We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group camping”
Review of Camp Sandusky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camp Sandusky
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great group camping”
Reviewed January 13, 2006

I took my youth group to Camp Sandusky last year and I just booked my reservation for this year. The cabins were perfect for my teens. The breakfast exceeded all expectations. The pool was a little cloudy when we checked in, but someone was working on it and it was clear by the following day.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank upsman246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    26
    21
    33
See reviews for
95
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 5, 2006

The campground had the best pancakes I ever had! We had their breakfast. They gave us all we could eat.
We had a fun time, our site was shaded. The office people were helpful, told us about some places to go besides Cedar Point. Then when we went to Cedar Point, it was so quick and and convenient a drive to Cedar Point. We are planning our next trip to Sandusky and Cedar Point and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2005

I usually camp at a State Park when I am in Sandusky to visit Cedar Point. I took three of my good friends for a "ladies weekend". I thought we might have a nicer camping experience at a private campground. The bathrooms/showers were dirty. The shower curtains all had mold and mildew on them. The bathrooms did not appear to be attended at all during our entire stay.
The campsites were ok, but they were quite small. Our site was the smallest pull through I have ever encountered in over 5 years of camping.
I emailed them and told them of my disappointment, but they never responded in any way.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, MO
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2005

They have a nice facility but security is extremely lacking. We were with them July 7th, 8th, and 9th 2005. I did notice that in those three nights I went through your entrance at least 4 times after hours and only once was anyone around to see if I had a tag in my window.

The night of the 8th, it was getting a little noisy after quiet hours had begun but tolerable.

Then night of the 9th was horrible. The drinking, then noise, the dope smoking near the bathrooms made it impossible for my wife or teenage daughters to go to the bathroom without a group going.

I counted no less than 17 cars that did not have tags in their windows. I understand that the police were called but apparently they do nothing, or they give them no authority to do anything.

We go to Cedar Point every year for the last 4 years and have stayed with the competition but decided to give them a try. I can say that I don't feel we will be able to return given their security issues.

I posted this for those who think they are entering a "family" campsite and potentially are not. I saw nothing that would indicate this was a isolated incident.

Helpful?
8 Thank pgrunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
5.2 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
4.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
4.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
361 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
5.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Sandusky

Property: Camp Sandusky
Address: 3518 Tiffin Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870-8397 (Formerly Traveland's Camp Sandusky)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camp Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Camp Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveland`s Camp Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Camp Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing