We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hampton - AS USUAL!”
Review of Hampton Inn Stow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Stow
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stow
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hampton - AS USUAL!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here twice to bring my daughter to Kent State orientation for the first time and visit again this past weekend for Parent's Weekend. There was some minor construction back in June 2011 but it did not disrupt our stay at all. All the work was completed sometime before our visit this past weekend and everything looks great!
Rooms are very clean and comfortable, high speed internet was easy to sign on to and was pretty fast. 15 minute drive to Kent State campus, and there is plenty to do in the immediate area as far as restaurants, shopping, etc.
The front desk clerk recognized me from our last stay and asked if we needed directions to Kent again. I thought that was very nice and GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! The breakfast hostess was very nice too, she brought an extra orange juice to my daughter even though she was very busy, but still smiling.
We will be back again and again and again! Go Flashes!

Room Tip: They all seem to be nice rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate_Hoskins, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Stow, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I hope you had a great Parents Weekend at Kent State University. I'm glad to hear about your stay with us and that you had an enjoyable stay. We are also happy to hear, that you enjoy our newly renovated Perfect Mix Lobby. We recently added our new frosted tinted sliding wall to the kitchen which adds a nice touch to that area. We still need to paint and add some little things here and there, but are very close to being completely done. I appreciate your patience with the construction with your first stay with us, we tried our best to minimize the dust and noise for our guest. Best of luck to your daughter as she attends college. Some of our best employees are Kent State University graduates. Go Flashes and hope to see you next time your in the area!

Nate Hoskins
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    118
    47
    17
    7
See reviews for
145
102
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was my 3rd year attending the Bridgestone Invitational PGA tournament. This location was by far the best I've had so far. We didn't want to be too far from the course for a long commute, nor did we want to be too close and pay premium hotel rates.

The drive to the golf course shuttle (Lockheed Martin airfield) was 15 minutes. The shuttle to the course was another 10 minutes.

There are a number fo good restaurant locations nearby, we went to Rockne's, Texas Roadhouse and TGI Fridays. The breakfast in the hotel was very good. Very courteous breakfast staff. Annette was very helpful. (Hope I got the name right!)

Only downside was that I couldn't book a stay for next year's tournament before I left. I had to wait a week for the rates for August 2012 to be published. I think there is a missed opporunity to capture repeat business by not having the following year's rates available. I have since booked a room for next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gord999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate_Hoskins, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Stow, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was the perfect location to the PGA Tour. Annette is happy that you were able to enjoy breakfast. She looks forward to seeing you again next year. It means so much to us when guest get to know us by name and vice versa. We all look forward to seeing you again and appreciate your feedback so we can improve every guest experience at the Hampton Inn. Next Year, don't forget to ask the front desk staff about TGIF, Texas Roadhouse, and Rockne's they sometime give us special coupons or give you a discount when you show your room key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were driving from our forer home in Connecticut to a new one in Chicago, and Akron looked like a natural stopover spot. A google search led us to tripadvisor and great comment about this Hampton Inn. Those comments were reinforced on other sites (as compared to the many negative reviews on other places), so I made the reservation, which would not process without full payment. Don't be nervous; give them the money -- you won't be disappointed! We'd never stayed at a Hampton Inn and were a bit concerned about whether it might be a little "basic." No worries: it's bright, well decorated (not lavish, but we weren't paying for the St Regis), staffed exclusively by genuinely friendly and welcoming associates (or brilliant actors if not) who looked for ways to be helpful. Our room was comfortable, spotless, large enough to stretch out and relax after a day's drive...just about perfect. We have family coming in a month or so, and we've told them there's only one place to stay on their way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate_Hoskins, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Stow, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
I hope you are enjoying Chicago! We appreciate your review of our property. It is nice that you pointed out the advance purchase. Many people are hesitant when it comes to paying in advance. It is a great way to save money, and is easier for us to get guest checked in faster. A lot more guest are telling us they enjoy the security and convenience that come with paying in advance. With the new renovations, it is defiantly more brighter and more open than it once was. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time your in the area. Enjoy you new home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for one night after a long day of traveling. I had prepaid for the room & check-in was super fast, the clerk very friendly. The room was comfortable, as were the beds. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water for showers. At breakfast, the attendant was replenishing the offerings as we entered the area and there was plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate_Hoskins, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Stow, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We try very hard to get everyone to their room as fast as we can every time, and I am so happy to hear that you were able to be checked-in so fast as well. I hope you had a great time while in our area, It's always fun to hear able peoples traveling adventures and hope you stay with us again when your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed one night and found this to be a very nice, clean property. The rooms were relatively quiet. The only issue we had was when a wedding reception ended and a bunch of people wanted to continue the merriment in the hall outside our room. We called the front desk and they said it was happening in several places and they were getting on it. After 15-20 mins. with no change we called again and they said they were just about to come up, and then they did and put an end to it. (Thank you.) After that, it was quiet in the rooms. The included breakfast was so-so, fairly typical for free breakfasts. Most of the offerings such as danish were mediocre but they do have make your own hot waffles which were OK. No kitchenette in room but they do have a microwave and refrigerator which is nice if you want to bring something in or bring leftovers back from dinner. Bathroom is very nicely appointed. Everything was very clean! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators and other potential congregating areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate_Hoskins, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Stow, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
I'm so sorry you experienced noise during your stay. We work diligently with our staff to ensure each of our guests is respectful of others, while still enjoying their stay and special event. I want to thank you for giving us feedback on your breakfast experience as well, we are always open to suggestions for improving our breakfast. We provide our guest with eggs, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, and waffles. We even have breakfast on the go bags Monday- Friday for those that are to busy to eat in our newly renovated perfect mix lobby. I'm glad to hear that you would stay with us again and look forward to seeing you next time your in Stow, Ohio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend 2010 and returned for 2011.

Our daughter's Under-12 Soccer Team was in the area for a holiday tournament and we found the hotel to be clean, friendly, convenient and so accommodating to our team's needs.

The guest laundry is a necessity for washing uniforms in prep for the second day of games. The girls really enjoy the pool and the parents enjoy the walking distance proximity of a steakhouse and various other restaurants.

The only "con" would be that the design of the pool makes it excessively loud to sit in there. The pool itself is so much fun but even with just a half dozen children or so swimming the din becomes so deafening that you can't really hear yourself think - let alone hold a conversation at a pool side table.

During our 2010 visit the front desk staff spontaneously presented our girls with free giant suckers to thank them for being such well behaved and valued guests. Way to go Hampton! The cost of a few suckers set the standard - and warmed the heart - of more than one very impressed soccer mom. :) We also note that in doing so they took a valuable step in rewarding young hotel patrons "for good behavior" - and making our team feel welcome - which explains our return in 2011.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kseabolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate_Hoskins, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Stow, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. It means a lot when we strive to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as the next, and to get great feedback of peoples appreciation of all the hard work we put in to making our guest feel at home. We appreciate you returning every year and hope you continue to, as we love having you as a guest. Good luck to daughter's soccer team and hope to see you soon or next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night to attend a local birthday party. The rate was reasonable and the hotel and the room were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was kind of typical of serve-yourself breakfast buffets: scrambled eggs, french toast sticks, make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. The staff were a bit disorganized upon our arrival; it seemed they were trying to find some kind of code for the room keys, but it would have been nice to have them check us in rather than mostly ignore us. We did have to wait about 30 minutes for check in, but we arrived at 2:00 for a 3:00 check in time. The pool looked clean and the fitness center had newer equipment that I would rate above average. This hotel is next to a satellite of Akron General. Right across their parking lot is a paved walk-way that is part of the trail system; great for a walk, run or bike ride.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate_Hoskins, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Stow, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
I am sorry about the long wait, to check in. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn't helpful. I know we are in the process of training new staff at our hotel. We are working very hard to get everyone all caught up to the service and speed of checking guest in, that our guest have come to expect. We hope you will consider staying with us again, as we are eager to have you as our guest. Thanks!

NATE
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Stow
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Akron-Stow-Cuyahoga Falls
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Akron Stow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls
8.3 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Stow

Property: Hampton Inn Stow
Address: 4331 Lakepointe Corporate Dr, Stow, OH 44224-6806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Stow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Stow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Stow (Akron Area) lies just minutes away from some of the most beautiful countryside in America. Get to see the land around Stow on foot, by bike, by train or by simply driving through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Stow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Stow
Stow Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Stow Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing