We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An American Gem from the 1900's”

Hartman Rock Garden
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An American Gem from the 1900's”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

When Ben Hartman lost his job, he began a journey of building a "rock garden". Ben passed away in 1944, but his wife Mary kept the garden going. You will see Mt. Vernon, the wild west and other national and international locations all built by hand using small rocks. If you are passing by the Springfield, Ohio area or you live near here, it is worth a stop. It is not a destination, but a walk back in time. Children love it. Sadly the many small statues created by Mr. Hartman can only be out on display once per year due to vandals. It is still unique and located in a small housing development not too far from I-70. Work continues at the location to restore more of the garden, but as of August 2012, it is in great shape for your visit. Not suitable for wheelchairs or strollers. Very small back yard with narrow paths best describes the location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GardenGalOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
springfield,ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

what a nice little place to visit when you have the time and low on money. To think someone took their own hands to make such neat things.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a gem! Your jaw drops with all the detail within the rock garden. It is a must see!

Helpful?
1 Thank MKO201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unusual”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

A little odd that it's in someone's backyard, but so fun to see!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Whimusical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
260 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“One of the most incredible things I have seen!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a must attraction. This landmark is sooo beautiful. The detail is unreal. It felt like I was in some other country looking at some historical place of worship. I just wish I could have seen it when it was completely landscaped. I plan to go back when there has been time for flowers and grass to grow. It was already one of the most beautiful pieces of art I have seen. I can only imagine what it looks like when winter is long gone and everything is green, colorful and the water is clean.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartman Rock Garden also viewed

 

Been to Hartman Rock Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing