We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique Decorated Home in the Ohio Wine and Cheese Area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garver House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In October, we decided to visit the Wine and Cheese area of Ohio on our way from Ashland, Ohio to Pennsylvania. We were delighted to find such a beautiful Bed and Breakfast, adorned with antiques, maintained wooden floors, and other era pieces, yet modernized with updated baths and rooms. We stayed in the room with the gas fireplace and jacuzzi tub and enjoyed our stay. In keeping with our fall visit, we were served pumpkin pancakes, along with other delicious breakfast entrees. We would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to others. We enjoyed the fireplace so much, that with the help of our hosts, we ordered the exact one for our living area at home!

Room Tip: The most expensive room, which was only a little more in cost and was quieter and had the fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopeheika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Al and I are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Garver House. We are sure you will love your new fireplace when it arrives. There really is a lot to do and see in this area of Ohio, come back again and we will send you to some areas that you have not yet explored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 67 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Garver House in the Zoar Village room, and loved it! The furnishings were beautiful and the mattress/pillows so comfortable. It was a stress relief and we had all the comfort of home! The evening snack was a wonderful apple cake with a tasty icing, and the breakfast was a caramel topped fruit french toast with ham, baked pears, and a lemon poppyseed cake! Oh, and the coffee right outside our door that morning was wonderful! Al and Natalie have really found their niche in life! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: I loved having the stained glass window in our room to see with the early morning sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for such a complementary review. Al and I enjoy running a B&B and meeting wonderful people like the two of you. We love pampering our guests with good food, nicely appointed rooms and the stained glass windows in our home is a bonus we enjoy but can not take credit for. Thank you to the original owners back in 1902 for all 7 of the stained and leaded glass windows. Please come back and visit soon your company is much enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I needed to get away for a long weekend, so we selected The Garver House after doing an internet search. We were not disappointed. The Garber House hosts -- Al and Natalie -- are helpful, well informed and welcoming, and the decor and cleanliness of the house are first rate. The evening home-baked snacks are superb (so you can skip dessert at the restaurant). The B&B is is in an excellent location to use as a "home-base" for visiting the Pro-Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Holmes County Amish country, Zoar Village, Roscoe Village at Coshocton, driving back country roads, and antiquing. If you hanker for a pizza, do yourself a favor and eat at or order out from Penso's Pizza in Strasburg -- it's a step above most pizzas. They'll make it thin if you ask. Ted & Diana

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review. Al and I are glad that you enjoyed yourself at The Garver House.
You are correct in that we are centrally located to not only to the Amish country and the Football Hall of Fame but to many other sites such as Zoar Village, Ft. Laurens and numerous other historical sites and nature centers. Please come back again and visit Tuscarawas County has much to see and do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at The Garver House to attend my husbands Aunt's 90th birthday party . Natalie and Al were wonderful hosts, and very knowalgeable about the area. Recommending restaurants and golf courses ect. The house is beautifully decorated and spottlessly clean. Breakfast was wonderful...Everything the website showed. In fact we can't wait to go back in a couple of weeks to celebrate my husband's and sister in law's birthday. Natalie is even going to bake them their own personal cake!!! Can't beat that.
Dave and Leslie

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. Al and I look forward to your return trip. I will have those Birthday cakes ready!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband & I had never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast. We found everything as the website advertised. We felt like we were stepping back in time, but we were thankful for the modern conveniences that were tastefully added to the home.The home is beautiful with so much attention to detail.
We felt so spoiled. We were also amazed at how pure the air was. We didn't have our usual allergy symptoms that we usually suffer from in hotels. We enjoyed canoeing and biking over the weekend so Natalie's delicious, nutritious breakfasts as well as the mouthwatering baked snacks were a great way to start and end our days.
Our conversations with Natalie & Al and other guests was an added bonus.
We look forward to returning some day to the Ft. Laurens Room.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We enjoyed being at the front of the house where the morning sun shone in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Al and I are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Garver House. We both enjoy meeting new people and making sure that their visit with us is pleasant and relaxing. Al and I want all who stay to feel at home at The Garver House. Since we stayed at numerous B&B's before we opened this one we have taken things we enjoyed in other B&B's and incorporated them here. Our goal is to be a warm and friendly place to stay. So please comeback for some more R&R and conservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Garver House is a wonderful place to stay when you are in the Sugarcreek/Dover/New Philadelphia area. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and beautifully decorated. You cannot beat the price for the quality of care and warmth of friendship. It is like we were visiting with long lost friends!
The host and hostess, Al and Natalie Cline, were great. They are so friendly and were so glad to give us suggestions of places to visit. In fact, we did change our plans and totally enjoyed the place that they recommended.

They were accommodating with my problem with diabetes! As long as they are aware of the special needs, they are accommodating.

They knew that we would not be be in until late, so she fixed a delicious a snack and left it in the refrigerator for us. What a special treat!
When we got up in the morning, outside our door was a table with tea ready for us to enjoy while she fixed our breakfast downstairs.
Breakfast was wonderful. Not a continental breakfast, (muffin and coffee,) but a full gourmet breakfast served with a smile.
They helped make our anniversary celebration special. If you are looking for a place to stay in that area, check out That Garver House. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Zoar Village Room. It was comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26dnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. Al and I try hard to make The Garver House warm, friendly and a good value for everyone's hard earned dollars. We will always try our best to handle any dietary restrictions that are mentioned to us. We are both nurses and understand how important a proper diet is. The Garver House strives to be spotless, accommodating to every-ones needs and a good value. Come back and visit again we would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Garver House is well run, with excellent breakfast and hospitality. Natalie was most helpful in providing maps, directions, and restaurant suggestions, while providing our party of 4 with a comfortable atmosphere to relax. Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your terrific review of The Garver House. My husband Al and I enjoy our career as innkeepers. We love hosting guests from all over the USA and some countries overseas. Al and I work hard to provide a comfortable resting spot for the traveler. Our home is your home when at The Garver House. The is so much to do here in Tuscarawas County , and we are happy to suggest places of interest, restaurants, wineries and the historical aspects. Come back again The Garver House is always open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
15.6 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 5 in Berlin
820 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Strasburg Dover
14.0 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#4 of 5 in Berlin
287 reviews
14.1 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garver House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garver House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 410 N Wooster Ave, Strasburg, OH 44680-1050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Strasburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range: $99 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed & Breakfast circa 1902. Old world charm with modern amenities. Secured lighted parking on premises. Central air, close to Amish country, wineries, cheese houses, historical sites, golf, walking trails. All rooms with queen beds, full hot gourmet breakfast, evening dessert and beverages included. Our goal is comfortable accommodation, friendliness and good food. Stay at The Garver House for the personal attention you deserve. We look forward to your visit at The Garver House Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garver House Bed & Breakfast Strasburg, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing