We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castaway Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Bay
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Overnight fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A trip to Cedar Point and an overnight stay at Castaway Bay was great fun. the beds were a little noisy as but the linens (including the comforters) were all very clean and smelled pleasant and the beds were comfortable. The water park was clean and the lifeguards were both professional and funny. The hour early entry was well worth staying in the Cedar Point resort, I would definitely go back, and I would definitely recommend this resort. When you buy the packages with tickets to Cedar Point, the parking is included, the price is well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to he waterpark.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fab50E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    309
    166
    119
    116
See reviews for
667
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a nice weekend getaway. Very close to lake and port Clinton. It was nice you got to get into park the day u arrive and the day you leave. Its like getting a day for free. Rooms were average because the beds were a little hard but other than that no issues at all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbytiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your business. We appreciate you choosing Castaway Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was a little scared because of the reviews on here but they were totally wrong. We arrived super early the ladies working the desk gave us our wristbands, so we could go to the water park, they sent us a text when our was ready. My sister and her family of four was in the rooms close to TGI Fridays. I felt that her beds were noisy but she said that were great. Our room was on the opposite end of the resort. The room was super clean everyday. The beds were awesome and there was Bath and Body products in the bathroom. We included the buffet breakfast each morning. We had Cindy as our waitress everyday and she was THE BEST!!!!! She knew our drinks by the second day.

We order a pizza one night through room service. The pizza was great and arrived in great time. We had a sandwich in their cafe, it was ok nothing exciting about it. TGI Friday's was nice. the prices are a little higher than other Fridays but I was ok with them because it was so convenient.

Castaway Bay has a great arcade. I have a claw machine addiction and there were plenty for me to get my fix (LOL).

It is totally worth staying at Cedar Point property. The extra hour was great in the park. My sister and one nephew was able to ride the Gatekeeper first thing in the morning. They rode all the coasters. We took my other nephew around the park because he is 48 inches. There is so much for little children to do. He was so tired at the end of the day.

The only issue that we had with Castaway Bay was we needed to print the coupon for souvenir cup from my email and we were told that the front desk doesnt have access to the internet and no computers are available for guest use.

We are already planning next years trip. The payment plan was a great incentive and great for a family on a budget. It was great you can also make charges to you room everywhere on The Resort so you didnt have to carry money when in the waterpark.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower level by the water park seem to have newer beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrygrl0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate all of your helpful feedback about your visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading the reviews, I was wary about staying here. I booked a combination suite at the last minute for a total of eight guests between the ages of 18 and 21. I figured we would probably spend most of our time at the parks and outside of the hotel and warned my fellow travelers that they would likely be disappointed as this was a family resort. Not only was the booking staff incredibly kind and accommodating with our last-minute requests, we were also pleasantly surprised by how nice and fun the hotel actually was.

Our room was spotless. Sure, the beds were a little noisy as some people had complained, but the linens (including the comforters) were all very clean and smelled pleasant and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was well stocked with soft towels and name brand soaps.

We figured we wouldn't like the water park but actually found it to be quite fun. It was just large enough to fill our evening since we couldn't go to Cedar Point on the first day as intended due to weather conditions. (You can pick up your tickets before you check in. We were told they are available at the front desk after 8 a.m. on the day of check-in just in case you choose to go to Cedar Point on the first day of your trip.) The water park was clean and the lifeguards were both professional and funny. There was hardly any lines and enough slides to satisfy my group of young adults.

The hour early entry was well worth staying in the Cedar Point resorts. My group managed to do every major coaster within the first two hours, and because we were in the back of the park when everyone started coming in, the lines didn't actually catch up to us until the afternoon. Get in line early! That hour is what you are paying for, so make it worth it! When we stayed, people would line up beforehand, but they would usually only open the first one or two lanes on the left.

All in all, we had a great time. I would definitely go back, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. I don't know where all of the negative reviews are coming from because I had a great time. When you buy the packages with tickets to Cedar Point and parking included, the price is well worth it.

Room Tip: The wing closest TGI Fridays smelled musty, but our rooms on the back side were spotless and fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smailliwnyltiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only issue we has was the lack of pork free products with the breakfast buffet package. You had a choice of fruit, yogurt, baked goods, eggs or cereal but everything else was pork. So I think for a pork free family the breakfast buffet is alittle pricey for so few options.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We will certainly take this opportunity to review our menu and offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent the night at Castaway Bay and had a fun time! The water park was so much fun and the family really enjoyed themselves! The room was just OK..we had a large room with a king bed and a separate bunk room..that room was hot and there was no air vents in the bunk room. We had to pull up the curtain and crank up the air to get some cool air into the room...the people in the king bed froze :( The front desk didn't have a fan that would have helped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. Thank you for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a great time there, the amenities were better than advertised and the room itself was clean and comfortable. I recommend the Bay View* I can not wait to go back and would also recommend the Thirsty Pony across the street for some drinks. Big ones. As for TGIF I would not recommend them the staff is uninterested in helping you. But bring plenty of cash and you can spend hours in the arcade or go relax in the heated indoor/outdoor spa to relieve all the tension from a long day at Cedar Point

Room Tip: dolphin bay view room is the best for a couple, bay view in general is preferred oh and I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay

Property: Castaway Bay
Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this ideal destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky, Ohio
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing