We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Attitude and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
sringfield ohio
2 reviews
“Great Attitude and service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I visit this hotel once a year for an annual convention. While at the lounge, a woman named Barb Sanders impressed me enough to tell the manager and to write this review. She was polite, and paid attention to detail. More importantly, I noticed how hard and proficiently she worked. She was doing three or four things at the same time while still being pleasant. She cared about what she did and how she did it. You cannot pay a person enough to care. If I was the Quality Inn, I would give her a big raise. There were others like her that waited on our tables at the banquet dinner and all were fabulous. We even gave one a gift a few years ago having remembered her from past years. All I can say is great gob Quality Inn and GREAT JOB BARB SANDERS!!!! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagement001, Manager at Quality Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Dario D,

Thank you for staying with us and acknowledging Barbara's service. Yes, she does a great job.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    34
    33
    41
    65
See reviews for
83
41
35
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belleview, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We've been on the road for over a week and every other hotel in this chain has been really nice. The photos online don't look too bad, but in reality this hotel is mediocre bordering on downright awful. We had "buyer's remorse" from the moment of check-in and it was definitely down-hill from there. The 70's decor is outdated to say the least. The indoor pool might have been considered a plus, but in this case caused the whole place reek of chlorine. The room was clean, featuring a small safe, a ironing board and an iron but no refrigerator or microwave. The beds were clean but obviously well-used, We found a few small holes in the sheets. At first (after seeing the broken yellow cord on the desk) I thought there was no wifi, but at least they have that, The A/C was noisy but useful for drowning out the nearby traffic. There were definite maintenance and safety issues. The frame around the bathroom mirror was stuck on w/ double stick foam tape that didn't hold, so someone just laid the top piece that wouldn't stick along the backsplash... like nobody would notice that? We were directed to enter/exit through the back glass door down a long long hallway towards the back, even though there is a door to the exterior closer to our room. We were astonished to see that the closer door won't close all the way and they have literally put tape over the glass in an effort to keep the air out. (SEE PHOTOS) When we tried to use the far rear door as directed the card-swiping aperatus that is supposed to open the door doesn't work reliably. Twice we found ourselves stuck outside and folks inside let us in. Later we saw that someone had rolled up the mat and put it in the crack to hold the door open - a blatent security issue. A more serious security issue was found in the room itself -- unles we were careful to pull the lever on the door all the way up when closing the door, the door lock didn't always engage making it possible for someone to simply push the door open from the outside if the security swing-latch isn't closed.. SCARY!

One other point: We definitely missed the free breakfast buffet we've become accustomed to w/ Choice Hotel properties. Here they charge $4.99 for the breakfast buffet. Debra was the employee in the dining room and she was as nice as she could possibly be, but paying for a breakfast that is LESS than what we usually enjoy for free is hard to swallow. No waffles, no pancakes, no bacon or sausage (even the gravy was plain w/ no sausage!).

We were stuck there for two whole nights without the ability to cancel with a refund ----- don't let this be you!

PS -- OH SILLY ME! The wifi quit working that first evening. Amy at the front desk said she'd have the manager reset the router for me but when that didn't help, she gave me the phone number and the access code to their internet provider's repair line. SERIOUSLY? Shouldn't you be calling your provider instead of me? I spent over an hour back and forth w/ the IT folks, using my own cell minutes and my vacation time. According to the IT tech the outage affected the rooms immediately around me, not the whole hotel and he gave me a work around to get through temporarily until they could get it fixed. The next day I had the same problem. No way I was going through all that again so I just gave up on wifi until we got to the next stop on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagement001, Manager at Quality Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Lottie E,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry that you were less than satisfied with it. Rest assured, we have taken care of all the challenges you mentioned. As an example, the internet speed is 10 times better than it has ever been.
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we hope you will give us another chance,

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We are Choice Hotel cardholders and were disappointed in the quality of this hotel. It is definitely
a throwback to the 70's. It looks like a former Holiday Inn. It seems they have tried to upgrade the building
but weren't totally sucessful. There was no breakfast included in the rate. It was mediocre at best and certainly not up to the standards we've come to expect at Comfort Inns and Suites. We will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagement001, Manager at Quality Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear wenric,

Thank you for your feedback, and we are apologetic that you were not completely satisfied by our service. We have put more emphasis on training and also we have implemented a new guest recognition program for Choice Privilages card holders.

Hopefully you will give us another try.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

One would be hard pressed to find a motel without a microwave in the rooms or at least a continental breakfast. This is it. It is a busy place with lots of people around including police who asked us to move along while unloading in the rain. Oddly, if you are doing business at the Springfield Antique show this is OK. The staff watches out to help in any way they can. The maids were working at eleven PM. The maintence man, John C., seemed to be everywhere at once easing our loading in among other things. Great job to the staff. This place has an amusement cave in the covered courtyard...pool, spa, ping pong, games.
Busy place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had to book several rooms at this hotel over Labor Day weekend for a family funeral in town. We called 8 hotels before this one--all were booked for busy weddings and special events. It should have told us something that this was the only place with rooms available.

We are Choice Hotel card holders and have stayed in choice hotels since 2006. This was one of the worst. We were staying on free points--our companions were not. They left the hotel after one night and checked into now vacant better hotels.

Let me just list some issues. The hallways and rooms smell AWFUL. Combination air conditioning that feeds from chlorine pool atrium smell--and a general moldy yucky damp smell. Dim hall lighting that reminds one of a bad communist era apartment complex. No free breakfast--just coffee--that you can eat in a space IN that smelly atrium. Atrium is hot and stale. We went close by to the Cracker Barrel for breakfast. The television's are vintage 1990--those big boat anchor types. The room was clean. But the furniture is chipped and the doors look like they have been in a flood. The room card does not open the back doors of the hotel--so unless someone lets you in--you get to walk ALL the way around to the front to get in. The front doors and windows were so smudged and dirty and finger printed up--great first impression to cleanliness.

Check in is 4pm. REALLY??? Is this the Ritz? This is a next to the interstate mid level motel--4pm check in? How about they hire more housekeepers?

Lots of truckers stay here. And leave their trucks running. I do not know for sure--but this looks suspiciously like a former Holiday Inn that was converted.

Really. Don't stay here. There is a Comfort Suites nearby or better yet--go downtown to the Courtyard Marriot where the rest of our paying crowd went on the second night when vacancies opened up.

Room Tip: Just pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sellinglikecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Check in at 4? Can't cancel if you make your reservation within 24 hours all signs that where you're about to stay sucks wind. It's either a crappy hotel or in a crappy neighborhood.

But what the heck I was staying on points so it's free and as long as my car doesn't get broken into or the joint doesn't burn to the ground I should be OK... After all it's springfield, ohio not Flint or detroit or Inkster MI.

What's gonna happen.....really in mid ohio of all places.

So I arrive way too early around 1 just to find the hotel and scope out the parking lot.
First things first......you have to enter the hotel property through a driveway that is shared by a low end strip center...but it is pretty convienent off I70. (watch that red light cam).

As I'm pulling through there are what could best be described as transient tenants milling about on the lawn near the fence, now by looking at the drapes in the windows and the shape of the property in general ...if they did allow a cancel on the same day, I would guess many a tourist would head for the weeds and drive on...but you're locked in. So buck up.

I have time to kill, since remember they have a 4pm check in, so I drive off to the springfield museum of art (nice for a small town , and for 4 or 5 bucks ) I kill an hour...or so.. then grab a late lunch at Rudy's BBQ...for $20.00 (ribs good, chicken sucks, sides not too good either).

Then eventually when it turns 4 PM head back over to the q i and check in.

Check in goes fine and I'm given a lower floor room. I'm given a few coupons to use at the bar in the building and the restaurant as well . (so no normal qi comfort inn style breakfast, no waffler, no juice, just coffee in the lobby).
Now lets say this...the rooms surround a pool for the most part so from the lobby to the room it's a hoof. It reminds me of the barcelona suites in ABQ, NM. and it's bringing back bad memories.

But I get into the room and it's clean .
What surprised me was the noise level in the room . you can certainly hear your neighbors.
And you can hear the trucks quite well that park on the property as well. I thought for a minute they were running a truck driver training school , back and forth ...running engines, checking lug nuts in the morning (4:30-5 AM)

Shower worked fine, bed was ok, but the no breakfast deal?...that's a bit wimpy for QI, Econo sure, but QI .....juice coffee, continental etc... is expected with you guys not two bucks off an over priced breakfast in the restaurant on the property.

I thought for sure someone's car would get broken into over the night, but nary a shard of glass was found the next morning. Still the property looks very sketchy. Take your valuables into the room with you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucycat1, Manager at Quality Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your responce. I am sorry you were disappointed in the fact we did not offer a free breakfast. The breakfast buffet is much more than the norm therefore it is impossible to give it away. Again I apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were spic and span. The hot tub was relaxing after a long day in the car. Dinner and Breakfast was delicious. Quality Inn in Springfield fulfilled all our needs and then some. We will stay again when going through the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#5 of 14 in Springfield
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Springfield
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#1 of 14 in Springfield
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Springfield - Dayton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Conference Center

Property: Quality Inn and Conference Center
Address: 383 E Leffel Ln, Springfield, OH 45505-4746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn and Conference Center, Springfield, Ohio. This hotel is located in the revitalized corridor of St. Rt. 72 and I-70 at Exit 54. The Quality Inn & Conference Center is close to Dayton International Airport and the closest hotel to Cedarville University and offers special rates for parents and students. We are a host hotel for Wittenberg University, Urbana University, Clark State and nearby Wright State University. The Quality Inn & Conference Center warmly welcomes families for student orientation, parents weekend and homecoming. When in Springfield visit the historic Wescott House, the only Frank Lloyd Wright prairie style house in Ohio. Springfield is one of the largest antique areas in the country with the Antique and Flea Market at the Clark County Fairgrounds just minutes from the hotel. If you love antiques, don't miss this monthly event that has been showcased in Country Living and Country Home. If you love Golf, numerous courses are close by. The fairgrounds hosts one of the largest Cars & Parts Swap Meet in the area and is home to the Champions Center for the largest horse shows in the country. Springfield is home to Competition Accessories, Mid-Ohio Harley-Davidson and Buck Creek State Park for year round family fun. Minutes from Wright Patterson AFB and the historic museum and IMAX theater. At the Quality Inn & Conference Center relax in our large indoor pool and Atrium with family activities. Enjoy dining in the Atrium Cafe for breakfast or dinner and Crazy Joe's Bar for nightly happy hour and weekend entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn
Quality Inn And Conference Center Springfield, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing