We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring bread!”
Review of The Barn

The Barn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Smithville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bring bread!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Bring bread to feed the ducks in the pond in front. As soon as you get out of the car and they see you carrying a bed bag they will surround you and be very persistant until you feed them! Fun to do with the kids, although very young kids may actually be frightened by all that attention. The restaurant is comfort-type foods with a good salad bar and pleasant rustic country decor. Visit the other little shops while you are there, including Toyriffix Toys.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank whobyo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    52
    32
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Smithville”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have eaten at The Barn several times and have always had a great experience. The servers are extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant is very clean and the food is very reasonable. We have always orderd the salad bar which is equivalent to any Amish salad bar in the area. The restaurant's atmosphere couldn't be better - very quiet and cozy. Overall you can't do any better than this in Smithville!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Rustic Restaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've been coming to the Barn for many years. I live over an hour away but its worth the drive and in the fall its just beautiful looking at the countryside. I would fill up on the salad bar and end up taking whole meals home What I learned over the years is that is to by- pass the main meal and just get the salad wagon. They make the best creamiest coleslaw ever! Everything on the salad bar was fresh. Between the salad table, bread table and the soup table there is something for everyone. If I come around the holidays I call the day before and reserve their homemade pies to take home. My favorite is the fruit of the forest its just to die for. They sell pies apple, cherry, fruit of the forest and others, breads and anything off the salad wagon. I always get coleslaw to take home besides the pies.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Prices are getting ridiculous!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've been coming to The Barn for probably well over 20 years, but less and less as the years go by. It's neat and all being in a barn. The decor needs a good cleaning. The food is usually decent, but nothing to really rave about. I question the freshness of some of the salad bar offerings. Same staff over the years too. Nothing has changed in those 20 years.....except the prices which are at the point of insanity. This is NOT fine dining. It is a Mom and Pop, salad bar, sandwiches, "diner" dinners type place. How can you charge $10 or more for a basic sandwich and salad? Yes, you can make an absolute pig of yourself at the soup and salad bar if you wish and get your "money's worth", but for those of us who eat reasonably, the prices are exceeding their limits. Oh, and why can you NOT get meatloaf on the menu upstairs? It's only on the buffet downstairs. Hmmmmmm.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pb4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of a Kind!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great place to take a lot of people, all of which will be happy. Lots of things to see in the waiting room. Feed the ducks in the summer or walk around the lake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing