We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo Disappointed”
Review of Camp Sandusky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camp Sandusky
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sooo Disappointed”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I recommend you NOT stay here. First of all, I requested a camp site. I was assuming that we would have at least a little privacy. No, there were people crammed in tiny area's. It was more like an overcrowded field with some trees on it. Secondly, we had a sight on 2 roads that had constant traffic and headlights bothering us all evening. Next, they failed to tell us that we were nearly surrounded by huge RV's. Those things are very noisy if you are trying to sleep and these things are coming and going. Next, they have no rules about noise so I was listening to bikers come and go all night (on top of the cars and RV's) which drove about 5 feet away from my tent.

I chose this place because they made it seem like a real camp site when in actuality, it is a field with some trees. I would have rather spent my money on a hotel. I spent all day at Cedar Point and when the park closed, all I wanted was to sit by the fire for a little bit and go to sleep. I actually only got 2 hours of sleep due to all the above.

They said that we would get a complimentary pancake breakfast but they were actually charging per their sign so I didn't even get breakfast.

DO NOT STAY HERE. IT IS A RIP OFF! GO FIND AN ACTUAL CAMP SITE INSTEAD OF THIS RV PARK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    26
    21
    33
See reviews for
95
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I read the worst 15 reviews and the best 15 reviews. So I was very nervous before setting out on our trip. I am happy to report that this place is amazing! You have to remeber you are camping or cabining at a camp ground. The cabins are not luxury cabins they are pretty much a place to rest your head. The camp sites are what what you make of them. We had a wonderful time. My 3 year old son can't wait to go again and hasn't stopped talking about the place. Total we were 5 Adults and 2 little boys and we all had a wicked time. Check out our pics.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANTONIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We have camped here several times when visiting near by Cedar Point. This time we had no reservations until the day of arrival, actually hours before...no problem they got us all set. Then we ended up leaving a day early they had no problem crediting us for unused day at last minute. Great place will visit again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 623miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visit Camp Sandusky every year since 2009 in May, and make our way to Cedar Point. They are always friendly, helpful and accommodating. We do not notice the highway traffic! Bathrooms are always tidy! I look forward to going ever year. And if for some reason you are not interested in their Pancake Breakfast, McDonalds is just across the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you like spiders this is the place for you, they are under the mattresses! The cabins should be sprayed around the inside and out before people get there. Lift the matresses and kill all the spiders and spray insecticide when you get there.
The people that work there were not very helpful, several people left because they would not sleep with large spiders.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Snickers50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a spur of the moment trip and it was a excellent stay as always. The people are all friendly and willing to help. Bathrooms were clean and the all you can eat pancakes were great. Family friendly and we will def stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked a site here to be close to Cedar Point. Got that!
We knew it was near a major road and there would be noise. Got that!
We hoped the staff/owners would be friendly and the facilities kept up. Got that!
We expected a clean site and a quiet night's sleep...um, didn't get that.

We tent camped here in August 2012 on one of the sites near the front of the campground which had water & electric.

As far as proximity to CPoint this place is quite convenient. But, if you are looking for more a of a "wilderness" feel, this might not be your place. Although there are trees, the McDonald's sign from across the street can be seen from pretty much all over the campground, giving it a very interesting tone. The place is LOUD, in so many ways. It is bordered by Rte 2 on one side and Rte 101 on another. We are city folk and even WE thought the traffic noises were annoying. Or maybe we just have better mufflers where we live? lol

Then there were the people. We stayed 4 weekday nights and every night there was either a party or a fight... or both. Thank goodness we brought earplugs.

Our site was gross. There was a pile of soggy cereal right in front of where we pitched our tent (which I though at first was vomit) and cigarette butts everywhere. Walking to the bathroom I saw similar things on other sites, but I'm not sure this reflects on the staff as much as the slobs that made these messes, because I did see staff cleaning the grounds several times.

A slight sewage smell would waft by our site on occasion. Not sure what that was all about.

There were a lot of spiders in the bathroom, but not nests of them. And they pretty much stayed up high. The bathrooms were clean and the showers good.

One pool was open and it was fine. The bunny "farm" was basically a bunch of little rabbits in a pen for kids to pet.

The pancake breakfast was a nice option if you didn't feel like cooking. The staff was super friendly, both at the breakfast and in the office. They were such nice people that I added a third star to my review :)

Room Tip: Get a site/cabin away from the roads if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadpeops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
5.2 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
4.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
4.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
361 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
5.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Sandusky

Property: Camp Sandusky
Address: 3518 Tiffin Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870-8397 (Formerly Traveland's Camp Sandusky)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camp Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Camp Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveland`s Camp Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Camp Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing