We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing girl's get away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stockport Mill Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing girl's get away”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

4 friends needed a get away from our hectic life's even if it was a night away. We stayed on the 4th floor "The Captain Hook Suite".

Amazing the whole floor to ourselves. This day/night was so needed.

Coming back real soon. Maybe not to stay on the 4th floor, but any room here is so worth a visit. We got a your of must of the rooms.

The Sunday buffet ooh DELICIOUS!!!! Great price for a wonderful meal. The cornbread was wonderful. Reminded me of my great grandmother's.

Thank you for the great hospitality!!!!
See you again soon...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfran1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
15
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Stockport Mill Country Inn is a very picturesque and historic inn in a rural area rather short of restaurant options. This review only addresses the Sunday brunch buffet enjoyed in the restaurant in late December 2012. In addition to the restaurant facility, there are accommodations and a souvenir oriented country store...we were not hotel guests.

We were visiting family in the area and met at the Stockport Mill for a Sunday meal with a party of ten. Two round tables were pushed together to handle our 7 adults and 3 children. All of us opted for the extensive self-serve, all-you-can-eat buffet, though a separate a la carte menu was apparently available.

The well-stocked buffet was welcome on the day after a snowstorm. A complete salad and soup appetizer spread was followed by a series of at least five main course choices to mix and match. We faced off with traditional "country comfort foods" including pot roast, fried chicken, roast pork, chicken enchiladas, mashed potatoes, rice pilaf, mac and cheese, roast potatoes, casseroles, many vegetables and more. The dessert choices were tasty if not fancy...pudding, chocolate cake, yellow cake, pie. Coffee, tea and other beverage options were available. Overall, the delicious main entree choices were probably the most noteworthy.

On a cold winter day, we enjoyed a feast with the fellowship of family at this out of the way inn. You will probably have to go to Marietta, Athens or Zanesville to do better. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have stayed here every fall for the past 11 years! We have had as few of 6 people and as many as 16 of us. The owner has always been extremely nice and so has her staff. WE all enjoy the atmosphere of the Mill. As far as breakfast, there has always been fresh fruit, coffee and granola bars in the common area when we wake in the mornings. The roar of the dam makes wonderful sleeping. As other posters have said, it completely drowns out the noise of anyone else in the Inn. Is everything perfect? No. I personally am too short to get out of the claw foot tub very easily, so we get a room with a Jacuzzi. It is like everything else here on earth, it just depends on your own attitude. I have, and will continue to recommend this jewel to everyone I know!

Room Tip: There is a difference in the sizes of rooms on the second floor. You pay more for the rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaytonWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I were married on Aug 24th 2012.. We decided to spend the weekend at the Inn. I must say the little Grandma that was there when we arrive at almost midnight was the sweetest! She was nice enough to wait for us . And we got the sweetheart package for sat And sunday. It was AMAZING!!! The view, Food , and the service was Awsome. It was the most romantic place i have ever been. My husband and i plan on going back on our Anniversay if not before. You guys made us feel like family. The room was great and we loved it ! Thank you for making our honeymoon even better !



Mrs Annamarie Brodzinski

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Made a reservation here as a halfway point between The Wilds and Blennerhassett. To be honest, that was the only reason I picked such an out of the way place.

That said, this is a beautiful historic property. The way the upper floor was divided into rooms was very well done. When we first went up to our room, we were worried because all the rooms were centered around a common room (we didn't want to hear people all night). What a pleasant surprise to find out the walls were thick enough (and the dam loud enough) that the only way you could hear any of the other rooms was to be standing right by their door! We were in the Morgan Raider suite.

The couple that checked us in were very helpful: we'd arrived late and everything in town was closed for dinner, but they called around to McConnelsville and found us an open restaurant. They were cheery and friendly.

Now, that said, I was darn near infuriated to find out that-after having called to double check that breakfast was offered-breakfast was not out at 7 (ok, whatever), but when we went back out at 9, there was nothing left! Mentioned it to the clerk on the way out and got a "Ok...." Very disappointing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, but only the suites have balconies over the water (they're great for st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Spiders everywhere!! Checked in and out of the expensive Capt. Hook suite in 30 minutes. Spiders and spiderwebs (live and dead) in almost every corner and window!! Owner was rude and argumentative when we expressed our concern. Noticed several brown recluse ( flesh eating) spiders around the hot tub. A staff member told me she'd been bit by one and it was no big deal! I am a medical professional ( nurse practitioner), I assure you, it is a BIG deal! Owner refused to issue a credit! Disputed the bill with Visa, who promptly refunded our money. What a nightmare! Owner and staff unprofessional and rude. How are they still in business?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We rented the Captain Hook Suite, for two nights. Loved the old building, beautifully restored.the Hook suite was well furnished with comfortable couch, chair and love seat.

The kitchenette has coffee pot, microwave, stove top, and small fridge.
There is a sign saying no grease generating foods could be cooked. We had brought sausage and bacon, and ended up taking it back home. : (
The inn did provide a large breakfast of fruit, coffee cake ect outside our door. We weren't expecting it, so nice.

We did not realize we would be carrying our belongings up 4 huge stair cases. No elevator. Huge undertaking!
We were there during a lightning storm, which was amazing with all the windows!

The beds were lacking in comfort for all of us. Both of us, and the other couple had a tough time sleeping on mattresses.We felt they sank in the middle.

The hot tub in the room was okay- the water level was so low as to not slosh over the side, and on the 3 floors below.

We did eat dinner there one night. I had chicken which was very good, the frozen veggies were not so good, hubby had tilapia, which he liked. The other couple had the noodles with Thai peanut sauce, which they enjoyed. They do not sell alcohol, but you can bring your own to drink and not charged any fees.A Plus!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
23.1 mi away
The Blennerhassett Hotel
The Blennerhassett Hotel
#2 of 11 in Parkersburg
594 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
494 reviews
21.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
23.3 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
19.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Caldwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockport Mill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockport Mill Country Inn

Property: Stockport Mill Country Inn
Address: 1995 Broadway St, Stockport, OH 43787-9120
Location: United States > Ohio > Stockport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockport
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Stockport Mill Country Hotel Stockport
Country Inn Stockport
Stockport Country Inn
Stockport Mill Country Inn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing