We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time there!!!”
Review of Camp Sandusky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Sandusky
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good time there!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a good exspericence here at camp. Its simple and good for kids to get away. I like the fact the you can go to Cedar Point and come back there and and camp stay is afforable. i will say that this is good simple place and located around all the amenties of amusment parks and indoor water parks surronding

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    26
    20
    31
See reviews for
90
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our first experience at camping. We stayed in a Amish style cabin with a bunk bed and a full size bed which was perfect for our family of four. The pool was heated and the playground was great for our kids. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere even though it is right off the highway. Close to lots of things to do besides Cedar Point. We are planning on spending a couple weekend here again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a great time. Our cabin was close to the pool, general store and not too far from the bathrooms. Everything was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We did have a cabin with a/c but we didn't use it because the temperature was comfortable. My kids enjoyed the pool and the playground. We were very close to activities in Sandusky, including the ferry to go over to the islands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we recently stayed here for 4 nights on a trip to cedar point. we loved our tent site! when we got rained out after 2 nights, the pleasant lady in office upgraded us to a cabin for $10, and gave us plenty of time to wait the rain out and move. we were close to cedar point at a very affordable rate. the store was open late and had everything we needed-ice, firewood, and smores! the pool was nice, the pancake breakfast was conveniant and good, and everyone was so friendly! we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank liamsmom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed in a 4-person, non-A/C pet cabin for 2-days over the Labor Day weekend. Just the two of us, but used the Groupon for one night, then paid the regular rate for the second. First off, you need to know that the cabins outline the entire front and side entrance of the camp, flanking Tiffin Ave. and Ohio Hwy 2 (major highway). If you have a tow-in or RV camper, you're fine as the parking is away from towards the left side of the camp entrance, where it's probably quieter.

But the pet-friendly cabins are in the worst spots: In the corner where one exits off of Hwy 2 to Tiffin Ave. Probably about 30 feet from the highway--which isn't too bad at night when you're exhausted, but you're gonna get a bad wake-up call around 4-5am from all the 18-wheelers driving their delivery routes. But that was my fault for not looking up the directions when booking and asking for a spot away from the major highway. Also, since the area is so crammed with cabins, you (technically) can't park your car at the campsite. You're supposed to park it up at the front of the park area. But those with small cars were able to squeeze it in, or park across in an empty pitch-tent area if available.

Other than that, the cabins were fairly nice and clean, with both a grill stand, a fire pit, and a outside table at each cabin. The cabins inside temperature was pretty cool for us, so we didn't need a fan (which I noticed you could either buy/rent up at the front desk). Staff and cabin/pitch-tent neighbors were friendly and chatty. Weekend unlimited pancake mornings are nice; bland but filling pancakes and sausage patties for $4 (which we paid with the Groupon deal). But drinks like coffee, juice, milk, etc were extra (like a $1 or $1.50). So remember to bring extra cash at breakfast time.

As another option, there's a gas station and McDonald's literally across the street from the establishment.

Also, keep in mind that this place is closer to all of the Sandusky attractions like Cedar Point, the Pier fishing areas, the downtown Sandusky areas, etc. I think no more than 10 min or so. We noticed the camp grounds well-kept and neat, and many of the kids took advantage of the pool area up in the front. The staff even drove around the grounds often making sure everything was safe, and that not one group was too rowdy.

Room Tip: Cabin/pitch tent: request one closest to the front office, which is furthest away from the major hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajaa957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're used to more space and nature while camping, this probably ain't a good fit. But if you want a cheap place to stay with your family that has a nice staff, this is the place to go. I was greeted and shown to a campsite after driving in at 1:30 a.m. - no problem - and the site was clean and well polished. Still, at the peak of the summer, the place was littered with families with small children and, as such, the bathroom looked it was dragged through the bowels of hell.

Again, though, I was with my girlfriend, not my family. The swimming pool, playgrounds and petting zoos would have been a nice touch, had I brought children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Camp Sandusky. We knew we were going to arrive late. The campground office left us a packet with the key and map to our cabin. We chose the 4 person and no A/C cabin in realty it only slept 3 people comfortably. We told we had a bunk bed and a queen bed which was a full sized bed. We worried that the cabin would be to hot so we brought a window fan. The cabin was reasonably cool without the fan. We understood that the bathroom/showers were very close to our cabin but that isn't what we experienced. We encountered spiders and other bugs in the shower/bathroom which we understood because of the proximity to the lake. The bathroom/shower needed attention because there was BM (poop) smeared on the walls. I went to the office in the morning to officially register. A lady in front of me was informing the office that the bathroom needed attention. The office attendant said he just came back from cleaning the bathroom however, that was not true because I had just came from the bathroom. We were told that there was a table and chairs but that isn't what we got, there was A bench to sit on. All in all if you have a Groupon and only paid about $25.00/night and your not going to be hanging out in the campground then this is a good deal! If not, we would not stay here again. Sorry Camp Sandusky!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
5.2 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
5.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
279 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sandusky KOA campground
Sandusky KOA campground
#5 of 5 in Sandusky
163 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
4.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Sandusky

Property: Camp Sandusky
Address: 3518 Tiffin Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870-8397 (Formerly Traveland's Camp Sandusky)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camp Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camp Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveland`s Camp Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Camp Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing