We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
266 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Last minute booking, on the return from a long road trip. This was my first time at a Red Roof Inn, and I was totally surprised -- positively. Apparently, it was just renovated, and everything was clean and felt fresh. The room (two queens) was spacious, well-equipped. Breakfast offered many options, including healthy ones. Parking could be better but was adequate. We had two dogs, no problems, no fees. Only reason I am not giving five stars is, well, it's just not a top-tier hotel with all their amenities, but in its range it was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI607, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mix579,

Thank you for taking your time to provide you feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again on your next trip to Springfield, OH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    29
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
30
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Van Wert, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean with a nice bathroom and shower and the bed was very comfortable. We loved the breakfast. They even had eggs and biscuits and gravy. Good location near the Springfield extravaganza. Also, we had our poodle with us and they accept pets with no extra charge. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI607, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Paula K,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Springfield, OH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our reservations were made last minute on an event weekend in Springfield. They were very polite and found us a non-smoking room. Everything was spotless and smelled fresh and clean.
Highly recommend this Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie4765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI607, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Maggie4765,

Thank you for the great review regarding your stay with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our breakfast bar.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Springfield, OH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for a farm show in the area and most of the other hotels were booked, so I was happy to get a room. My ONLY issue was it was a smoking room. It was the only one available on travelocity, but I assumed there was no indoor smoking in Ohio anymore, so I thought it might be a misprint or something. When I checked in the staff apologized and informed me that some hotels were grandfathered into to allowing smoking. So besides the smell, the room was very clean and no complaints. Staff was very friendly as well.

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed in this hotel, so make sure you don't book a smoking room by accident.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William_from_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI607, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mr. William_from_MI,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facility. Also, We apology for the smoke odor you had to deal with in your room.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Springfield, OH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

we have been using a motor home for traveling because we don't trust motels to clean up their rooms properly, but things changed and we had to stay in motels this trip.
this one will restore your faith in motels, the property is clean, the staff friendly the sheets freshly laundered the room clean even in the corners. my wife is very picky and she found no fault with the room or property.
the free breakfast is just ok but it is free so no complaints I would stay there again with no hesitation well done red roof

Room Tip: stayed on second floor was quiet and the room dark wit curtains pulled
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwf16129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI607, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Pwf16129,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Springfield, OH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
328 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've stayed in other Red Roof Inns, but this was the best. The rooms were clean and spacious, the front desk staff were very nice and welcoming (We arrived after 11 PM; the kindness, humor, and welcome were very welcoming to us!), and I was very impressed with the breakfast. This was the only hotel that I've ever found, that serves the cereal Corn Total (one of my favorites! It stays crispy in milk.). A subsequent Red Roof Inn in which we stayed told us that the Springfield Red Roof Inn is the main hotel in the chain. Additionally, it is easy to get on and off the parkway from this hotel. We tried to make a reservation for a week later, but they were booked. We ended up staying in a Red Roof Inn which was not as nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEEEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI607, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear MEEEK,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly service.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Springfield, OH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed while attending a horse show in the area. The hotel was our "host" hotel for the event for the second time. The staff was incredible with helping all our members. Staff members, Kevin, Darla and Julia went the extra mile to help us with the little extras for our judges and did everything with a smile and a "thank you." The room was clean and quiet. Great pool area and a decent breakfast.

We had the most contact with Darla and she was so helpful with places to eat, things to see and assisted us in finding the area hospital when we needed to visit the emergency room. She was even waiting for us when we returned to be sure everything was alright.

Service these days is difficult enough, but when you have a staff that goes the extra mile in making your stay comfortable and truly means it when they inquire "if everything is ok"—individuals make note and we WILL stay at this RRI again next year during the show.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavon3307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI607, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Valued Guest Pavon3307,

Thank you for the generous review, we are always honored to be the host hotel for the horse show.

We are glad to hear that we are able to provide the service that is expected of us to be part of the shows.

As always we will be looking forward to the next year's show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#1 of 14 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Springfield - Dayton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Springfield

Property: Red Roof Inn Springfield
Address: 155 W Leffel Ln, Springfield, OH 45506-3521
Location: United States > Ohio > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Springfield Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing