We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't give in to the location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed July 9, 2004

This hotel is awful! We paid $90 for a tiny room and a towel rack that was ripped out of the wall and left lying on the bathroom floor! The room felt dirty and unkept. Although this motel is conveniently located near the causeway, the room was not worth even half the money we paid for the convenience. Stay somewhere else, there are many motels and hotels just as convenient to Cedar Point that I'm sure are in way better condition and more well-maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance staff was notified of the broken towel rack in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 305 of 305 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Gastonia N.C.
16
Reviewed June 12, 2004

We stayed 3 nights $125 total. We booked directly through HOJO. This is an older hotel now under the HOJO banner. The location was great, directly in front of Cedar Point entrance. The new owners were courteous and friendly. They had just taken over the motel. During our continental breakfast we needed more spoons and the owner took me to a huge room with boxes and boxes of spoons, plates, condiments, microwave ovens etc. He said they were upgrading all of the rooms. We enjoyed our stay there. The room was clean and the staff friendly. Our room even had an iron/ ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker with free coffee packs every day, free access to the ice maker (I used it a lot), a continental breakfast every morning, and even a private safe in our room to store valuables. If you want to spend $100-$300 per night and must have room service this is not the place for you, but if you want a clean room at a good price with a courteous staff and a great location next to Cedar Point I highly recommend!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2003

We stayed here on Memorial Day Weekend and paid $90.....the biggest rip off ever! The staff was rude, they didn't allow me to us AAA discount after checking in and the rooms were gross!

4  Thank Tina2899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Staff members received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

2) The matter of your not getting your AAA discount is being looked into.

3) Housekeeping staff received additional training regarding the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2003

This hotel was an old hotel that is now a HoJo. Outside corridors -- rooms very old and desperately need to be redone. Sheets were clean, but that was the only thing in the room!! Right outside main park entrance - very good location, but would not stay here again!!!!!

4  Thank Anne3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that the location was a good one for you.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pierrej042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appu P, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.4 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Address: 1932 Cleveland Rd, US 6 and Cedar Point Causeway, Sandusky, OH 44870-4307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $51 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Cedar Point Entrance! We are the closest hotel to Cedar Point (opposite of the entrance). We are a hotel that is family friendly with spacious rooms, outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, free WIFI, free parking and much more! Our staff is here to ensure your stay is of satisfactory and that you enjoy our services and room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Howard Johnson Sandusky
Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing