We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleaned our plates, but no clean glasses” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mela Urban Bistro

Mela Urban Bistro
Ranked #74 of 158 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mela Urban Bistro dishes up delicious lunches and dinners daily. Fast becoming one of the region's premier dining destinations, our menu boasts bold and innovative flavors with a touch of passion. Whether a business dinner, afternoon with friends or simply a relaxed evening before a show, Mela's environment is always warm, fresh and intimate. Take the time to wander through our restaurant and adjoining Courtyard by Marriott hotel and take in the bountiful display of beautiful artwork. Our wine list offers literally dozens of quality selections from around the globe. To finish things off, there's our irresistible dessert menu with our chef's favorites.
Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cleaned our plates, but no clean glasses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a dinner here with a number of colleagues after a business meeting. The food was excellent. Some of dishes at our table were BBQ ribs, the huge pork chop, salmon, lobster pasta & I had the ribeye. We all loved the candy bacon and squash in the maple vinaigrette salad. We had a great time. The only quirky thing was when the house ran out of clean beer glasses and took one from our table that was half full and refilled it. It was pointed out our friend got cheated out of half a beer and later the waitress brought another half a glass to make up for it. Huh? Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CairnsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice surprise for a hotel restaurant...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

First choices were not available on a Monday evening (open Weds-Sat) so we opted for the nice menu at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown restaurant, "Mela Urban Bistro." Service was good with slow turn around for the entrees but everything was so fresh, it was understandable. The mango salad was delightful along with the freshly baked breads served. The lamb chops were nicely spiced and the vegetable mix was delicious. Very nice dining experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TataResa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Great Meal for Springfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We were in Springfield looking for a good dinner and we really couldn't find anything close to down town. So we decided to just eat at the Marriott at Mela and we weren't disappointed. I had the Salmon and it was delicious. Also at our table the lamb chops were ordered and they were a great choice as well. We will probably eat there again during our say. Service was good and atmosphere is not bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, and New Paltz, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good wine, good risotto.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food was good but very few vegetarian dishes. The wine is good and more then reasonably priced. Staff was nice and personable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank traumatired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
256 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Still Springfield's Gourmet Address”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had eaten there about 5 years ago so knew the place was good then. We tried Mela Urban again this past weekend. My husband had the filet mignon which was excellent and I ate the scallops which were gvery good. The rice was a bit gummy with them unfortunately. We both tried the Caesar Salads which were good as was the chocolate fudge dessert.
Breads and oil were also served with dinner. Although I would still rae the place highly I would like to see more done with things like the salad which tasty was very iceberg and NOT romaine which is the hallmark of this salad etc. Prices ARE high there. Be advised.
!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank triptique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mela Urban Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mela Urban Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing