We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel - No Bedbugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Cedar Point
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My spouse and I booked two nights at this hotel because we were going to Cedar Point.

We checked in pretty late and there was a young man, who appeared to be training, and a larger woman with many small braids in her hair. I have to say that this young man was so poliet and was making a visable effort to try his best to ensure we had a smooth check-in. The larger woman could use some customer service training, as she appeared very rude and didn't smile once.

For the price we paid, it was not a bad hotel considering the poor ratings it has got in the past. Especially the comments regarding bed bugs...I can assure you that our room did not have bed bugs. I search every inch of our room because of those review. We booked a non-smoking room, but unfortunately when we first entered it, the room smelled of stale smoke. But it appears that the hotel is trying to improve because our room had new carpet and was very clean considering the price. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the room was spacious. My spouse and I commented quite frequently how our room would be a lot more comfortable if it had a mini fridge and small microwave.

My spouse and I enjoyed Cedar Point so much that we agreed to come back on an annual basis. We will likely not return to this hotel due to the absence of a mini fridge and microwave. If this is not important to you, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Cedar Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 245 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

If this hotel had a bedbug problem at one time, it has been taken care of. The rooms we stayed in were spotless and the carpets looked brand new. It does not have all the amenities of some hotels but it suited our purpose fine since we did not spend alot of time in the room anyway. The management more than accommodating with getting us the exact type and proximity of rooms we requested. All of the staff was very friendly. This is the 3rd year in a row we have stayed at this hotel for the same event in June and we have been pleased with our stay every time. Georgio the manager is the best!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

BEWARE, there is an active infestation at this motel. One of my travel companions was bitten several times overnight. She found blood on the sheets, bites on her arm and shoulder, and upon pulling the sheets back found live bugs on the mattress.

My previous experience with this motel was very positive, but after this experience I will never return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

If you're going to Cedar Point, and don't require more than a place to sleep and change you're clothes, this is the place. It's an older property, but is well maintained. The breakfast they offer is nice, and the proprietor will cook your waffles for you, with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our two teenagers because of it's proximity to Cedar Point - all I can say is that after staying in this hotel - we came home with bed bugs - should have known not to put the suitcases on the floor - pay a little extra and stay in a hotel with clean beds. It cost us nearly $1600 to have the bed bugs removed from our home after our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsparks1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We went to Cedar Point for two days, and stayed at this hotel for three. The Hotel was a lot nicer than expected. The rooms were clean, nice, and nothing to complain about. The Owner of the hotel was one of the nicest people you will ever meet. The breakfast was decent. The cool part was the Make you rown waffle maker. The only part I had to complain about was the size of the eating area for breakfast and the pool. Either than that it was a good hotel. It was a cheap price for good value!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewherridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The employees were all really nice, but the hotel definitely needs updates. It was kind of expensive to stay there for the quality of the hotel. No coffee pot, microwave or fridge. Breakfast was pretty good. Don't think we will be staying again unless we don't have a lot of choices. The a/c was off when we got to our room and our room had an odor to it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleshaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.4 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cedar Point

Address: 1904 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $88 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cedar Point 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Cedar Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cedar Point Hotel Sandusky
Econolodge Cedar Point
Econo Lodge Sandusky
Sandusky Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cedar Point Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing