We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Toro

El Toro
Ranked #23 of 158 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

While the decor and carpeting may be in need of an update, the service was excellent and food was very good. Very large portions and reasonably priced. Won't walk away hungry. Bucket of 5 imported beers (full size bottles) for 10.00. Can't beat that! Traveling through the area and glad we stopped.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
2 reviews
“Great food great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Food is always good if you don't like it for any reason they will try to fix it. They make the best drinks. Good service staff is always friendly. There's always a special on something. Clean, great place to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy fajitas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice place to go on a special night or a night with friends or family. I have never tried anything I didn't like, but prefer the fajitas. Nice big drinks, and friendly staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jock1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Service was slow, food was decent, although it isn't hard to screw up fajitas. I had to ask for several refills on drinks and chips, the waiter seemed absent-minded

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were driving west on I-70 between Columbus, OH and Portland, IN when we realized we were hungry, and we needed to stop for something to eat. We saw the billboard for El Toro Bar & Grill, in Springfield (home of the Simpson’s?), OH. We pulled off of the freeway on Exit 54, drove a short distance down Limestone St, and pulled into El Toro. The to-go menu indicated that this was a small chain of restaurants in the area.

We were seated in a booth by a very friendly hostess, to the sounds of pleasant cantina music. We were immediately brought large bowls of very tasty chips and salsa. We looked over the menus and started with a VERY cold Dos Equis in a bottle with a wedge of lime, and a regular-size Margarita Texanas. We really appreciate when restaurants keep the beer frosty cold. The margarita was really good, although perhaps a bit heavy on the Gran Marnier. It was still a very good margarita.

I ordered a cheese enchilada, bean burrito, rice, and beans from the Vegetarian section of the menu. The sauce on the cheese enchilada was very complex and delicious, and I detected a hint of cinnamon in it. It was really good and I would definitely order it again. My husband ordered Pollo Colorado, with rice and beans. He thought that it was excellent. It had large chunks of perfectly cooked chicken in a wonderful sauce, although it was slightly too salty. Overall it was really good, though.

The service was excellent, being friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

I would definitely recommend El Toro to locals as well as road-weary travelers. We had a great dining experience and I hope to go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro also viewed

 

Been to El Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing