We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel/Camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Motel/Camping”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great little Motel in a Fabulious location. Camping for us is Motel camping
As we drove up to the Motel We could tell it was a average Motel and it was.
Hot water 5/5
Clean bed 4/5
Bed was soft
Clean room 3/5
Drive up to room 1/5 Ask for a pool view we looked at the Comfort inn from our side
Blow dryer - yes
fridge - nope ...web site says it does but only 5 rooms have bring your cooler
Liquor store across street- no
grocery store across st.-no
Breakfast we went to Diannas twice great breakfast
Wi-Fi -yes
price 4/5
Continental breakfast....nothing left at 9 am
We spent the Day on Putin Bay island so this hotel was ok to stay on the mainland
Next time we will stay on the Island.
Hint-Take the Jet boat and reserve your tickets the evening before

Room Tip: ASk for a pool view room and bring your cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    69
    58
    88
See reviews for
142
53
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

i was i little worried based on the previous reviews. let me say the staff was friendly the rooms where spacious microwave/iron/fridge/safe in both rooms I got breakfast was decent cerea, toast, oatmeal, doughnuts, coffee, milk,orang &apple juice good for what u pay for. the pool had a bit to much shock n water was salty but we could deal with it.

oh the train people mention is exaggerated didnt keep us up n we stood on side of tracks!

staying there again in october Cedarpoint!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fnc611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I realize now that you get what you pay for, I planned a last minute weekend to cedar point. Got to the hotel after my 4 hour drive to meet unfriendly receptionists, only to get to the room. Not only was it extremely small, it smelled like mold. The air was so loud and when i looked at the filter it looked like it had NEVER been cleaned. Who knows if the sheets were clean on the rock hard bed. But when i walked into the bathroom, the walls were covered with mold, and the toilet was stained, and we had a quarter of a roll of toilet paper. Not even a new roll? Only one of our lights worked. The vanity light had to been turned on, off, then on again to work. The cable was fuzzy on every channel. We ordered in a night, so obviously garbage was accumulated, so the next day when the maid knocked on our door, she asked what we needed (towels and toilet paper) she handed us 2 towels, no wash clothes or hand towels, and toilet paper. They did not come in to make our beds when we left or take out the garbage! It was horrible. not to mention the pool was disgusting and dirty. Next time i plan a last minute trip i know now to just spend more money on a much better hotel. VERY disappointed. However, it was very close to our destination, but that is all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Cedar Point for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which is to treat you, our valued guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. They also received instruction on having the rooms properly supplied with toilet papers towels etc before releasing them as ready for occupancy.

• Staff members received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Cedar Point. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Crown Point, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place was gross. Granted we were trying to go on the cheaper side for this trip, the conditions of this hotel were appalling. I’ve stayed in better hotels in 3rd world countries. When we entered the room it smelled of mildew and the air conditioning was on full blast and frigid. We put our things down and looked around. Food splatters all over the front of the dresser, the bathroom sink counter was all wet for some reason and the mirror was dirty (as if someone had cleaned it with lotion). The worst is the bathroom though. The toilet was on a different set of tiles that were not secured to the floor so when you stepped on them, you were unsure if the floor was safe to walk on and the toilet had a fairly large puddle around it at the base from a leak. We booked and paid for 2 nights through priceline and the hotel said they would not break our reservation for the 2nd night because we booked through a 3rd party. So, we called priceline and requested their assistance. They made it clear that it was at the hotel’s discretion whether or not we get a refund for breaking the reservation. When priceline tried to help us with this, the hotel still refused and said they would move us to a different room. The wi-fi never worked during our entire stay (and surely didn’t improve by changing rooms). And the new room, although not as disgusting as the first, wasn’t comfortable and dirty towels were left in the bathroom from the previous stay. The continental breakfast consisted of donuts and cereal. No fruit. To me, if a customer is that upset with the conditions of your hotel and your inability to provide amenities listed on your website, you should break their reservation at their request. Moving them to another crappy room just makes them angrier and doesn’t help the review I had already planned to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenitaMychele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Cedar Point for your recent stay in our area and for giving us a review. We very much appreciate it as it can go a long way in improving our services.

Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken by us.

• The staff working at the front desk received additional training in the courteous manner in which you, our valued guest, are to be treated.

• We have taken committed steps to ensure a high level of maintenance, cleanliness and hygiene of the rooms, which should match our guest expectations.

• Management has been suggested about a system being set up so that our valued guests could be serviced with the items for which they ask.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will appreciate our efforts and once again choose our hotel and see the change. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly satisfied with our actions.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The lobby was clean so I assumed the rooms would also be which it was the towels were dirty there were bugs crawling around! It was horrible I would never go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msstuckup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Park N. Entrance for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. They also received additional instruction in keeping the rooms properly stocked.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of bedbugs in the first room assigned to you and instructed to look into any needed extermination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Park N. Entrance. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This motel is the dirtiest, most disgusting place I have ever set foot in. We arrived late on day one of what was supposed to be a two-day stay. If it hadn't been so late I would have left right then and booked a room at a better hotel. There were gnats, mosquitos, and spiders in the room. The carpet looked so disgusting that we didn't dare to take off our shoes.

We did manage to sleep (with the lights on) until it was time to go to the park in the morning. The safe in the room didn't work so we took all our valuables with us to the park. I am glad we did, because upon returning to our room after being gone all day we found our door wide open. Apparently, houskeeping had broken the lock and decided not to tell anyone about it.

We checked out that night and found another place to stay. After arguing with the hotel staff and Expedia for more than an hour, the hotel would only refund a single night of our charges.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Park N. Entrance for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. They also received additional instruction in keeping the rooms properly stocked.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of gnats, mosquitos, and spiders in the first room assigned to you and instructed to look into any needed extermination.

• Management were notified of the problem you experienced. The situation is being looked into.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Park N. Entrance. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitchfield, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a good basic hotel for the money. Right outside Cedar Point. It is harder to get closer to Cedar Point with out staying at Cedar Point! Right across from the "Thirsty Pony" and bowling at night.

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. Non-smoking. Everything was clean. They even gave us additional shampoos at no cost. There were a couple little flying ant things in the bathroom but NO BEDBUGS thank God. Our family did get budbugs staying at another hotel in Sandusky 2 years ago-- so believe me, I looked.

They even have a little continental breakfast in the morning. Not great, but good for the price. Mostly cereal and some juice. It would have been nice to have a bite of fruit or a bagel with cream cheese, but that's just me.

Bottom line.... good for the price and I plan on staying there again this year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.3 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance
Address: 1932 Cleveland Rd, US 6 and Cedar Point Causeway, Sandusky, OH 44870-4307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Howard Johnson Inn Sandusky Cedar Point Entrance! We are the closest hotel to Cedar Point (opposite of the entrance). We are a hotel that is family friendly with spacious rooms, outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, free WIFI, free parking and much more! Our staff is here to ensure your stay is of satisfactory and that you enjoy our services and room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Howard Johnson Sandusky
Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing