We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy's El Pueblo - CLOSED

Sammy's El Pueblo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

When we arrived at Sammy's I had high hopes. The interior is beautiful and the Mexican menu had many tempting options. To sum it up, the chips and salsa were the best part of the meal. The quality of the entrees was poor; barely passable beans and rice, steak that was tough on some pieces and fatty on others, meat drowned in sauce, corn tortillas falling apart. Totally not worth the $10 per plate and that's pretty cheap for dinner. I can make better Mexican food at home and I'm not even Mexican! We will not go back and will not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    12
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth a second visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My wife and I enjoy Mexican food & decided to try Sammy's. The atmosphere & decor in the restaurant is nice. The food and service were just average. We visited during dinnertime on a Saturday and the place was surprisingly not very busy. I've enjoyed eating at El Toro by the Dayton mall more.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dayton_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best burger in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I split two of their hamburgers and both were excellent. Very nice atmosphere too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
302 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Mexican and More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Sammy's is an interesting "hybrid" restaurant. Yes, all the usual mexican fare is available, but they have a lot more to choose from. Everything from hamburgers/hot dogs, bar food, soups, etc. We had the pinto burger (for vegetarian eater), and the "mafia" burger (w/mozzarella sticks & marinara). Plenty of "veggie" selections for the vegans. The fries are thick cut and very good. Service is fast/friendly, one side of restaurant is table/booth, and the other is a "bar". Bathrooms are very clean. Good restaurant with simple (and good) food!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Porthos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook oh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watch out for the coupon trick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The food is good, but we ordered on 3 separate tickets and at three separate tables, but the management would only honor 1 coupon which we cut from the Kroger receipt. There was not any disclaimers that explained the coupon rules. The waitress only said I am soooooo sorry but this is the new policy of the management. Maybe me and my friends will not go back to such trickery.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lee424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's El Pueblo also viewed

Springboro, Warren County
Springboro, Warren County
 
Springboro, Warren County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing