We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are Camping-- Not in a 5 star hotel! ..we loved it.”
Review of Camp Sandusky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Sandusky
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is great. I came here as a kid, then I came here with my fiance this past week. For all the negative reviews and the people reading them.. if you are not an outdoors person, maybe it isn't for you, it IS a campground, not a hotel. Our cabin was clean. It had AC. YES it was small, but what did you expect? We spent most of our time outside anyway, enjoying the firepit, the food, drinks, and games. We met great people. We stayed 4 nights. Bring a towel and all your bathroom things. They aren't going to have it for you (remember, this isn't a hotel). There are benches to place your things and a shelf in the shower stalls as well. There is HOT water :). Bring flashlights, you are camping.

I wouldn't come here if you aren't coming for the camping experience. However, if you are, this place is convenient, reasonably priced, and clean. The staff was friendly. If they "yelled" at your kids for being in the pool alone, you probably should have been with them. They were looking out for their safety. They DO come around a few times at night to check on everyone ( we would know, we were outside all night)

Its not your hotel with big comfy beds, pillows, jacuzzis.. whatever, but it is a great camping experience, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for the AC rooms. Bring a cooler with you for frozen foods and keep it iced with ice from the cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family recently stayed one night at Camp Sandusky after a LONG day at Cedar Point. We got a good deal from JB Dollar and spent about $50 for an air conditioned cabin. The cabin itself is small, One set of bunk beds and a double, but clean and the air conditioner cooled it off quickly. You bring your own bedding and linens. Showers are a short walk, and were typical campground set up. They were clean and had hot water. There is a picnic table and fire ring outside the cabin if you would like some campfire time. Didn't really feel like camping to me since you can see the main road and McDonald's across the street but I am used to camping in the deep woods at our hunting cabin. Check in and check out were smooth and staff was friendly. Pancake breakfast in the morning is good, but coffee not of our liking. Overall I would recommend if you are visiting the Sandusky area and don't want to pay outrageous prices just for a place to sleep for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelltnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a great experience at Camp Sandusky. Clean cabins, great playground, swimming pool and friendly staff. It was our first visit to Camp Sandusky and we will certainly return. Camp is close to Cedar Point, Animal Safari and many other attractions that I was not aware of!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyfun237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Me, & 5 others stayed at Camp Sandusky last weekend because we were traveling from New York and we went to Cedar Point ( Which is like a 10 minute drive from Camp Sandusky). I was reading the reviews a few days before we went and i admit, I was a little worried about our cabin which honestly is a shed. It's a cute little shed though. We first got to Camp Sandusky they were cleaning our cabin. McDonalds is right across the street from the camp site. Although we didn't go swimming or go visit the rabbits, from a far , they looked nice. Our cabin was small, a bunk bed, a double bed, and single bed. + We brought our own cot for the 6th person. Anyways, theres a light in the cabin, but it's not that powerful but still something. We only noticed one outlit . It rained when we stayed there, but we still used the fan( we brought it from home) , because i can't sleep without a fan. haha. We ate the pancakes they offer for $3.95 per person, they were good, and they give you a drink + a saugage. With Syrup & butter. I really don't know why the reviews were so bad. Camp Sandusky is such a nice place, maybe these people were expecting this really 5 Star BIG cabin? I don't know. But i've always been somewhat camping before.. So i guess its just your own opinion. But tips, Bring a flash light, you'll be walking to the bathrooms! Bring flip flops for the showers, Don't forget soap, towels, and shampoo & conditonor. Overall, Our Stay at Camp Sandusky was a success & we'll be coming back. Oh, and the give free wifi, which from our cabin was sort of sucky, but it was still free- wifi which you can never complain over ! Don't let the reviews scare you, And don't forget that the cabin was cheap so you pay for what you get. The beds were sort of comfortable! Just bring your own blankets, sheets, & pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the cabins when we made a weekend trip down to Cedar Point. The staff was courteous, the cabin was simple but nice, and the location was perfect for us since we spent most of our time at the amusement park. The cabins are close together but we were not bothered by either of our neighbors and a row of cabins would be perfect for big groups going to Cedar Point. There are lots of spots available and although we did not use many, there were many amenities for campers staying on location. We would definitely stay at this location again for visiting Cedar Point.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camper1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our second stay at Camp Sandusky. We had 9 of the cabins for our group. Since its a camp ground, the cabins are what you would expect. There were 4 beds in each of them. Not much else to them. The bathroom was clean every time I went in. And there was hot water. Breakfast is great too for the price. Less you have to worry about. It is also close to Cedar Point.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank the4wykles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The pools were disgusting ! There was way to much chlorine ! Bugs bugs and more bugs! The cabins were not what expected . We found condoms under our beds. Worst study ever would not suggest this to anyone !!!!!! Also our bunk bed latter was duck tapped together

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebmaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
4.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
362 reviews
5.2 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Sandusky

Address: 3518 Tiffin Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870-8397 (Formerly Traveland's Camp Sandusky)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Hotel Class:2 star — Camp Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camp Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveland`s Camp Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Camp Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing