We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STINKY 31st Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hocking Hills Resort
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“STINKY 31st Anniversary”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Love Bug #1, Walked in and the smell was overwhelming of either a septic tank or water problem somewhere. I tried spraying my $90 perfume throughout the cabin and finally opened the window in the bathroom and that aired the cabin out temporarily. There was a broken piece of tile sticking up where you step out of the jaccuzi. It could be disaster if you stepped on it with bare feet. The place was clean inside and kinda updated. No remote for TV. I can't believe I spent $167 and the place smelled so foul. There is also well water and a message stating it may leave a brown residue in the tub. So we didn't even use the tub or drink the water. It was a rip-off. We should have just brought our tent and went to the campground. It was like like sleeping in an out-house!

Room Tip: GO check the place out before you book a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gingerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Wow. What to say. First, we are sorry for your unpleasant stay. We were horrified about the alleged condition of your cabin so we ran over and checked it out. Nothing. No smells, not even the $90 perfume. We were unable to verify your problem. If you had stopped by the office and told us about it at the time, perhaps we could have resolved the issue before this. The recently broke tile is an issue, however, and it is scheduled for repair. On a lighter note, the young couple who rented the cabin the following night said upon their departure, "The cabin was so wonderful, absolutely perfect and charming."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    4
    4
    13
See reviews for
8
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in Love Bug cabin #4 and when we walked in, the small round table for two was romantically set with plates and wine glasses. The refrigerator is a full size unit which is very nice when staying several days. The bathroom is very large with a big garden tub and huge walk in shower all enclosed with glass windows on the backside and top so you could enjoy the Hocking Hills while relaxing in the tub. We gathered up some branches from the woods and lit the chiminea which is out on the back deck and enjoyed relaxing in the peacefulness of the woods. The bed wasn't as comfortable as our sleep number bed at home, but we didn't expect that! These cabins are conveniently located to the walking/ hiking trails which was wonderful because that is what the two of us and our dog wanted to do on this Anniversary! All in all we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodell513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The good was the wedding that we attended there....the bad was the Love Bug cabin we stayed in. Unfortunately, it is in dire need of renovation and I believe that some of the cabins may already have been updated, but not ours. It just needs a total remodel from furniture to floors and bathroom. The skylight in the bathroom is wonderful and you feel like you are outside.....but sometimes you wish you were because the tile and fixtures are so old and in spite of the cleaning crews diligence it's impossible to feel that it's clean. I understand they had some tornado damage last year which would explain why some of the siding was missing off the back of the cabin, but for the price we paid I really think it should have been better maintained. I also wish someone had warned us about the gravel road up to the resort. It was full of deep ruts and very steep. I held my breath going up there hoping we wouldn't slide down to the bottom. Thank goodness it hadn't been raining hard when we were there. As I said, they did a lovely job with the wedding, but unless you really like the rustic outdoors, this is not a luxurious place to stay and I would recommend staying somewhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Check to see if you can get an updated cabin. We also saw one of the bigger ones and it was in need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location & very peaceful, however, this cabin was not what I expected. Mold in the shower. Shower curtain was ripped & partially hanging off shower rod. Cracked/broken tile in the bathroom. Quilt/comforter on the bed was threadbare & ripped in spots. Large exposed rusted nails on the deck. TV didn't work & there was no remote for the TV. When this was brought to the attention of the office, it was disregarded. There was a note upon our arrival that stated, "Dear Guest, The fireplace is not working-broke down yesterday." REALLY??? No effort on part of management to make amends. The wrong key was left in our cabin & we locked ourselves out...had to climb over the balcony to let ourselves back in. There was NO cleaning service so the fact that there was an envelope in our cabin asking for a tip to clean the cabin is a JOKE! This is one of the worst places that I have ever stayed in....far cry from a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hobey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your stay at Hocking Hills Resort. We apologize for the condition of your cabin that day. Housekeeping issues are on-going and we work hard to maintain consistent quality; however--and it is no excuse--we fall short on occasion. Please call the office and we can work out an equitable solution to your disappointment. I guarantee you will not encounter unacceptable conditions on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Bloomingville hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Ladyslipper cabin in April 2013 and we had a great & relaxing experience. The place was spacious & clean with everything you need to escape from reality. There is a hot tub on the deck overlooking the beautiful scenic woods. There is a woodburning fireplace inside that we used each day & night as the temps were cool. There is a full kitchen, bathroom with a large shower, master bedroom with a queen bed and living room with 2 futon couches. The upstairs was a loft with 4 twin beds. This is a small community of cabins which consists of 5 small Lovebugs and 2 larger cabins. There is a restuarant onsight as well called the Grouse Nest which we did not try because we brought our own food & drinks but I heard it was yummy. There is a charcoal grill out front which we put to good use. We brought our own speakers to play music from our iphones which was a 'nice to have' as they don't have them in the cabin. The location is great, it is near Ash Cave, Cedar Falls and Old Man's Cave. It sits really high up a steep gravel hill so be prepared for that. Just an FYI....there is NO cell phone service there and no phones in the cabins so it is a true escape from reality. When we arrived on Friday night, our gas light came on as we pulled into the area. I was nervous to run out of gas on the windy & hilly roads with no cell phone so we waited til Saturday morning and went to the front desk. They went above and beyond to help us and followed us in their car to the gas station 4 miles away to ensure we made it safely. Very kind people! Overall wonderful experience and the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank md-cbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband stumbled across this place looking for a place for our honeymoon. We rented one of the lovebug cabins and we were more then pleased. Cabin was clean and everything was nicely organized. Loved the jacuzzi and the atriumn in the bathroom. Veiw was fanstatic and it was so quiet and relaxing. The staff was amazing and was quick to answer any questions we had also to let us know what all there was to do in the area. We had them add afew baskets and had dinner catered in one night all the food was delicious. I can't wait until we go back this summer and I'm sure many more times in years to come.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to you in the future, the hills are beautiful every season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been staying at the Hocking Hills Resort for over 15 years and just visited the resort again this past week. We love the cozy Love Bug Cabins and for those who dont like the hill, you just have to get use to it, we love being on top of the ridge and secluded from the other tourist. Our cabin is always clean and comfortable and the staff is ready to assist with anything we ask. There are trails to hike, a garden for relaxing in around a bon fire and enjoying the outdoors is what it is all about when visiting the hocking hills. We love how close our cabin is to the state parks and have even walked to Ash Cave many times with our pet in tow. Please make note of the journal in the cabin, you can experience what others have while visiting in that cabin and every one has a special thought and adventure in the hills.
Don't want to cook, you can order a breakfast basket and have dinner catered to your cabin, I love it! Sitting down to a fabuous dinner and I don't have to left a finger and cook it, just rinse my plates when I'm done. I can;t say enough about our time in the Hocking Hills while staying in a Love Bug Cabin, it's a little piece of paradise, away from the hustle and bustle of town and don't forget to look up, the stars are fanastic, I've never seen such a sight, the hocking hills is a true wonder!

Room Tip: We Like Love Bug 2 and Love Bug 4 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnicley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We appreciate our repeat customers who have been coming to the Hocking Hills over the years, looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
12.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
24.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
332 reviews
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
24.7 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hocking Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hocking Hills Resort

Property: Hocking Hills Resort
Address: 25780 Liberty Hill Rd, South Bloomingville, OH 43152-9756
Location: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Bloomingville
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy cabins in a natural, wooded setting on a rugged hill, large reception hall for weddings and events, restaurant serving American cuisine, bar, gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hocking Hills Hotel South Bloomingville
Hocking Hills Resort Ohio/South Bloomingville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing