We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    69
    75
    43
    52
See reviews for
128
70
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

At check in, we were told that our room did not have a fridge or micro like there website said. I brought the official days inn website on my phone and showed her, but she still denied that it was there website. We needed a fridge for our daughters meds.

As we entered the room, it stunk a really strong deodorizor smell. I called the front desk to ask for another room, but they never picked up the phone. So I walked back down to the front desk, only to find a line of people waiting to check in. At this point we were tired and just wanted to sleep, so we had to bear with it. I did mention it at check out, but the desk clerk just shrugged it off and did not say a word.

The rooms were outdated as well. The tv was a old tube tv with a big purple blotch on the screen when you turned it on.

I would not recommend this hotel, nor will I be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hothitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here in August when traveling with a friend's family. They chose this venue. I would choose elsewhere if returning to this area. The cost was $65/night.

Check-in/Check-out: The front desk receptionist was very friendly. We were there for two nights. The morning of our departure, the staff knocked on my door three times to see if someone was in the room. They knocked at 8:30 am, 9:00 am, and once again before 10:00 am. Check-out was not until 11 am.

Room/Bathroom: The bathroom was simple but immaculate; I was pleased with that. Regretfully, the room was beyond musty. If you choose to stay here, pack Lysol and an odor eliminating candle. When I entered the room, the air conditioning was on full blast which should have been my first hint.

Free Breakfast: The children in the group loved the breakfast of powdered donuts, packets of flavored oatmeal, waffles, and juice. The adults were not so impressed. BUT for only $65/night, it was a courtesy for the Days Inn to provide anything.

Fitness: There's no fitness center, but the hotel is on a main street that made it easy to run outdoors.

Location: It took a blink of an eye to reach Cedar Point, Soak City, and the African Safari from the Days Inn.

Room Tip: The king rooms have outdoor access (motel-like) while the double rooms are enclosed with a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Take_Me_There_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was not only disgusting, it was a joke! First off, we requested a non smoking room (and booked our rooms over a month in advance) but when we arrived at check in time, they only had smoking rooms available.

The rooms smelt terrible. In every corner of the room there were spider webs full of bugs, and on our wall it looked like someone has squished an ear wig - and didn't clean it up!

Our sheets had stains on them, the pillows were rock hard, the bathroom door had a hole that looked like someone punched it, and our blow dryer didn't work.

The free breakfast was a joke; there was no order to it. Families would be standing there taking all of the food, and using the waffle maker for +10 minutes... they were even putting food in their purses and pockets!

We spoke to the manager about our problems and all he said was "thank-you" and walked away.

TERRIBLE experience at the Days Inn.. we paid $99 and even that was WAY too much. Do not choose this hotel because it is close to Cedar Point, that's what we did and we regret it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved this little hotel. We were visiting Sandusky to go to Cedar Point. It was comfortable, quiet, clean and the hotel staff was very courteous.

We decided to take a break at Cedar Point because of the heat and it was so nice to come back to the pool at the hotel. The courtyard was also very cute and quaint. Breakfast was nice too.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it was an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reeselizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The staff was wonderful, the rooms looked very nice and they were high quality, This was more than I expected, the bathroom was clean and had a nice shower. The lobby looked so cool and nice, we stayed there 2 nights, if we go to Cedar Point again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.7 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#15 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky

Property: Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Address: 1530 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites
Days Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Best Western
Best Western Sandusky
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing