We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Mattawan, Michigan
1 review
“Great family fun!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The room was absolutely gorgeous! Great value, just have to look for specials. Very clean and plenty of towels! The Candy Hut is amazing and so was the coffee! The water park has something for everyone!! Looking forward to going again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! I'm just thrilled that you enjoyed everything from your room, to the restaurants & waterpark. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    1,028
    420
    262
    250
See reviews for
2,543
139
6
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yale, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Decided to come to Kalahari for a weekend with my Mom, Daughter and son. First time ever being there. The place is beautiful. Decor is awesome. Our room was very nice, clean and plenty of room for the 4 of us. We had a desert room and the only complaint I have is that we were in the part of the hotel that was the farthest from the water park and main part of the hotel.

When we went the Water Park was very crowded so we did not end up spending alot of time in the water park as there was barely any where to set your things or sit if you wanted to get out of the pool. I think when the outside water park is open the amount of crowding may be less.

We went to the Buffet restaurant the first night. Food was pretty good, dessert buffet was huge and most of them were very good. I thought the buffet was kinda expensive though at 24.99 per person. In the morning we went to the buffet breakfast at The Reserve again the breakfast was awesome. All in all, the food was very good at all the places we went to. But everything there is kinda pricey.

Best part of the trip was they had a baby tiger and Lion there and we got to get our pictures taken with them and got to pet them. The kids were excited and so was my mom.

I would go back again but would look for a better deal on lodging and plan better for meals.

Room Tip: To be closer to the waterpark, get a hut room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Christine! Thank you for choosing Kalahari & taking the time to review us & let us know about your experiences. Spring break is a busy time & you are correct; when the outdoor watepark opens (Memorial Day weekend) it does help guests spread out more. The picture with the tiger cub is a great keepsake & I'm glad you took advantage of it. I would like to suggest checking out some of our packages, many include meals such as the Fantastic Family Getaway or the Choose Your Own Adventure. I hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a great stay at Kalahari! The water park was clean and fun, and the lines weren't too bad. I hate staying in hotels but the room was clean and well stocked. My son is 10 and went on every waterslide! The dining in the resort is so expensive, the buffet was $19.99/adult and the other restaurant had NO vegetarian options! The arcade was overpriced as well. We chose to eat out at Buffalo Wild Wings for dinner which is just down the road (and they have an awesome veggie black bean burger). Overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ands01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I'm thrilled to hear you had a great time! I'm also glad your son rode every water slide we have! I would like to suggest one of our packages the next time you come, Fantastic Family Getaway or the Choose Your Own Adventure packages include meals. We do offer vegetarian options in all of our restaurants, & I apologize that the server did not bring that to your attention. I will be sure that our Food & Beverage Director is aware. I hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great Experience, the room was incredible but the indoor waterpark was the reason for the trip. I understand we went during spring break and the wait for rides was appropriate, not that bad. The park was 100% staffed which is much better than other resorts I've stayed at in Ohio. "i.e. Cincinnati" Our food was great, we didn't leave for the 3-day visit and wouldn't change if we did it again. I recommend the "inclusive" package when you book, you won't regret it. Prices were where you would expect, arcade and golf give you plenty of dry time options, and the kids loved the animals they got to see. Everything was clean everywhere, staff very accommodating and friendly, resort is kept up, nice place.

Room Tip: Get the King suite, loved the extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review Chris! I'm so happy that you had a great experience with your room, the waterpark, food & arcade. I appreciate you recommending the packages, the Fantastic Family Getaway is popular & so is the Choose Your Own Adventure. Thank you for choosing Kalahari for your Spring Break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I came for my birthday/valentine celebration and we had a great time, our package included a $50 foodandbeverage card which was great. We ordered food and had it delivered to the room since we had our newborn with us. Im excited to come back this summer when my little boy is bigger and will be able to enjoy the waterpark area for little tots. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay great!

-The West's

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi Alisha! I'm so thrilled you have a great time & enjoyed the package that you purchased. We can't wait to have you back & for your little guy to enjoy the kiddie areas! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A pool side family pizza, $40.00 but don't count on getting your order right and after waiting 20 min you'll settle for what they give you! The Reserve Restaurant when busy may very will mess up your order, but after waiting 45 min after ordering, you'll eat what you get. Since it's a pricey menu, you'd expect more. Since we had a child on a respirator the general staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Kudos to the pool mgr. and staff. Paramedics, and front desk and housekeeping personnel! They went beyond expectations to accommodate us! Lines for the best rides; bring a waterproof book! Don't worry about the chlorine, 2 to 3 hrs after check out you'll recover.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cem11815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hello, first I would like to apologize for the delays with your dining experience. Our Food & Beverage Director would like to have more information on your dining experience, if you would please email me your info at KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com I will pass it onto him. I am very glad to hear the rest of your trip was good & you enjoyed yourself. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Visit to Kalahari with family of 5 in March 2014. First, the reason you go here is the water park. It was really loud and got seriously crowded. Lines for the best rides grew long about 90 minutes after park opened. Chlorine was in full force as eyes were burning after first hour. Food options were plentiful, however very expensive as you can imagine. Suggest stopping someplace on the way and picking up water and snacks for the room. The room we had was a suite, with three beds, plus a pull out sofa and two bathrooms. This was a really nice option for a larger family. Everyone had a place to sleep and there was not much waiting for a bathroom. Most meals ended up being quick snacks or sandwiches. Kids loved the game room and we also did a round or glo-golf (9 holes). Worth the price to get away in the winter.

Room Tip: Kitchen in the park leaves a little to be desired. Eat before swimming or just order a pizza for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi William! Thank you for taking the time to review us! I see that you visited us during Spring Break, which is a busy time. While some families do love coming during the week, I do understand that may not always be an option. One suggestion, is during the summer, the outdoor facilities and the Safari Outdoor Adventure Park do help to disburse some crowds on popular weekends. Also be sure to check out our packages that include breakfast & dinner such as the Choose Your Own Adventure. We hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
279 reviews
2.4 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,411 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing