We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castaway Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Bay
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Castaway Bay during the week before Labor Day, and we got one of the Cedar Point packages. The hotel was pretty nice, with the usual amenities, and we had no real complaints (though as someone else said, lines at the front desk during big check-in/checkout times could get pretty long). The biggest advantage is proximity to the park, of course; it's about a 2-minute drive. The indoor water park isn't the best water park we've been to, but considering that it's inside, we were fairly impressed, especially with the three really fast tube slides. :-) It was nice to be able to relax in the hot tub or cool off on the slides after a day in the park.

One really nice thing: when Surf City, the outdoor water park, was closed due to bad weather, they traded in those tickets that came in our package for a second day in Cedar Point. Nice that they're willing to be flexible that way.

  • Liked — Proximity to Cedar Point, indoor water park.
  • Disliked — Animatronic parrots in the lobby -- annoying!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank stitchinthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    309
    166
    119
    116
See reviews for
667
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
OSCEOLA, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

I stayed here over Labor day 2 - 4. I arrived about 5:00 p.m. and the lobby was packed with people. They only had two people working behind the desk and they were busy. The down fall was that there were people who just wanted to buy tickects to the water park and those of us who were trying to check into our room. Considering how busy they were they were pretty quick. They did take the time to explain all about our passes to Cedar Point and to the water park. The room was nice on the second floor over looking the bay. The girls took off for CP and I did some browsing around the resort and hung out in my room. The thing that I noticed was that you could hear every door shut in our hallway and the sliding doors that were around our balcony even with our balcony door shut. People talking and yelling in the hall were also very noticable and didn't stop until around midnight both nights. I did book a reservation at the Spa here and would definetly recommend it. I had a stone massage, facial, manicure and pedicure and was there from 1:30 to 5:00 a bit pricey but worth the money. You also get the use of the indoor pool and the hot tub when your there for your appointment the bonus to this is that it is only available to the people who are having spa services done no little ones running around. The girls went to the water park and liked it they're 19 & 20 but spent most of there time at Cedar Point.

  • Liked — Location to Cedar Point
  • Disliked — Very small lobby. Need to seperate waterpark ticket guest from hotel guest check in/out
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 22MARGARITAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2006

First of all this is a hotel with an indoor warterpark owned by Cedar Point, That being said you would expect it to be kid friendly and expensive and it is both., We met our children there as well as our 4,7,8, 9 and 10 year old grandchildren They had a blast. They even got grandpa to go down the 4 story boat ride and 4 story water tubes in the hotel's indoor water park, but not grandma.The rooms were fairly large with 2 queen size beds.altough the mattreses were not comfortable..There is a TGIF Fridays attached to the hotel and its food was better than most Fridays, The hotel's only real restaurant is Mango Mikes which has a $9.95 buffet for breafast and dinner ($5.95 for kids). The breakfast was more than ok but looking at the scant offerings on the dinner buffet we opted for Fridays. This is not a place for relaxation or romance. You do what your children or grandchildren want when they want to. That being said this is a place for kids and you have no business being there without your own kids or somebody elses.

  • Liked — The indoor waterpark
  • Disliked — The restaurant choises
  • Tips/Secrets — You are paying fot the indoor waterpark so enjoy it.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank thorntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

We stayed in a Tarpon suite (wife and 2 kids 15 & 9) for 4 nights. The most notable impression was that of the truly excellent customer service. From the point of checking in to leaving the hotel, the friendly and helpful attitude of everyone was something which will make us return. The hotel itself was clean and the rooms well laid out. Our only slight issue was we were on the ground floor immediately opposite the amusement area which tended to be noisy at night. It did however shut just after 11 by which time the noise stopped.

It may seem contradictory to want wifi when staying at an amusement park, but by job requires me to stay in touch. There was wifi access around the reception area but I completely failed to be able to gain access and pick up email. The staff were incredibly helpful but in the end I managed to keep in touch by phone and for the 4 days ignored all but urgent messages. A reliable wifi access would be my key desire for a future visit.

The waterpark in the hotel is by UK standards really excellent, although on a much smaller scale to Soak City in Cedar Point. The facilities were very well maintained and the abundance of safety staff was impressive. The kids found more than enough to do, even after a whole day in Cedar Point park.

The restaurant provides a buffet although I would recommend going out to eat, there are many options within a few minutes drive of the hotel. It is worth noting that if you have an annual pass for Cedar Point you can get a free breakfast voucher in the hotel.

All in all, I have nothing but praise, it is not the cheapest hotel, in fact it seemed rather expensive but the stay was most enjoyable and worth every dollar. Travelling from the UK we found a total of 4 days in the park (Cedar Point and Soak City) was enough, by the end of it we were exhausted. Travelling that far (ie over Atlantic) it is worth combining this with another venue which we did. I would certainly return.

  • Liked — convenience to Cedar Point amusement park
  • Disliked — wifi access unavailable
  • Tips/Secrets — It is worth the cost, excellent hotel and staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hugh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landover, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

We stayed from August 6-11,2006. The hotel was nice. We stayed in the Tarpon Suite (room with 4 bunk beds and a king bed). I was a little disappointed in the size of the room. When they advertised semi private, they meant it. The room with the bunk bed was separated by a thin wall and a window with a roll up shade. If you want privacy then the Tarpon Suite is not the room for your family. The only set back was the room only had 1 bathroom. There were six of us. Also, the tub was dirty (needs to be painted). We had to take showers with our shower shoes on.

The staff were very friendly. The room was cleaned daily. The Pizza hut delivery service was very fast. Also, the pizza was good. We ate at Mango Mikes. The food was not all that great. The omelets were very greasy. The water park was great, especially the hot tub and wave pool. We had a ball......

We received the Cedar Point Package which was great. If you are going to go to Cedar Point or Soak City, you need to get there early. Castaway Bay Water park is better than Soak City. You do not have to worry about long lines or over crowding.

Overall, this was a great hotel and waterpark. We recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Waterpark and location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get room with ample space; Bring sodas and snacks
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2006

This was our second trip to Castaway Bay. We came back mostly because we git an incredible deal because we were former guests. The waterpark is not a good as the other two in Sandusky, but it does have it's own unique aspects. The wave pool is the highlight, it is so much fun it keeps my kids (9&11) entertained. The raft coaster is fun too-it takes you up and downhill. The pool is huge, but even my kids said the huge tv screen playing cartoons is very distracting. Kids cannot resist and they end up sitting on one of the in pool floats watching tv-the very thing most parents are trying to get them away from!!! The water slides are fun, but there is no lazy river. Now to the rooms-it was a former Radisson hotel and not much has changed!! The rooms are small and very boring when you have been to the other waterparks. No theme, just your average sleeping accomodations. They are trying-the lobby now includes a animated show and they have Snoopy characters walking around the resort. This park is fun, but I wouldn't stay more than one night. The staff is very friendly and the on-site restaurants are average. They do have a TGI Fridays attached to the resort.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank tracykay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

We Stayed at Castaway Bay from July 20-22 of this year. I was with my 2 nieces who are both 11 years old. We arrived at 1:30 pm to check in and our room was ready which was a surprise since check in time is 4:00 pm. The room was colorfull with 2 double beds and a nice little balcony. The mini refrig and microwave really came in handy. Air conditioning was excellent as room was nice and cold when we checked in. Bathroom was nice and plenty of room for the 3 of us to put all our stuff on the counter. Water pressure in shower was also excellent . Room was very clean and maids did a nice job every day cleaning our mess. My nieces loved the indoor waterpark. One of them did not want to leave. Park was clean and the lines were not long at all to ride the Rendezvous Run or the water slides. I did not have any problems with the chlorine bothering my eyes which i thought i might since it was indoors. The hot tub water was warm but not scolding hot like some other ones i have been in. It was a good place to relax before going to Cedar point. All the staff was very friendly and helpfull. Yes paying over $300 a night is a little expensive but when you add all the free tickets, free parking, and Castaway Bucks you get with your package it is well worth it.

  • Liked — Waterpark and close to Cedar point.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you use all your free coupons in your package and you can get all day tickets to Cedar Point at the front desk for $31 instead of the $39 at the park. If you are going to cedar point go during the week as the lines are very short. On the weekends you are looking at 2 hour waits or more for the big rides.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mtmksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay

Property: Castaway Bay
Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this ideal destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky, Ohio
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing