We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterpark nice but hotel was less than desirable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Sands Indoor Waterpark

Maui Sands Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #13 of 37 things to do in Sandusky
Attraction details
Akron, Ohio
1 review
“Waterpark nice but hotel was less than desirable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The waterpark was nice, we really enjoyed this part of our stay. Our room was dirty (hair on the toilet and sink). They were unsure how to check me in, the process took 15 minutes. We went to the front desk 2 different times and the staff behind counter wouldn't even recognize us for several minutes. No towels in the waterpark are and they didn't have clean towels at the front desk. This hotel is the old holiday inn holidome- they clearly spent their money to build the waterpark and did a crummy job on the rooms. Hot breakfast was included but tables were dirty. Next time we will spend the extra money on Great Wolf Lodge.

Helpful?
Thank familytraveltogethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    29
    15
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lack of proper management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I tried to check in at 3:50 pm, they made me go to back of line to wait because it was not 4, I had to wait an additional 45 mins, the bathroom door did not latch or close fully and there was mold on bottom of curtain, Because they allow food in waterpark area, there was food all over the ground, had to watch were you stepped, and when you did order food, pizza or fries, etc- it was a 30-45 min wait for anything. Place was totally mismanaged!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Smaller alternative to Kalahari”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Much smaller waterpark than Kalahari, which we found more manageable with small kids. The rooms were OK - very small, but the kids loved the nook with bunk beds. Food options were somewhat of a bust - we ate dinner at a local Applebee's because the dining area was very, very small. There is a free breakfast buffet but be aware that there are large crowds and limited seating. Overall, the hotel and waterpark were reasonable for the cost of one night's stay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank klar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Water park great, hotel, not so much.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Despite high chlorine levels, the water park experience is quite good for the money (there are groupon deals, etc. out there), but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. With better staffing and attention to detail, cleanliness and preparation, it could be really nice. If you get a great deal, great...but don't pay a lot. Def. check out Great Wolf first.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos, Ecuador
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Doc and all the crew at Maui Sands did a great job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Room was big and clean, Pool was big and clean, Slides were great fun we hit them several times and I'm over 40. Teenage son had a great time though the place is more for younger kids. Lots of places to eat near by. Hotel rooms open at 4PM but either be early and start using the pool or check in after 5pm the check in line was very very long....Staff was handing out pizza for those in line.
We had a good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Sands Indoor Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Maui Sands Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing