We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff that makes check in/out seamless!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great staff that makes check in/out seamless!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Great staff and good location and the mini suite was clean and comfortable. However, while everything was clean and comfortable, the rooms just had an air of being outdated and in need of rehab. Nothing nasty just needs a refreashing. Lobby is nice and breakfast was ok, need to have biscuits and gravy. Overall, Good hotel, give it a shot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macdevousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It is great to hear our staff provides memorable service and I will be sure to pass this on to my staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Springfield, Ohio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    72
    17
    16
    4
See reviews for
104
30
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Pros: clean, fast check in/out, staircase in the center makes for quick travel between floors, adequate parking, good location--close to interstate, restaurants, stores, safe neighborhood. Very nice fluffy towels :)

Cons: Not a brand new place so there is some minor wear and tear (i.e small chip on bathroom counter, small stain on window curtain, wallpaper border starting to peel slightly). None of these things are worth getting upset about to me. Also could see the place from the road but had to drive around in order to find the entrance. You have to drive thru another business to get to the hotel. There is no signage at the road either (what???). Lastly the indoor pool is noisy with screaming children, and the smell of chlorine is very pungent (at least it's clean, right?). I would not have wanted to be in a room above the pool.

Didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment about that.

Overall would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Springfield, Ohio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth,ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a very nice stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful in any situation. Breakfast was sufficient and differed daily. Warm atmosphere lobby, access to high speed internet large seating area where our family could sit in comfort together and talk of the days events. Plan on going back soon. I was borned and raised in springfield but moved after I retired in 1985. This is a very very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the service you received and the atmosphere of our Hotel. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location, short drive to shopping area with Walmart, Kohl's, several restaurants. Red Lobster, Applebees and Bob Evans within walking distance. Easy drive to Wittenberg University.

Nice lobby with a lending library, warm fire, couches and an eating area offering breakfast with waffles, french toast, sausage, cereals, juices, and other continental fare. Not bad, but the "fresh fruit" was not very fresh. I think the strawberries had been frozen and the grapes were sad looking. There's a pool, but no hot tub. Very nice wood railing staircase leads to the second floor. Very homey. There's a guest laundry on the second floor. The elevator is around behind the staircase, next to what I think is the only ice maker and some vending machines.

The room and bathroom were nice and clean. The room we stayed in had two queens which were hard and lumpy. It also had a small dresser with a ~30" flat screen TV, a desk with a big desk chair and an upholstered chair which was squeezed in between one bed and the window.

While the room was pleasantly cool when we arrived, the fan was a little loud. I was woken up a couple of times when the heater came on. It was very loud and rattled. The second night I turned off the heater and just left the fan on and it was fine.

A big suggestion--if you stay here, ask for a room in the back of the hotel. There are huge lights shining on the front of the building, lighting up the hotel. Nice if you're trying to find the hotel at night, but I had trouble blocking it to make the room dark enough. I checked the back and the lights back there are directed down to the parking lot.

Also, if you are allergic to feathers beware. All of the pillows were feather, as were the duvets, which, if there had been two of us in the bed, would not have been wide enough to cover both of us.

The last time we stayed in this area, we stayed across the street at the Fairfield Inn. This place has a better breakfast (both are free). The hotels are comparable otherwise.

One last note: to get to this hotel, you have to drive through the parking lot of either Target (next door) or a defunct restaurant in front of the hotel. A little confusing at first.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have trouble with light from the street lights, which are directed up to shine on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. I have addressed the issue of the noisy fan with my maintenance staff so thank you for bringing that to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is always pleasant, clean and a nice place to stay. The rooms are clean and spacious. They have a pool if you bring kids or just want to relax. The front desk staff is very nice and friendly. The breakfast room is spacious and the food is fine-not great but fine. A hot breakfast is good; waffles, oatmeal, bagels, toast, cereals--lots of choices. It just did not seem terribly healthy but fine. The only down side is they allow smoking at this hotel. The third floor is smoking and people hand around the front door smoking which is unpleasant.
This hotel is very close to shopping and Wittenberg University which was the reason for our visit.

Room Tip: They do have smoking so that's gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stepford wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our employees strive to give each guest a memorable experience, so I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff on a job well done. When your travels bring you back to the area we hope that you will again choose the Country Inn & Suites, Springfield, Ohio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Found this by picking up a coupon book at a rest area off I-70. Saved $30 and this was a great stay. Clean, modern, well kept, friendly. Some reviews said it needed redone - maybe they got it as our room had a flat screen (like that's big deal?). Comfy bed, conveniently located 2 minute walk from a great Applebee's restaurant. Has a good hot brekkie too - which I really appreciate - saves the time/hassle of finding another place to have to stop.

Room Tip: We were on third floor end - nice and quiet all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to tell us how your experience was. We strive to provide a wonderful experience for our guests and are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accommodations. If your travels bring you back to the Springfield area we hope you again choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were taking our granddaughter to visit Wittenberg so we made reservations here. Thinking a suite would be bigger and easier for all of us (5) we booked this hotel. We were a bit disappointed in the size of the suite, and that it only had one bathroom. We were only there one night as five, as our daughter and granddaughters left the next day so the second night was OK for the two of us. It did have a couple nice things - coffee in the check in area all the time, and good location. It is just an average hotel but seemed clean and certainly ok for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: An average hotel but our room was on the main floor and that was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
I apologize that the size of the suite was not what you were hoping for. All our suites are Country Inn standard, and unfortunately there are none with two bathrooms. Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments on your stay and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Springfield.

Ted Wackler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#1 of 14 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Springfield Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#5 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Springfield - Dayton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Address: 1751 W 1st St, Springfield, OH 45504-1925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Springfield
Springfield Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing