We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunan Chinese is the Best!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Chinese Resturant
Ranked #22 of 64 Restaurants in Steubenville
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Hunan Chinese is the Best!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been going to Hunan Chinese for over 20 years. It is the best Chinese restaurant I have ever tried. The Kung Pao and the Cashew Chicken are fantastic! We stopped by there recently while we were in Steubenville and it is still a wonderful experience. One of the things I miss about my hometown since we have left the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn1968_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Kung Pao Chicken”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

No matter where I go for Chinese food - Alice's Kung Pao Chicken remains as my benchmark for good food. For the past 25 years - no place has matched the taste and quality of her tangy, spicy goodness.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBarbK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

In downtown Steubenville, occasionally have run into beggars. Food is excellent, I prefer to take out, does'nt have the most friendly staff...maybe language barrier.

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Chinese food. Always consistant”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I've been going here since I was a little boy. I am now 32. Nothing has changed as far as appearance goes. Very little has changed about the menu. What I like most about Hunan's, is it's authenticity. They don't try to "Americanize" it. Sure they use American vegetables. You would have to in order to be able to afford to stay open. I've tried about 6 different things. I always get an eggroll. They are homemade and a MUST. I usually get Happy Family or Sweet and Sour Shrimp. Their duck is excellent. I only come here once a year, and it's a delight every time

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etechdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I grew up in Steubenville, but have lived in New York and London since, where there is a thriving Chinese community and great food. However, the food at Hunan is truly its own, and to date it is the best Chinese food I have had. The restaurant is like a time capsule in a way, and Alice is the most amazing hostess and person. She has a remarkable memory and will do her best to make your meal enjoyable. My favorite meal is the chicken with Hai Sien sauce, but the egg rolls are must.

Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetjace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Chinese Resturant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Chinese Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing