cake was finding the perfect dry sink for our bathroom at the Beech City Grist Mill antique shop. Don't miss that shop if you enjoy antique furniture...just a few miles E. of Strasburg. Thanks, Al for that tip and a wonderful stay in Strasburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Jay,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Garver House. We are always happy to get that unexpected phone call that someone needs a room for the night! Our goal as innkeepers is a warm and friendly atmosphere that makes our guests feel welcome and comfortable. One of the most rewarding aspects of our business is to have people like you and Barbara stay at the Garver House. Al and I are passionate about all there is to see and do in the Tuscarawas County area. We are happy that our suggestions for Hog Heaven and the Grist Mill Antiques were a hit. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I, along with my sister and her husband and my brother and his wife just spent a wonderful weekend at the Garver House B & B! We were warmly welcomed and given a short tour of the house and the historical background from Al as well easy check in process by Natalie! We immediately felt at home in the inviting surroundings and the three rooms we stayed in were all beautiful, very comfortable, and also had historical backgrounds to the names of the rooms! The surrounding area was beautiful and the weather was perfect. There were so many places where we could have stopped/shopped/ and dropped if only we had more time! We will all be recommending The Garver House to our family and friends - and anyone else who will listen! Thanks again to Natalie and Al for a perfect weekend, beautiful accommodations and gracious hospitality! Blessings in the years to come!

Room Tip: All the rooms were perfect, only the suite had a closet and there were no drawers to unpack, but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori Sites P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Al and I work hard to make The Garver House a great place to stay while visiting family, friends or checking out all the historical sites, hiking trails and Amish country. There is a lot to do in the area.
You mentioned that only the mini suite has a closet, the Fort Laurens room also has a closet and the Ft Laurens room and The Strasburg suite have dressers where you can put your belongings. The Zoar room does not have a closet, but we do have hooks on two of the doors with hangers on them to hang your clothes. You are correct that the Zoar room does not have a dresser, this is something Al and I will have to mull over this winter and see what we can do about adding a dresser. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Again thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a special find we discovered in Strasburg. The Garver House. Al and Natalie are such a gracious host and hostess. They have so many special touches to make your visit wonderful.
They have truly thought of everything to make your stay welcoming. The natural decor of the house is beautiful . The stained glass windows were especially striking . Our breakfasts were delicious and served piping hot. The evening snacks were great appreciated. The area has many attractions and lots of shopping stops so when you need a place to rest and relax, but sure to come to the Garver House. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Al and Natalie made us feel like we were right at home. We looked forward to getting back to your beautiful room at their B&B after a long day at the Alive Festivals. We felt so safe here. The fresh coffee and breakfast just outside our room at our request was more than wonderful. We came in very late at night and slept in, so Al and Natalie made adjustments for us to have a wonderful breakfast just outside our room, so all we had to do was open our door and there was a wonderful breakfast w/ coffee. The room was beautifully decorated and so clean. Spacious beautiful room and spacious bathroom with lots of hot water!!!
We will be back the next time we are in the area, probably for the Alive Festival, but we will be staying with Al and Natalie. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele61969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckeye state
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Al & Natalie will make you feel right at home the moment you arrive. There home is beautiful and spotless. The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable . A surprise plate of cookies for a evening snack very yummy !!!! A fresh pot of coffee when we woke up and delicious breakfast . We will be back the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Choose any room. They are all beautiful. We stayed in the Zoar Village Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Al and I enjoy sharing our historic home with guests from all over. We also enjoy helping our guests find attractions that will interest them in this area. Tuscarawas county not only has the Amish community but also numerous historical sites, wineries, cheese houses, nature centers and theater. There is much to do, come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Al & Natalie are the most wonderful people, always making sure you are comfortable and any concerns met. The place is beautifully restored and in great shape. The room we had was spacious, bright and had a large en-suite. A lot of things to do in the surrounding area and great places to eat. Talk about breakfast, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Any of their rooms are great, honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Barry thank you for reviewing the Garver House. Al and I are happy you enjoyed your visit with us. There is a lot to do in this area and also some great restaurants. Come back again for a visit and we will be happy to send you to some equally interesting places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I traveled to eastern Ohio with another couple to visit a few wineries. I searched for somewhere other than a hotel to stay overnight. We were all very pleased with Garver House.

It all began with the warm greeting we were met with at the door! After our tour, we settled into our room, which was The Zoar Village Room. The wood floors on the first floor of the home are just awesome with the different inlaid patterns around the edges of each room.

We spent the evening at the dining room table playing cards. Part way through our games, we were treated to a wonderful, warm, cinnamon apple tart that was delicious! Our hosts were gracious, kind and very willing to go the extra mile to make our stay beyond comfortable. They even supplied us with wine glasses and a cork screw!

The rooms were very welcoming, including the flickering candles set on the mantle. Beds and the bedding are very comfortable. And all this....BEFORE......the amazing breakfast. The sausage cranberry quiche was delicious, and that was just one part of the whole thing!!

If we are ever in the area again, we will certainly be back and would recommend Garver House Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Thanks Natalie and Al for a wonderful stay!!

Carman & Jill

Room Tip: All rooms appear equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaJillOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
15.6 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
14.2 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Strasburg Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
11.2 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
14.4 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 10 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garver House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garver House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Garver House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 410 N Wooster Ave, Strasburg, OH 44680-1050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Strasburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed & Breakfast circa 1902. Old world charm with modern amenities. Secured lighted parking on premises. Central air, close to Amish country, wineries, cheese houses, historical sites, golf, walking trails. All rooms with queen beds, full hot gourmet breakfast, evening dessert and beverages included. Our goal is comfortable accommodation, friendliness and good food. Stay at The Garver House for the personal attention you deserve. We look forward to your visit at The Garver House Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garver House Bed & Breakfast Strasburg, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing