We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi- still the best in Springfield”

Yamato Steakhouse of Japan
Ranked #32 of 165 Restaurants in Springfield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 937-325-7338
SPRINGFIELD
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sushi- still the best in Springfield”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Several sushi places have come to Springfield over the past 6 months and Yamato still shines out as the best for atmosphere, food and service. We have been going to Yamato for the past few years and whether we eat in or order take out, it is always good.
If you eat in, try one of the Japanese beers and relax while your meal is cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner at Yamato”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just ate here tonight (August 18) and had to write about it while it was still fresh in my mind. We had excellent food and service tonight on our first visit. We were celebrating my son's birthday and he wanted to try Asian food, and we saw good ratings for Yamato, and thought we would try it out. We've lived in Springfield for years and this place has been around a while now, but we just never tried it. I got Hibachi chicken and sushi, my son got shrimp stir fry noodles, my daughter had white tiger (?) and a California roll, and my wife had filet mignon and shrimp. All was delicious, and my daughter, who has sushi regularly, said this was among the best she's had. My son had a delicious fried banana desert to finish the meal. Our server (Helen I believe?) was no nice and sweet, and was very good. She took our order without writing it down and remembered everything perfectly, and our bill was accurate as well. It's not a cheap place to eat ($75 before tip for four people), but it's cheaper than other Japanese steakhouses and the food is just as good. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlied844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Yamato Steakhouse”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a nice surprise in Springfield. I had the sushi and sashimi dinner. What a fun presentation. It was cool watching the sushi chef work. I had eight pieces of sushi and eight pieces of sashimi with a tuna roll. This was fantastic. The downside was the wasabi was a bit dry and hard to use. The atmosphere could use some updating. The service was good. The price isn't bad for fresh and properly prepared Japanese food. This is a little surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacklbarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
519 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Nice Experience at Yamato”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I decided to go over to Yamato to try the cuisine. I was pleased with it. I had sushimi that was very tasty and fresh, as it has to be with raw fish. I had the smoked salmon and red snapper. I had scallops for dinner and they were prepared well as the chef had sliced each large scallop into probably thirds to allow them to take on more of the sauce flavor. There was a mountain of fried rice with it and I was surprised that it came with a soup, salad, and spring roll as well. The server did a good job and everything was fine. I hope to return soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not a typical hibachi restaurant”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a traditional hibachi experience, this is not the place. There is one hibachi grill where the entire restaurants food is cooked. The food is ok, but not some place that I have to go back to. The prices are about the same as a typical Japanese streak house, but without the show. The sushi is pretty good, and would satisfy a craving, but there are a couple new Japanese restaurants on Springfield now, and are much better both with hibachi and sushi.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Steakhouse of Japan also viewed

 

Been to Yamato Steakhouse of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing