We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very long wait”

Grouse Nest Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A very long wait”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We ended up in South Bloomfield on a Sunday night looking for a restaurant. The only gas station suggested we go to “Grouse Nest,” that was, “at the end of the dirt road.” Well, there was no exaggerating, for it was at the end of a steep, rough, dirt road.

On the positive, it is quiet impressive that there would be a restaurant, at the top of a hill in, well, what seemed like the middle of nowhere. The staff was friendly, the food was tasty, and the setting absolutely serene.

However, the wait was very long, with the serving staff disorganized and inefficient. We were told initially they were just finishing up a party of 15, and there would be about a ten minuet wait. It was actually a 2 hour total experience. I suppose if we had nothing else to do that evening, there would have been no problem, but we would are accustomed to dinning in about one hour.

If you find yourself in South Bloomfield, i.e., in the “middle of nowhere,” Grouse Nest is a nice place, but be prepared to make it a long evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tobycolumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    10
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food and friendly service!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

my husband and i ate here the pass week end. the food was excellent ! the service and friendness of the staff was very pleasing.
we will be returning to this restaurant soon. beautiful and serene setting

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnicley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over a 90 minute wait just to get a table”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The road to get there is something else. After going all the way up that hill, it wasn't what I expected. We arrived and there were at least 10 open tables but the server looked in the reservation book, we were told it would be a 90 minute wait. They only had 2 reservations in each time slot and a bunch of open tables.......why then a 90 minute wait just to be seated?The server acted like she didn't even want to deal with customers....are they understaffed or what??? We left instead of waiting the 90 minutes and after reading the other reviews I think it was the right choice,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Missed the Mark on Fine Dining”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The venison meatloaf with mashed potatoes was very good, but the service was disappointing. After finding our way up the rough dirt road that leads to the restaurant, we stepped through the doorway and waited to be seated. After standing there for a few minutes, some diners already seated shouted to us to come in and sit down anywhere. We did and waited a few minutes for someone to come to our table and tell us that they had a party of 15 they were just getting food out to and now they would be able to take care of the twelve of us in the dining room. She brought us water and offered bread and said our waitress would be there shortly to take our order. We sat there twenty five minutes before our waitress came to even take a drink order. She told us about the specials and said she would give us a few minutes to decide. I asked about other dinner options and she realized we didn't have menus. She brought menus and came back in a few minutes to get our order. Our reservation was for 6:30. It was 7:40 before we were served our food. During this time, two diners seated next to us said that they are notoriously slow, so if you are in a hurry, don't go there. It's not that we were in a hurry, but when we saw people who had come in 15 minutes after us get drinks, menus, and told what the specials were and our drink order hadn't been taken, we wondered if we should get up and go somewhere else. I'm not sure the food was worth the wait, but it was very good. We thought we would have time to eat and leave before dark because the road is so bad, but it was dark when we left. We followed another couple down the road, but we both ended up at a dead end and had to turn around and go back to the restaurant to find the road down the hill. The restaurant is listed as "fine dining," but it takes more than good food to make an experience fine dining. I think they missed the mark.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TriStateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stopped up here before a hike in the hills. It's tucked away off of Route 56 on top of a steep hill. I loved the english gardens. Lots to walk around and see on the grounds before or after you eat lunch.

We had lunch for 2 for under 20 bucks which is pretty inexpensive in my book. The waitress was very friendly and atmosphere was casual and laid back. I had a buffalo chicken sandwich on a pretzel bun, my daughter a grilled cheese.

It's a great place to get some grub before you head out for a hike - or after. Not too stuffy or pretentious. They got us in & out

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grouse Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing