We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the winter....??? Great idea needs some improvements.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“For the winter....??? Great idea needs some improvements.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Traveled here for the Thanksgiving holiday. Buffet was okay, not for $100. Culture dishes not available.Our table was in the drift. Bland taste to vitually everything. Temperatures were cold except in your room and hot tub. The water ride outlet water was freezing for most of the rides. Adult drinks too high with no evidence of alcohol in them. Need more options for smokers in the winter. A heated booth might be nice. It is not illegal. I LOVE Sandusky's vibe and people. Rooms were cool. Beds are soft and clean. Blow-dryer is awesome. Everyone was nice, kind, and helpful. I maybe consider a one day summer trip, but winter not unless they get the temperature regulated and the food seasoned.

Room Tip: Try to book a room over or near the waterpark. Less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellow25ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We're excited that you were able to come visit us for Thanksgiving. I am sorry to hear that you were not blown away by the Holiday Buffet. Most people love it so I will be sure to share your thoughts and make improvements for next year. Likewise, I will pass along your thoughts on the temperature. We can certainly make adjustments there. We appreciate the feedback so that we make be able to make your trip perfect for next time. Thank you for your time and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    1,014
    414
    258
    247
See reviews for
2,509
137
5
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Upon arriving at Kalahari we were greeted by the very enthusiastic Todd. Check in was quick and gave us all the needed information. We have stayed at Kalahari for the past 6 years for a night or two right before Thanksgiving and have always had great service. This year though they seemed to really step it up. From the maintenance who arrived in 5 minutes to help with a TV that wouldn't turn on, to the in room pizza delivery to the young man helping kids ride the Flowrider. It was an awesome time for the 6 of us. We did the Create Your Own Adventure and upgraded our room to the African Queen Suite. Best room for a group of adults and kids. Everyone has a little extra space and plenty of beds. We will definitely be back again next year!

Room Tip: The African Queen Suite is great for families - especially if you have more than 1 family traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We just love it! Thank you so much for visiting time and again. Certainly our pleasure to have you! I would love the opportunity to learn a little bit more about your stay. If you wouldn't mind emailing me your contact info to KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com, I would love to get a little extra info about those great instance you encountered and share with our team. We love the feedback and certainly love having you as our guest year after year. Hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nappanee, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The resort is fantastic - rooms are necessarily elegant but you aren't there for the rooms when with kids. You are there for the park and activities. The indoor waterpark is best we've been too. Our kids are 3 & 6 and there was ample places for them to be for a 2 night stay. Highly recommend visiting during the week (we stayed Sun night to Tuesday noon) and had minimal wait if any for slides. The flip side is that due to the resort not being very full some slides were closed and some activities were not present which was a bit disappointing. We were given free cookies due to the cookie decorating not taken place even though website says every day in November there will be cookie decorating for kids. The kids really enjoyed the tree top dry play area just be sure to take socks and if your kid is small you'll have to be in there as well with socks. Would for sure recommend and hope to return. Just remember if you visit for a weekend you'll get more activities but much longer lines and crowds. Breakfast buffet was good and dinner at reserve was good as well. The pizza is hand tossed and baked to order and was good.

Room Tip: you most likely will have to walk a ways from wherever you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDW_3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Overall, it sounds like you had a great trip! So wonderful to hear! Thank you for sharing. My favorite time is during the week too when you can have your run of the place. I'm glad that we were able to at least get you some cookies. I am sorry that they missed out on decorating their own. Hopefully when you return it works out. Thank you for letting us know. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Upon arriving we were greeted by the ever so friendly Herb the bellhop who graciously offered information regarding dining, the best rides and other fun things to do at the resort as well as entertaining my children with a few jokes. It was a great way to start our wonderful night's stay at the resort! Great Job Herb!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The family and I recently stayed at Kalahari. I felt like I was a kid again! The place has a great energy to it. I was very impressed with the staff. They were very helpful and kind. My daughters had a blast at the Waterpark. The only downside are the towels. They are quite small and you need a few to dry yourself off. The rooms were top notch. We had two queen beds and a pullout sofa. Perfect for a family of four or five. I was very impressed with how clean they keep the resort. If you are looking for a great family value look no further!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We simply loved having you! Thank you so much for taking a moment to review our resort and coming to visit us! Allowing you to feel like a kid again is what we do best! Awesome to hear! I will be sure to pass along your thoughts on the towels too. We truly appreciate all the feedback and we can't wait to see you again soon! Take care and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the moment we checked in, Kalahari Waterpark was different from our other waterpark experiences. The property looked new, with all types of services and a simple layout that was easy to navigate from the desk to the parking lot to all the fun. There were so many details in the decor and the services provided that it held par with premium amusement park experiences.
Every employee went out of their way to make us comfortable, to answer all our questions, and seemed geniunely happy to be working there. We arrived in time for dinner, and went to the "sit down" restaurant - the food was very good, plentiful and reasonably priced - so different from other waterpark resorts! But the true differentiator - the DJ came over, sat down and welcomed us - asked how he could help make our stay more pleasant, even walked my kids to the restroom!
The lifeguards at the different slides were just as kind - sharing their knowledge of the rides, the "sister" park in Wisconsin Dells, and engaged us during our short waits for the huge tubes that would take us down some seriously fun adventures.
We had a mishap after just 10 minutes in the park - a bloody nose - and we had 2 lifeguards at our side, calm and reassuring as they helped my daugther stop bleeding and recover to enjoy the rest of our stay. Very impressive for young employees.
Our room was clean, quiet and well-appointed (microwave, refrigerator, lots of room).
We forgot to pack a brush (three girls, without a hair management tool - gasp!) and only paid $3 in the 24-hour store. That's right, $3 - less than what I'd pay at home.
I got my favorite tea at the coffee shop from an attentive, pleasant server who shared an extra type of tea the store was not using anymore.
Our buffet breakfast was again remarkably pleasant, high-quality and reasonably priced.
This first trip of ours was arranged by our school PTA, with very appealing discounted rates - and we could not have had better treatment, even at the bargain prices we paid.

Thank you Kalahari, for a quality family experience - from every aspect of the stay. I'm not sure we can go back to any other waterpark now - nor do we want to!

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My family just stayed 3 days two nights in Sandusky location. Ann at the front desk is the best!! Great deal for the BOGO. Entire place was clean, and the staff were wonderful. Waterpark is Awesome! They upgraded our room to an African Queen Suite! This is the best layout with our two boys. We had a king bed and whirlpool bath and they had their own room with two queen beds and their own T.V. Fireplace was wonderful in the living room as well as the large T.V. We are return guests and have never been disappointed! Can't wait to go back! Kalahari Rocks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing! Your review brought a smile to my face and I can't thank you enough for sharing! I'm thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of a BOGO deal. Those are the best! Looking forward to seeing the family again soon. Take care and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing