We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Alice is a Joy”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Chinese Resturant
Ranked #26 of 64 Restaurants in Steubenville
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visiting Alice is a Joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hunan Chinese restaurant is an institution in Steubenville, Ohio. The selections are vast; the prices are really good; the portions are just fine, and interacting with Alice and Philip is always a hoot. We dine at Hunan at least once or twice a month. Alice knows exactly what we will order every time and greets us as welcomed friends rather than customers. True, the atmosphere isn't much, but one doesn't eat atmosphere. I recommend Hunan to anyone who likes excellent Chinese food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rcdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in the area and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Go ask Alice! She will remember you after one visit, and meeting her is worth the trip. Atmosphere is not the draw here, but the food is amazing. Best Kung Pao Shrimp I have ever had.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DroogieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMINGDALE, OHIO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Alice serves the best lunch special. You begin with tea, then soup of the day which may be beef vegetable (which is to die for) or chicken mushroon, or a creamy chicken soup. hen your main meal. My favorate is Chicken Almond, or Shrimp with Lobster sauce. The shrimp in that dish are really big too! And then the egg roll, mmmmm. Unless I am really really hungry, I cannot finish all of it! Gotta try it out in Downtown Steubenville!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OHIOBEACHCRAZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food east of the Mississippi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Alice & Philip run a terrific business. Simple atmosphere, outstanding food. She never forgets a name or a face, and you'll never forget the food!
Better than in many Chinatowns throughout the country!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Divinity on 4th Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been eating at Hu Nan's for over 30 years, dropping in on Alice and her divine Beef with Oyster Sauce creation, while visiting Steubenville in the time I didn't live here. Absolutely delicious food, I adore this restaurant and have never found a restaurant comparable in the same genre.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinnamongirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Chinese Resturant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Chinese Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing