We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We spent 3 nights at the Kalahari with 6 granchildren (all 7 and under) and their parents. Everyone had a great time with Kalahari exceeding expectations in all areas. The hotel was at 95% plus occupancy but we never felt crowded, never experienced service problems and overall had an exceptional stay. We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel/waterpark and were pleasantly surprised by the service and quality of the food as well as prices which were below what one would find at similar resorts. We are well traveled and generally stay at 5 star properties so the negative reviews we saw on Trip Advisor were out of line with what we experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill and peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,442 of 3,763 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

I have traveled with my children all over the world, and this place is a great resort for children. It was by no means dirty at all. There were tons of things to do all day long. Yes there are quite a few teenagers working at the resort. I don't think many grown ups would want to stand and run water rides all day long as a full time job. The water was clean and a great temperature. There were tons of sldes and water rides. The floors do get quite wet, but anywhere there is thousands of gallons of water and children the floors are going to get a little slippery. The rooms were also very nice. We had a nomad room, which is one of the lower priced rooms and it was very nice with a mini fridge, microwave, 2 queen beds, a pull out sofa, and fireplace. The food is reasonably priced for a resort and was pretty good too. One thing to be careful of is the indoor surfing/wakeboarding (flowrider) my children 10, 14, and 15 loved this and spent all day on it. You have to sign a waiver to do it....Which should send up a red flag..my daughter broke her wrist after about 5 hours of doing it. I would totally let them do it again, my son (10) actually did it the next morning after my daughter broke her wrist. Just a fair warning that there is a fairly good chance of getting some bumps and bruises, or losing your suit:) First aid and the staff were wonderful helping splint the wrist and getting us directions to the nearest ER. We are planning a return trip the end of the summer as soon as the cast comes off:)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sk8ermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

http://www.sanduskyregister.com/articles/2008/07/19/front/doc4882a2983eb4c030483944.txt

This is voted the worst waterpark for safety and hygiene( Health Dept). Rooms are dirty and so it water.! No lifeguards on duty when we were there only kids ( teenagers) playing around the pool!
Dangerous for anyone as the rides are not safe and supervised. I complained and was yelled at! Go anywhere but Kalahari.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Just got back from Kalahari yesterday. We loved it. The waterpark was everything we thought it would be. It was not crowded at all. Check it was easy. We parked in the back lot near the sands entrance so parking was not an issue. Kahunaville was so much fun. The kids had a blast in the limbo and hula hoop contests. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Front desk staff was very helpful. She helped with my on-line check-in for my Southwest flight at 6:00 am in the morning. Now that is service. We played indoor golf and spent some time at the arcade. Our room was clean and had a nice view of the outdoor pool. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANICEANDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

As far as hotels in the Cedar Point area go, this is the nicest and newest. However, be prepared for ALOT of children and the normal wear and tear that comes with them. Although I suppose children are to be expected so close to a large amusement park.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleveland1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We have been to Kalahari several times. I live only 3 miles from Kalahari and our company is 3 miles from Kalahari. I have stayed over night and have done several day trips. It makes our family feel like we are far away on a vacation. It’s a blast. Right now in the summer my grandchildren enjoy the outdoor section which has a playground for toddlers, several water slides (small and medium.) I enjoy the large out door Jacuzzi with a walk in pool and the adult bar located outside (bonus). They have everything! They accommodate large groups of people so you never have to wait long in line to do any of the slides. They also have crafts going on for the children, a large game room and large play area. If you are have a large family, look into the suites that can accommodate several people. It comes with several water park passes. I was talking to a couple that are Grandparents and they brought their whole family to Kalahari for a family reunion and stayed in one suite. We have so much to do in our area also. It’s a great place to live and visit.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GhostlyManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have stayed at Kalahari on four separate occasions, of those occasions, 3 were negative. I would have to say that our last stay was probably the worst. We stayed July 12-13, 2008. To begin with, our room, 6624 was dirty, there was left over food and debris in the mini fridge, the bedside table had what appeared to be a milk stain on the drawers and the blanket on one of the beds had a multitude of stains. I called the front desk and housekeeping “corrected” the situation by bringing us a replacement blanket.
Secondly, as, we have done on all previous stays, we rented a cabana. Again, as with other occasions in renting a cabana/bungalow, we failed to get was we paid for. The cabana was dirty, the phone did not work, the remote control had no batteries and the “amenities” for the bar had not been replenished. For over $150 per day, you would expect that they cabana's would be well taken care of, as they are additional revenue for the park, each time they are worse than previous trips.
We live just over 2 hours away and will not go back, it is not worth the money, putting up with the inconsistency, lack of customer service and management follow through.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utahgal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $146 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing