We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome water park and resort!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome water park and resort!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in late April on the weekend, what an awesome experience we had!! Booked one night and loved it so much our group decided to stay a second night. Meagan at the main front desk was amazing! Very helping in getting us a good deal and making us happy! She accommodated our somewhat difficult demands and was very pleasant and helpful! Everything about this place is amazing! Waterpark, outdoor swim up bar hot tub, food, and the rooms are all really nice! The staff was so great! We had to switch rooms the next day since we booked a different suite, and they actually had the room ready for us by noon!! They made our stay so wonderful, especially Meagan! In fact we all cant stop talking about how great it was and are already making plans to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I'm just thrilled that you & your family had such an awesome experience that you decided to add on an additional night! We are so thankful for all of your compliments on our staff, rooms, waterpark & food. In fact, I have already passed your comments onto our management team. Thank you again for taking the time to review us & we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    1,002
    407
    253
    244
See reviews for
2,474
135
5
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
360 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Spent 3 nights here for a dance competition in April. It really was a great place for both adults and kids. Obviously the kids had alot to do - the waterpark is the largest indoor one I've ever seen - but the adults had places, as well. There was an adult-only part of the waterpark and you couldn't really hear the noise around you (there's a waterfall or something, so that's all you hear).

There's a number of restaurants with pretty good food (one night was good, the other was so-so).

We had one of the larger suites with the kitchen and living room area. Great to entertain. And it was very well kept.

The conference facilities were huge and very nice. Would definitely recommend them.

The staff would always greet you or talk to you whenever you met them, which says alot about the way the place is run.

If you want to leave the resort, there's decent shopping and some chain restaurants just a mile or two up the road.

Would definitely come back here if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us & share your experiences! I'm so happy you enjoyed all areas of our resort from our beautiful guest rooms, spacious convention center, restaurants & waterpark, Kalahari is in fact America's largest indoor waterpark. I have already shared your review with our management team & we are so appreciative of your comments regarding our staff & facility. Thank you again for choosing Kalahari & I hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed for one night April 25 with four teenagers; everyone had a great time! The waterpark was awesome. Hope to come back in the summer to enjoy the outside amenities. Room was ready when we arrived at 2pm, very clean and spacious. Everyone very nice. Kids loved the slides, wave pool, arcade. Ordered room service pizza, pretty good but a little pricey, which was expected. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review & for choosing Kalahari Resorts! I'm glad that all four teenagers & you had a great time! Having a variety of attractions in the waterpark & arcade can keep teenagers busy for hours. I'm so happy that you found everything from your room to the food to be enjoyable. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This place is awesome my girlfriend's always go their now I went with my family on spring break it was the best water park/hotel I have ever been at you could have just as much fun at this water park so go today now pack your bags because every second is awesomeness

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Samantha! I'm just thrilled to know that you had such an awesome time with us during your Spring Break! We appreciate you telling everyone & taking the time to review us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to Kalahari around noon and we were greeted by Michael who was manning cars pulling up to Kalahari he was super nice and told us where we could temporarily park. He told us he would send a bellhop down to us and help up with our luggage. Quickly the bellhop Craig came down to help us and he was also very pleasant and very informative he made excellent communication and interacted with us while unloading our two cars. Craig took us inside and explained to us where we needed to go to check-in and told us he would wait down below with our belongings. We were unable to check into our rooms which we were prepared for, Craig quickly offered to store our luggage and even took our phone numbers so he could call us when our rooms were ready. (We were really impressed by this) A couple hours later Craig calls and told us our rooms were ready we were so impressed that he actually cared and followed through with his kind gesture.
Our stay was such a great time everything was top notch from Michael & Craig including our drinks at the swim up bar, to our dinner's at the Reserve. We will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelerkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I truly appreciate you passing on the the service compliments about Michael & Craig. I am thrilled that their level of service made such an impression on you! I'm also glad that you found everything from our staff to restaurants to be top notch. I hope that we have the opportunity & pleasure of having you as our guest again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our first visit to kalahari and we really enjoyed ourselves the was staff was also very friendly will definitely visit again the changing rooms/restrooms were clean food was excellent the game room was fun the kids enjoyed that area and mini glow in the dark golfing was fun as well would love to comeback in the summer to enjoy the outdoor park hopefully soon

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plookis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for deciding to give Kalahari a try! I'm happy that your children enjoyed the Big Game Room & the Mini Glow Golf. The outdoor waterpark & Safari Outdoor Adventure Park opens Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day weekend. The Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, includes 60' high zip lines, 3 level ropes course, two 32' high climbing walls, plus an animal park! I hope you'll be able to visit us again & give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have been to the Kalahari in the past and love coming here. It is great for all ages. If you can stay in one of the rooms with a kitchen they are great. When they first opened we stayed in a these suites a couple times. They have raised the price on these now to a crazy amount that is just unacceptable. This time we stayed in a Desert room I believe. It had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. The waterpark is awesome. The food prices are pretty reasonable. We are going to go back in the summer as we have not done this and the outside pool area looks pretty fun as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesvacationingx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello! Thank you for reviewing Kalahari & for choosing us time & time again for your family getaway! Combination Suites are very popular with our guests as they can easily accommodate up to 8 people. I'm so happy that everyone had an awesome time in the waterpark & that you enjoyed our dining options. We can't wait to have you back in the summer, there is so much to do in the outdoor waterpark & the Safari Outdoor Adventure Park is also a great add on it includes the zoo, zip lines, ropes course & a climbing wall! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing