We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant with a huge menu”
Review of The Hickory

The Hickory
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant with a huge menu”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I can't recall seeing a menu this large. Plenty of choices - pasta, BBQ, steaks, sandwiches, pizza and more combined with the backwoods ambiance of a small log cabin. Service was good and the food was well prepared. Great casual place for dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good local stop for good steak and pizza”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Always looking for good local restaurants and if you are in Springfield this would be a good stop. Atmosphere was just OK, looks like an old log cabin house. Inside kind of small. That said, the food was good and nice large portions. We got steaks. The strip and ribeye. Cook just right and was delicious. Also had to try the pizza as they said that was good and we weren't disappointed. Had a very large menu for all types of food. If you are looking for a good local spot, this would be a good place to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“excellant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The atmosphere is quaint,like an old log cabin.Although there's no "party room" we were accommodated nicely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kevin”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you plan on going to the Hickory Inn, make sure Kevin is there, he makes the best pizzas and he's really handsome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randompedestrian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizza was decent but the service was horrible”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had high hopes for the place but let me tell you I got rubbed the wrong way. The pizza first of all is not bad, but it is not the best in town either but it isn't bad. I must say though the service is the worst I have ever seen, rude, no effort, slow, and went after everyone else but us. If you do go here call in, get the food and leave because the service sucks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David5554369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hickory also viewed

 

Been to The Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing