We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds, rooms had terrible housekeeping.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Bellmore, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice grounds, rooms had terrible housekeeping.”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The water slide area was very crowded and slippery in many areas. We stayed in one of the Africian Suites with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths and kitchen, and pull out bed in the living area. On our first night we discovered there were no blankets and pillows for the pull out bed. Called housekeeping at 8PM and when we returned to the room at 10PM still no pillows or blankets, called again and was told they were overwhelmed with calls. Waited until 1AM for pillows and blankets to be deleivered they never came. Out last night of our stay, 2 bathroooms had no toilet paper, no clean towels, and no shampoo and conditioner. The room service was AWFUL.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickiyoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,662
    1,028
    418
    262
    249
See reviews for
2,539
139
5
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Myself my husband and my two children ages three and eight just recently stayed at the Kalahari in Sandusky, and I have to say that it was pretty awesome. The room was nice and neat, no bed bugs like in some reviews (thank God) and staff was very friendly. This place can cost a pretty penny but we were prepared and had a budget. The Reserve, the candy hut and other food was very tasty. The Waterpark is huge and there were so much to do but because we went during the week we rode mostly everything the lines were not longer at all the longest lines were the family rides and the wait was no longer than 20 minutes. My children just loved the wave pool which was a bit overcrowded at times but there were plenty of lifeguards. This place was like another world, I didn't want to leave and is definately coming back. I know the kids loved it because they were sad to leave. The only complaint i will express is that this place is raking in major dough so i believe that a little tlc on the resort could be needed. Or better yet just allow the people staying at the resort enjoy the waterpark, it would be alot better

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teemarie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Very good service, really good water park ,nice gift shop,good prices.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43210000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We were amazed by the size of the water park and especially enjoyed being able to sit outside. The grounds were clean and staff was nice. Rooms are fairly large, but average in decor and amenities, but then you are not there for the room. The breakfast buffet was very good - a lot of entrees and choices. We also hit up the candy/dessert shop at night and everything was tasty.
The only negative is it's a long walk to the parking lot and it's amazing the congestion around check-out time. All in all, a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhutjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triforcekt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The Kalahari resort is like a landlocked cruise ship. There is so much to do, see, and eat right in the resort that you don't need to really leave at all. We stayed at the hotel for one night and spent the entire day that we checked out at the water park, and overall had a really great time. I loved that the hotel let us choose to use our water park admission either on our check-in or check-out day.

We stayed in the smallest room type but it was very spacious; the ceilings were high and there was a sofa bed, a flat-screen TV, and a working gas fireplace. The decor was beautiful. My only complaint about the rooms were that the beds were not comfortable--saggy mattress, hard pillows, cheap bedding. For this price, much better beds are expected.

My favorite part of the Kalahari was the restaurants. We ate at The Reserve, which is the more upscale among the options, but I found many affordable choices on the menu. I was impressed at the restaurant's wide selection and diverse wine list, and the food was so delicious! I also went to the coffee shop twice--loved the service there and my coffee drinks were great, too. Their pastry case was unbelievable... If I hadn't been spending a day in a bikini, I would have loved to indulge there.

We spent most of our time at the outdoor water park. Though not much more than fancy pools and water play areas, it was so much fun. The pools were cool and clean, there were plenty of chairs, and there was a DJ playing a great variety of music. The poolside bar (and their 42-oz drink special in a refillable souvenir cup) made it fun for grown-ups. There were carts full of unlimited towels--no worries about having to bring your own. And you get to watch people playing on the outdoor activities like the zip line and the rope jungle (both cost extra) while you lounge in the sun. SO much fun. I could have stayed there for days.

The indoor water park, as many have said, was humid, loud, overcrowded, and somewhat dirty. However, the rides and attractions in there are still really fun (just wear AquaSocks or something) and were worth braving the steamy air and musty smell. I second what another reviewer said about the rides being VERY difficult to find entrances to, but if you ask any of the friendly staff how to get on a particular ride, they will help you.

The arcade takes up the bottom floor of the hotel and it was also a blast, with many Dave & Buster's type games for adults who like that kind of thing. It would be hog heaven for a kid.

My complaints about the resort are these: Some of the poolside food and drink options were SUPER expensive, so sometimes it feels like they are gouging you. Also, at night after the water parks closed, the hotel was overrun with roving groups of unsupervised children and teenagers. We could not even use the exercise room because a group of teenagers were playing around on the equipment. I know it's a fun environment for teens and kids, but I wish the hotel would enforce some sort of curfew on kids running around after a certain hour.

That said, Kalahari was a pleasant surprise and a very fun experience, and I'm happy we built it in to our short vacation in the Sandusky area. I recommend saving up for at least one night's stay here and seeing all the fun they have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triforcekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We just came back from Kalahari and I would go back again! We went with our 2 teenagers. We arrived around noon and was able to get right into our room even though check in isn't until 4:00. The room was on the first floor but was very quiet. The room was clean and I saw nothing wrong with it. The indoor water park was great and there was a lot to do there. It seemed to be very clean. The lines can get long for certain attractions but nothing too bad. We did, however, go during the week instead of on the weekend. The food can be expensive but worth every bite as it is well prepared and extremely tasty. We had a great stay and would highly recommend the resort

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34lab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowlerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

If you don't mind standing in long lines waiting to get on a ride, then this park is for you! What sucks is the water park is open to all, not just the people who are paying the big bucks to stay overnight. Waterpark should be exclusive to the guests only which in my opinion would reduce the ride wait. Walkways in the water park were slimey and slick -- gross! Food was available to eat anywhere in the park which was disgusting. Food should been quaranteened to an area outside the park so you're not walking through spilled ice cream and food crumbs--yuck again! And the food and drink prices...yikes! Rent a locker cost $5 and then had to stand in line with 50 other people trying to rent one!! Wave pool kept malfunctioning.... Room was clean, but lights kept shorting out which hindered using the shower.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy201033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.4 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,386 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing