We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best French onion soup I've tasted outside of France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zinc Brasserie

Zinc Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 180 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best French onion soup I've tasted outside of France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Myself and seven others had dinner here as an alternative to the Kalahari resort where we were staying to see what Sandusky town was like. We picked this based on a tip from a barman in the Sandusky Mall and we weren't disappointed.

There doesn't seem to be a lot of restaurants in Sandusky but I'd happily go back here again. It is a restaurant based around French cuisine and the French onion soup is well worth a try, and my colleagues all enjoyed the lobster bisque.

Overall service was very good, relaxed and friendly and we stayed quite a while and we're put another no pressure to move on even though the restaurant was busy. There is also a large beer and wine menu.

I would definitely recommend to people who enjoy French cuisine

Helpful?
Thank Corkman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    23
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent restaurant for that special occasion or just Saturday night out with your friends! Great selection of wines and liquors, appetizers, and deserts. Loved everything! Also our server was very nice and knowledgeable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nursee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If only I lived closer….”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

If I lived in the area this would be my number one go to restaurant for any occasion. When I am in town for the races at Summit Motorsports Park I never miss an opportunity for a dinner or two or three at Zinc. I have never been disappointed in the quality cuisine, wine menu and service. Two nights ago I started with an appetizer of roasted oysters and finished up with the most delectable cioppino I have ever had the pleasure of devouring. I am heading back tonight and looking forward to whatever surprises they may have on the menu for the night because I know it will all be exceptional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This lovely restaurant is my favorite "go to" when in Sandusky. Service is top notch, and I have never ever had a bad meal. And if you ever have the opportunity, make a reservation for one of their wine dinners...always A-1. You cannot go wrong in choosing this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over Priced Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

New place that moved from the old location. Nicely remodeled, but way over priced. Especially the drinks. OMG.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Zinc Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing