We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience!!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Cedar Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Cedar Point
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Amesville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a good experience!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was not happy with the room the carpet was wet more so at the door, but even between the beds it was damp. The shower had hairs on and in it too. The woman behind the desk when checked in wasn't very friendly and neither was the one at checkout the next day. The beds and pillows were awful hard lumpy and nasty did not sleep just kept getting up lay down felt worse the next day. The breakfast was OK and the gentleman in there kept tables wiped off and things were stocked. Overall not a good experience will not go back there again. KE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSE1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    93
    50
    23
    19
See reviews for
117
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakmont, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We thought this was a great room for one night. We were going to Cedar Point for the entire day and needed a comfortable, reasonably priced room for sleeping. The rooms are large and the queen sized beds are a plus. The staff was terrific and the front desk man was so friendly. He even makes the waffles. Basic bread filled breakfast, no fruits but fine for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slamonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel was just what I expected for medium price, in season hotel. Nothing fancy but not a dump either. Great location to Cedar Point/Soak City. Staff was great! Very friendly! The only complaint was that the carpet in the room was EXTREMELY DIRTY!!! When walking in bare feet they would be almost black after a few minutes. Never been in hotel with this before and this is why I gave it 2 rating instead of a 3. Would chose again if this is fixed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quail237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My family had planned a week-end trip to Cedar Point. We had a total of 21 in our party. Prior to booking this hotel I contacted the front desk based on a few of the reviews on this site. I questioned the mold & mildew smell because of grandchildren with allergies. I was told that rooms had been renovated and this is a continuous process every year. I asked for a total of 7 renovated and non-smoking rooms and adjoining rooms if possible. I was told my request would be noted. We arrived early and found all of our rooms were ready. The hotel had met all of my requests and had even been kind enough to have all 7 of our rooms all in a row and one set of adjoining rooms. Each room was clean and fresh as promised. This is not a 4 star hotel, but the price met our needs. The bathrooms are small (but clean) and the breakfast is not for anyone looking for a full meal, but just something to hold you until you get what you want. We made use of the pool which was also clean. Being close to the park was another plus. We would stay there again. I would advise all travelers too call ahead and speak directly with the hotel if you have any special request. You may be surprised how they often will be accommodating to get your repeat business.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take a mini 2 day vaca to Cedar Point without our kids. We booked this motel because it was so close to the park. Of course, I wasn't expecting luxury or anything of that nature. We got to our room, and it was what I had expected. Right when we were going to lay down to go to sleep, I had noticed a small bug crawling around on the bed. As I looked closer, I realized it was a bed bug!! We were freaking out because I did not want to bring that home with me, especially bc we have 2 small toddlers at home. We immediatley went to the office and demanded a new room. The lady in the office did not seem suprised that there were bed bugs. She just apologized and put us in a different room. After debating on just packng up and leaving, we decided to stay bc its not often we have time to ourselves AND it was a 4 hour drive. We stripped all of the beds down to double check everything, and found no bed bugs in the room. The first room we did have was a smoking room. It was not properly aired out and smelled of stale smoke. We are smokers, but we don't even like that smell. I mean, comon, at least spray some air freshener or something. The second room was non smoking, and seemed cleanlier (not up to par tho). All in all, its kinid of a hit or miss with the bed bug situation. I suggest don't stay in a smoking room if you do decide to stay here. We, on the other hand, will just pay the extra money to stay in an iin-park hotel next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Best value hotel in the area. Excellent time there..The free Breakfast was adequate and the waffles were the best..waffle guy and day staff are very friendly. Outside pool is awesome at night, check out the fireflies by the pool. Really close to Cedar Point.

Room Tip: Excellent room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huber Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Econo Lodge North on the 22nd of June after a trip to Cedar Point. I had stayed at this motel many years ago and was not expecting much more than a place to sleep for the night.

On the con side: the hotel and guest room was old and outdated. The bedding was very old and I immediately searched for bed bugs. The air conditioner was not turned on when I arrived and the room was very warm. The walls were paper thin and I was able to hear conversations very clearly in the adjoining rooms. The breakfast was a joke as referenced by other reviews. I would recommend eating elsewhere.

On the pro side: the hotel is located a sort drive to the Cedar Point causeway.

I would recommend staying in one of the newer hotels if you make a trip to Sandusky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_in_Huber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cedar Point

Property: Econo Lodge Cedar Point
Address: 1904 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cedar Point 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Cedar Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cedar Point Hotel Sandusky
Econolodge Cedar Point
Econo Lodge Sandusky
Sandusky Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cedar Point Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing